We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salterns Harbourside Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A friend and I had lunch here today. We sat on the outside terrace and apart from the uncomfortable chairs, it was pleasant to sit with a view of the moored boats.
I went to the bar to order my food, while my friend sat at the table with our bags. I was told quite rudely that, if we didn't order together, our food would come separately.I asked why it was so complicated, and was told ''Its not''
Our food di eventually arrive, but the cutlery was caked in old food and smeared. My sandwich was dry, but the salad garnish was generous and tasty.
I don't think I shall return as there are plenty of places with pleasant staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    85
    51
    46
    30
See reviews for
51
136
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Having stayed at the Hotel previously, I had no hesitation to book again. My short stay was excellent and Sarah, at Reception, ensured that I had a beautiful room overlooking the harbour. I would certainly recommend to others. Even my request to vary the standard breakfast menu was readily accommodated without fuss

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chriscaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwater, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights it's just perfect,the settings are amazing.
We are in the resturant the first night and loved the food and atmosphere. Lovely breakfast. We had an amazing room with the est view of the harbour,we wanted to stay longer

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrandmrseatoutalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

When we arrived the whole hotel was buzzing with activity , we really didn't expect to get a table in the restaurant especially as we hadn't booked . But to our surprise , we were greeted by a lovely Scottish lady manager who was bubbly and very friendly , and she even managed to get us a table with a view of the most breathtaking marina . Admittedly there was music coming from another function but it didn't out us off as some of the music had our feet tapping . The whole enviornment was great .the restaurant was very busy but louise just kept singing and whistling from time to time and made a laugh of the bustling activity .the menu was extensive , a lot to choose from , that was the most difficult part , if that's an issue ! On the way out , we were even invited into the party , we will be going back and would recommend you try this hidden gem . Well done

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Firstly I must say that I cannot comment on the residential aspects of this superbly located hotel as my Wife and I visited for an evening dinner and living only 25 miles (40km for the benefit of our continental readers) away we did not stay overnight. But what I can say is that if the standard of the accommodation is as good as the standard of the food it is EXCELLENT!

When booking I had requested a window table with a lovely view.....and this is exactly what we got. On arrival we were warmly greeted and seated by a lovely young lady (Sarah) who was our waitress for the duration of our visit. Absolutely perfect friendly helpful and efficient service, in fact I feel that if she were entered into the 'Waitress Of The Year' competition she would certainly reach the finals and would probably walk off with the title!!

The food was of good quality, perfectly cooked and presented. I will not bore you with details of everything but I just cannot finish off without mention of the fillet steak we both enjoyed which went to prove that the chef here knows what it's all about.....very few chefs get our preferences absolutely correct.....my Wife likes hers very very well-done (almost to the point of cremation) and in some places she gets it just about well-done or sometimes even medium-to-well.....I like mine blue and frequently I get it rare or sometimes even rare-to-medium. The chef here got both of them spot on.

To conclude, all I can say is that if you visit YOU WILL ENJOY.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InnesDorchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel is a gem of a find, the location is wonderful overlooking the marina. We stayed here for 3 nights and the family room was lovely and spacious with a great view, even allowed us to take the dog. After reading the reviews regarding the food we were a bit wary, but the 3 of us eat in the restaurant every night and the food was wonderful and I would definitely recommend it.

I will definitely be coming back for another break.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas_bridgend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole.Dorset
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Salterns is in one of the marina,s in Poole it has a lovely outlook cross the harbour good menu choice lunchtime specials and full al carte if you visit you will not be disappointed good service and value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zandrafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.0 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,152 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,467 reviews
1.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
895 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salterns Harbourside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salterns Harbourside Hotel

Property: Salterns Harbourside Hotel
Address: 38 Salterns Way | Lilliput, Poole BH14 8JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Salterns Harbourside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Salterns Harbourside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salterns Harbourside Poole
Hotel Salterns Harbourside
Salterns Harbourside Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing