We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time”

Poole Museum and Scaplen's Court Museum and Herb Garden
Ranked #10 of 63 things to do in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Poole Museum discover the colourful history of this ancient port town and its people, and learn about the amazing environment of Poole Harbour, on four floors of art, archaeology and social history. The recently extended and re-displayed museum (all year, except Mons in Winter)has a terrace with stunning harbour views, and activities for all. Medieval Scaplen's Court Museum is open Aug and its tranquil herb garden May - Sept afternoons. ALL FREE.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

These attractions are FREE which is quite unusual in this day and age. The museum has something for everyone, including dress-up clothes for kids, a long boat dating back to BC (Stone Age) and several floors of interesting local history, including the famous pottery and tiles of the area. Scalpen's Court is an ancient house and herb garden (very pretty) with again lots of things to amuse kids, such as an old washroom with original implements and clothes and even a school room with desks. A great way to while away a couple of hours with the family!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    87
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent find”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We had previously visited the museum, which is great. This time we found the superb Scaplan's Court. It's great for families or adults and what's more it's free. So much of old Poole has been destroyed and replaced with terrible post war 'developments' it's amazing that this has remained. Well done to all the volunteers that keep it going.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely day friendly staff”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great fun - everyone very helpful. Very interesting.
The gardens are a lovely spot for a pic is. Good activities for kids. Cafe has a great view of the Barbour.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank FairyMay77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Great Museum for Children”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Visiting Poole for the day with my family we came across Scaplen's Court by accident and we all loved it. My grandchildren had to be practically dragged out. The highlight was the young man demonstrating cooking and later 'played' a barber surgeon, explaining how illnesses were treated. All of the children were mesmerised by it. There's a sweet garden and my favourites were the schoolroom and toy shop.
We then visited the Poole Museum which was excellent too. I adored the 50s kitchen and dentist's surgery. We had nice lunch at the roof top cafe which has great views across the sea and along the High Street. Thoroughly recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank curryking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Do visit - it's interesting - and free!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Rather a rushed visit by us as it was the end of the day and shortly closing but so glad we went. It's only a small museum but full of artefacts and information on the history and development of Poole, including relics from a ancient trading ship found in the Swashway. Lots of information on how the town evolved, trades etc. We will definitely go back again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poole Museum and Scaplen's Court Museum and Herb Garden also viewed

 

Been to Poole Museum and Scaplen's Court Museum and Herb Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing