We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well run Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salterns Harbourside Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The hotel is nicely situated close to the harbour with plenty of walks to the main harbour and sea views.
On arriving and parked in the large car park we were a bit put off by the worn carpet and broken door bell in the entrance area. However on arriving at reception all was well a swift booking in by a pleasant lady and we were soon on our way to our room. This was very clean and tidy and adequate for us, our son and others in the family group had an enormous room also very clean and tidy.
There were some nice touches in our rooms tea, coffee, biscuits and bottled water. An iron and board also being supplied.
The bathroom was well appointed but a little tired although the décor was not too bad, just needed a little modernising.
The breakfast in the morning was superb with a large selection of fruit and cereals, followed by our choice of cooked food. The quality was excellent and nicely served with tea or coffee and toast.
The meals were of good value and reasonably priced with a good selection available.
My only complaint being that the cost of beer and drinks was too high even for a hotel.
We all enjoyed our stay and would consider a further visit

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms have huge windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travman_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed one night here on a Saturday in Salterns Hotel which we booked online. If you like stunning views over the harbour and being surrounded by boats and all that goes with it this is the place to stay. Our room had superb views, was clean bright and reasonably comfortable. En suite bathroom was spotless with a plentiful supply of white fluffy towels. The décor was a bit dated and the mattress was definitely in need of a change - we commented on this . Another niggle was given the size of the room the flat screen TV was too small. Parking is included and right next to the hotel. Location is quiet and convenient by car for Poole town centre.

We were greeted on arrival by a cheerful and helpful receptionist who booked us in for dinner. Bar staff were also friendly and knew what they were doing. House wine by the glass reasonably priced and good with my fish dish (baked cod and very fresh fish, to be expected in Poole) However there was a break in communications with the dining room who had not received our booking. The women in charge retrieved the situation and found us a nice table in the bar where we received table service and enjoyed a very good meal.
Breakfast was excellent. Check out was friendly and efficient (different receptionist )
We are world travellers so are able to tell the difference between good and bad service.
There were a few niggles which did not spoil our stay but if they are sorted out would have tipped my assessment from a strong 3.5/4 to a 5.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Harbour views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Called in at Salterns for lunch - lovely sunny day & we thought we would enjoy the view and some good food - service was indifferent and we were told to help ourselves to cutlery & seasonings and sauces to take outside. (could have provided them in a basket or similar or brought them out with our meal.
Cutlery was dishwasher stained and condiment set old and grubby, tables and chairs in garden also grubby & weeds around tubs showed lack of care & neglect.
Food poor - gammon overcooked and fried egg was hard. Crabcakes not appetising at all!, chips asked for did not arrive and had to be reordered.
Manager asked when collecting plates if everything was O.K - when we told him of our disappointment he just shrugged, said sorry about that but he hadn't had any other complaints would pass our comments on to the chef!
Salterns used to be a good place to eat and we used to take our visitors but we definitely won't be going again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Overall really great experience, will definitely come back! Bar & reception staff very helpful! Loved the bar & stunning views over the harbour :)
Had a lovely dinner and yummy breakfast the next morning!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Not for the first time, I am disappointed with what the UK hotels think they can get away with. At £135 a night, you get a basic B&B experience. Yes, the location is great, and yes, lots of people want to travel to the seaside if there is a surprise of a sunny weekend. Do British hotels care if these customers come back? It looks like they don't. It seems the only thing that can guarantee quality in the UK is a big name. Pity.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DB_Starvin_Marvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Sadly service very poor. Had a coffee and 2 Danish pastries, had to ask for plates, napkins and knives. Coffee only filled half a cup and hot chocolate luke warm. 5 staff behind bar did not seem able to produce the basic service to us or any other guests, let alone put a smile on their faces and offer a friendly service.

Used to work in the marina booking office and recently moved back and looked forward to revisiting what was once a first class hotel. Sad to see this is no longer the case. Whole place needs updating and staff need customer service training.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bournemouth186262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed here for three nights as a mid-week break. On arrival I thought we had chosen well, the reception area and public area on the ground floor appeared to be in good order and the checking-in was efficient and the receptionist seemed friendly.

Our room was on the second floor, 205, overlooking the car park and a small section of the marina. The overall appearance was tired and in need of re-furbishing or re-decorating. The carpets would benefit from a deep clean or replacement, a lot of the finishes on the furniture surfaces are worn through. One of the dimmer switches for the bedhead lights has the knob missing. The mattress felt very very hard and it was not dissimilar to sleeping on the floor. On the floor in the knee hole of the dressing table there was, and probably still is, a pair of socks that definitely belong to a previous occupant.

In the bathroom the plating on the fittings is very worn, the water from the shower has no power behind it and the shower mixer tap tops are broken, even the door hinges are rusty. The bathroom light flickers for several minutes each time it is switched on before stabilising.

The cooked breakfast is overpriced and the portion size is quite small. The service overall was o.k., the staff were friendly enough but it did take two attempts to obtain two pillows that should have been in the room in any case.

The impression I left with is that the establishment caters for conference and reception type business more than tourists. The location is very good and with some relatively small investment in the accomodation the guest experience could be so much better.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
1,000 reviews
1 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,834 reviews
1.6 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
1,605 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salterns Harbourside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salterns Harbourside Hotel

Address: 38 Salterns Way | Lilliput, Poole BH14 8JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Price Range: £96 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salterns Harbourside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Salterns Harbourside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salterns Harbourside Poole
Hotel Salterns Harbourside
Salterns Harbourside Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing