We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salterns Harbourside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Salterns Harbourside Hotel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Poole
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good and bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

The downstairs of the hotel seems to have more attention than the rooms which are basic. Why is there no air conditioning in the upstairs rooms? They were stifling and our whole party agreed that they barely slept due to the heat.
The staff were friendly and the views were glorious and the evenings wedding reception was well organised.

Another point to make is that when visiting the hotel restaurant a month prior to the reception we decided to opt for an evening meal. Avoid this if possible as the meals were bland with no flavour and inadequate seasoning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    81
    47
    43
    30
See reviews for
48
130
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Granted the best thing by far about this hotel is its Harbour views- superb! The gardens are lovely too, but that's where it ends unfortunately.
Plenty of parking spaces at the front of the hotel which is located at the end of a side road.
Staff though good are young & I feel unexperienced. The rooms are very basic, cleanish, but tired. The beds were very uncomfortable & bath overhead shower was a sprinkle of water.
The restaurant - views out to the harbour were lovely again, but that was it. My husband ordered a fillet steak which was over cooker but was indeed 2 medallions of steak which he did mention to the staff who apologised & reduced the bill. I suffer from Coeliac so could only have the 1 dish from the menu (fish) without the sauce, so it was dry with vegt.
There s not much to do around the vicinity of the hotel, but you can walk into Poole which took us about 35-40 mins steady brisk walk- where there are plenty of restaurants & pubs to choose from.
We could hear other guests walking around their rooms & on the stairs outside our room- so basically we would never choose to stay here again. It was very disappointing unfortunately.

Room Tip: Unfortunately no tips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parv66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poole hotels

bfpo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

My son got married here on the 17th aug 2013, It was Brilliant, they got married outside in the garden where the back drop was poole harbour a fantastic day, it was beautiful the setting was perfect, the hotel is clean and tidy and the staff were all friendly and couldnt do enough for you, we stayed over night and the rooms are all big and airy, the room we were in had every thing you needed from an iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilitys, the breakfast was yummy in the morning and plentiful, cant fault it at all. they even had a wet weather plan if it rained where we could go upstairs to a beautiful room which had a glass front with amazing views, and the ceremony and photos could of been taken.all i can say is Thankyou very much for making my son and his new bride have such a perfect day .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valkaffsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We called in for drinks and a snack one evening and opted to sit in the garden overlooking the marina.The setting was worth it, with panoramic views, and the sun was just beginning to set so it was a good place to be. The bar staff were quite busy so we had to wait a while but it didn't really matter. With reasonably priced food and drink this place offers a nice spot for a relaxed drink overlooking the marina and Poole Bay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mercuryderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Brilliant location, great breakfast. Hotel in need of modernisation. Bed was extremely uncomfortable did not get much sleep at all, neither did my partner. Hotel staff said there was nothing they could do and apologised.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ecluur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

On arrival we were most impressed with our room (103). It was a great deal larger than expected and had windows on 2 sides with fantastic views of the marina and Poole Bay.
We then noticed that the bathroom was minus soap. The receptionist apologized and said she couldn’t find any. The following morning the chambermaid also apologized and gave the excuse that a delivery had not arrived. We found it hard to swallow that it should take 24 hrs or so just to provide an item that should be automatic in any room.
In the days following, we then found that the body wash didn’t get replaced: small but important details.
Having been impressed with the views and the restaurant and the large room, our impressions then changed dramatically when around 9pm the first night, the most horrendous noises came through from the rooms above. Clearly the building suffers bad sound insulation and possibly poor construction as we could hear every thump and floor grindings from the inhabitants of the room above. The thumping/running noises which sounded like a herd of animals (possibly dogs?) or very active youngsters carried on for over an hour. The same thing happened each night and again 6.30 to 8.30 in the mornings. Although that first evening was the worst for such noises, we were continually plagued with repeat noises for the whole of our stay.
Added to the noises from above were the inefficient door closers. All of the rooms appeared to posses heavy slamming doors; clearly the door closing devices didn’t work. We reported the problem with the noises from the upstairs rooms; however the only action the receptionist took was to check whether the upper rooms had been occupied and provide a belated apology. The room would have been great but for the noises; it will be the luck of the draw if future guests book the room when no one is in the upper rooms.
Service from the staff was very varied and we seemed to see different people at each meal. In general we felt that the staff were not trained properly and some of them were downright miserable. The first night’s meal was actually very good and quite a surprise. In fact our opinion is that the food side was spot on. It was fast, tasty and well presented. We would like to applaud the chef on his culinary efforts but the food is sadly let down by the serving staff. The restaurant manager seemed efficient but lacked personality; the first night’s waiter did at least check to see what additional drinks were needed. The breakfast staff left us waiting for ages before we asked could we order. They had served others first who entered after us. The very young waiter was clearly untrained as he reached over my plate to supply butter we ordered. The staff seemed in their own world and quite indifferent to us as guests. The delay in service occurred again the next morning when my wife was left waiting for over 20 minutes before even her order was taken. The impersonal blonde had a rather strange attitude regarding this and the following morning had the cheek to say ‘you haven’t had to wait 20 minutes today then’.
Our Sunday lunch snack was served to us on the outside garden table by a blonde girl who looked as though she was carrying the world’s troubles on her shoulders; she looked very miserable and made no attempt to be pleasant. Also I find it odd that guests are expected to walk into the bar to make their food and drink order. The blonde girl constantly walks in and out of the bar; would it be so difficult for her to take orders? Who knows, they could actually raise turnover by getting her and her colleagues to do a bit of selling and suggest desserts and further drinks etc.

The Sunday evening waitress (a further change of face) seemed dismayed that we hadn’t booked a table and stuffed us into a table around the corner. There were at least 3 to 4 tables with decent sea views which I noticed never got occupied for all the time we were in the restaurant. This waitress was however quite efficient and carried out her tasks well.
I believe that the staff in businesses like this one follow the example set by the management. Clearly there is a lack of drive and customer service training. With those matters put into the right shape and the sound insulation issues resolved, this could be a first class hotel, given its position and wonderful views.

Room Tip: Room 103 is great but when booking ask if rooms above will be occupied by children or pets due to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank william w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at the Saltern hotel for 4 nights and found the hotel staff were very friendly and our room (106) was very spacious and overlooked the car park, however there was also a very nice view of part of the marina. The bar and restaurant overlooked the marina and Poole bay which were fantastic views. We hadn't planned to eat every night at the hotel, however the quality and value of the food plus the views, made it an irresistible choice. The hotel itself is in a very central location for discovering local attractions. We were also very pleased it was dog friendly. We will be returning to this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.0 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 14 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
1.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#9 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quarterdeck Hotel
Quarterdeck Hotel
#11 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salterns Harbourside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salterns Harbourside Hotel

Property: Salterns Harbourside Hotel
Address: 38 Salterns Way | Lilliput, Poole BH14 8JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Salterns Harbourside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Salterns Harbourside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salterns Harbourside Poole
Hotel Salterns Harbourside
Salterns Harbourside Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing