We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salterns Harbourside Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Having stayed at the Hotel previously, I had no hesitation to book again. My short stay was excellent and Sarah, at Reception, ensured that I had a beautiful room overlooking the harbour. I would certainly recommend to others. Even my request to vary the standard breakfast menu was readily accommodated without fuss

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chriscaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights it's just perfect,the settings are amazing.
We are in the resturant the first night and loved the food and atmosphere. Lovely breakfast. We had an amazing room with the est view of the harbour,we wanted to stay longer

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrandmrseatoutalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

When we arrived the whole hotel was buzzing with activity , we really didn't expect to get a table in the restaurant especially as we hadn't booked . But to our surprise , we were greeted by a lovely Scottish lady manager who was bubbly and very friendly , and she even managed to get us a table with a view of the most breathtaking marina . Admittedly there was music coming from another function but it didn't out us off as some of the music had our feet tapping . The whole enviornment was great .the restaurant was very busy but louise just kept singing and whistling from time to time and made a laugh of the bustling activity .the menu was extensive , a lot to choose from , that was the most difficult part , if that's an issue ! On the way out , we were even invited into the party , we will be going back and would recommend you try this hidden gem . Well done

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Firstly I must say that I cannot comment on the residential aspects of this superbly located hotel as my Wife and I visited for an evening dinner and living only 25 miles (40km for the benefit of our continental readers) away we did not stay overnight. But what I can say is that if the standard of the accommodation is as good as the standard of the food it is EXCELLENT!

When booking I had requested a window table with a lovely view.....and this is exactly what we got. On arrival we were warmly greeted and seated by a lovely young lady (Sarah) who was our waitress for the duration of our visit. Absolutely perfect friendly helpful and efficient service, in fact I feel that if she were entered into the 'Waitress Of The Year' competition she would certainly reach the finals and would probably walk off with the title!!

The food was of good quality, perfectly cooked and presented. I will not bore you with details of everything but I just cannot finish off without mention of the fillet steak we both enjoyed which went to prove that the chef here knows what it's all about.....very few chefs get our preferences absolutely correct.....my Wife likes hers very very well-done (almost to the point of cremation) and in some places she gets it just about well-done or sometimes even medium-to-well.....I like mine blue and frequently I get it rare or sometimes even rare-to-medium. The chef here got both of them spot on.

To conclude, all I can say is that if you visit YOU WILL ENJOY.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InnesDorchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel is a gem of a find, the location is wonderful overlooking the marina. We stayed here for 3 nights and the family room was lovely and spacious with a great view, even allowed us to take the dog. After reading the reviews regarding the food we were a bit wary, but the 3 of us eat in the restaurant every night and the food was wonderful and I would definitely recommend it.

I will definitely be coming back for another break.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas_bridgend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Salterns is in one of the marina,s in Poole it has a lovely outlook cross the harbour good menu choice lunchtime specials and full al carte if you visit you will not be disappointed good service and value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank zandrafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stopped here for a bar lunch after attending the boat show. Only had sandwiches but the bread was very dry and unappetising and the chips tasteless. No atmosphere in bar with children running around, not that that is the staffs fault. Very cheap prices but poor quality.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jessamies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
966 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,232 reviews
1 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,808 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
1.6 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salterns Harbourside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salterns Harbourside Hotel

Address: 38 Salterns Way | Lilliput, Poole BH14 8JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Price Range: £94 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salterns Harbourside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Salterns Harbourside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salterns Harbourside Poole
Hotel Salterns Harbourside
Salterns Harbourside Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing