We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay here, not worth the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salterns Harbourside Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed 11 November 2013

what a mistake we made booking into this hotel. Staff to busy talking to each other on reception when we arrived. Given key, told where room was and that was it. Never told where the bar/breakfast room was. Breakfast, where do i start. Daughter had a yogurt, opened it and mould had started growing. No sorry from staff. Left waiting to even order breakfast and get some toast.

A shame, this could be a gold mine hotel but in its present state, sleeping in a tent is better.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank DI J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Salterns Harbourside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

place has really gone down over the years - it is now shabby, dirty and full of family running around with their screaming children if health and safety turned up i am sure that seeing a twenty odd year with a toddler in her arms feeding it behind the bar while pouring herself a drink they would not be happy! it is such a shame as it is in a great location and used to be a pleasure to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oscarsmom17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

First of all, we stayed in Room 103 which had spectacular views of Poole Harbour, the Sandbanks peninsula and Brownsea Island. The bed was huge and comfortable and the room spacious and clean. Breakfast was good and all the staff were friendly and helpful. BUT, there was a wedding on when we arrived to check in at 2.00 and we met the bride and groom on the stairs with our dog as they were coming down - embarrassing all round. Then when we returned in the evening, the whole foyer had been taken over by wedding guests and we literally had to step over children on the stairs. It felt as if we were intruding on a private party. To be fair, we heard no noise from the disco. I just wonder if the hotel management could not be a bit more proactive in ensuring that other guests are not inconvenienced - I am sure that the guests did not appreciate our wet dog coming through their party!

Room Tip: Room 103 is great for the views but in summer there may be noise from the patio below - not a proble...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night whilst working in the area. My room (204) was very old fashioned and the bed very uncomfortable. The bottom sheet didn't fit properly so kept coming loose.

The shower was a trickle and again the bathroom very dated.

The room was clean enough but this isn't somewhere I would recommend or stay again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank TTravel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights in August and we thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Hotel, The staff were very welcoming and helpful in accommodating my partners gluten and wheat intolerence. The food was excellent with a good choice of dishes. The room had excellent views and was comfortable but could do with modernizing although was very clean.
It is very well situated being within easy reach of Poole, Bournemouth, Sandbanks and Purbeck. We will definately return.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Brownsea Island have great views
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel was wonderful. Our room was clean and tidy. The staff friendly and my partner and I loved it. The location was spectacular and would definitely recommend this hotel for a quite retreat with your loved ones. We look to be coming back very soon with the in laws. Thank you again for the way you guys looked after us.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms the best
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic position but the hotel is so old and tired and we could not believe it does not have a lift . The bed rooms were very old and the bathrooms looked as if they were at least 20 years old and had nothing done since. The first thing you see at reception are dirty chairs and plants that were full of cob webs !!! All our group were very disappointed and would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay in b and b in the near by town much nicer
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cliona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
935 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,756 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
1.6 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,508 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salterns Harbourside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salterns Harbourside Hotel

Address: 38 Salterns Way | Lilliput, Poole BH14 8JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Price Range: £94 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salterns Harbourside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salterns Harbourside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salterns Harbourside Poole
Hotel Salterns Harbourside
Salterns Harbourside Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing