We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Afternoon.”

RNLI College Discovery Tour
Ranked #2 of 24 Tours in Poole
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See how our volunteer crews and lifeguards are trained with a behind-the-scenes 90 minute tour of RNLI College.
Reviewed 29 June 2017

One of a party member from The U3A visited the collage on recommendation, we where not disappoint.
From being greeted by our knowledgeable guides the tour was very interesting.
The simulator was quite an experience having never been in on before, you really think you are on the lifeboat & at sea.
Very pleasing circular bar & restaurant overlooking Poole Harbour.
Check for tours.
The college have bedroom ( like hotel ) to book & there is free parking.
All rooms over look the harbour.
I am certainly go use in the future.

Thank VJTBuckinghamshire_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RNLI_Tours, Sales & Events Team at RNLI College Discovery Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Dear VJTBuckinghamshire,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor following your visit to the RNLI Training College in Poole.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your tour of the College. Our tour guides are all RNLI volunteers, I will be sure to pass on your kind feedback.

We hope to welcome you back again to the College on your next visit to Poole and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for supporting the RNLI Saving Lives at Sea.

Many thanks,
Jo Pinkard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lifeboat simulator"
in 35 reviews
"boat building"
in 9 reviews
"riggers restaurant"
in 8 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 7 reviews
"great insight"
in 7 reviews
"a real eye opener"
in 6 reviews
"training facility"
in 5 reviews
"wave machine"
in 4 reviews
"volunteer guides"
in 3 reviews
"dover harbour"
in 3 reviews
"gale force winds"
in 3 reviews
"telling stories"
in 3 reviews
"facts and figures"
in 3 reviews
"first hand"
in 3 reviews
"save lives"
in 4 reviews
"indoor pool"
in 4 reviews
"knew his stuff"
in 3 reviews
Filter

19 - 23 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2017

The tour of the boat building facility takes place just once a week, on Wednesday afternoons. A brilliant guide; Informative, humorous and well fitted to his role.
The rationale behind creating this world ranking facility was clearly explained, and the practical aspects of every part of the manufacturing process dealt with in simple layman's terms. My few technical questions were also answered from a deep well of understanding.
This was a worthy 'companion tour' to the training college facilities tour which I experienced a couple of years ago.

Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RNLI_Tours, Sales and Events at RNLI College Discovery Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Dear Neil R,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor following your visit to the All-weather Lifeboat Centre in Poole.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your tour and I will pass on your kind feedback to the Volunteer Tour Guide.

We are also running tours of the All-weather Lifeboat Centre on a Saturday morning at 10am. Bookings can be made via our reception team.

Thank you for supporting the RNLI..

Many thanks,
Jo Pinkard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

As it was raining decided to go on a tour here. It was cut short due to the Marine Festival so only had 45 minutes and there was a bit too much emphasis on looking at empty training rooms. However the information was very comprehensive and some fascinating snip bits I didn't know about the RNLI. The simulator is very impressive especially if you get to sit in the front seats. The capsize demonstration again was informative and interesting and well worth watching.

Thank plasgraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RNLI_Tours, Sales and Events at RNLI College Discovery Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Dear Plasgraig,

Thank you very much for joining us on a tour of the College to celebrate the Maritime Festival which took place in Poole.

I am pleased that you were able to experience our simulator as part of the tour and also view the Capsize demonstration. The Capsize was arranged for this particular event so it is not something you get to see very often.

Thank you for supporting our event and the RNLI.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the College in the future.

Best wishes

Jo Pinkard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

We arrived on Friday afternoon and joined a 3pm tour of the College. We saw the deep water pool where all the exercises are done with the boats and with special effects to mimic thunderstorms and all sorts of weather conditions. We went in a simulator and one of our party was the helmsman and had a wonderful time. We also saw a video of training in the deep pool. The volunteer guide was very knowledgeable and really enjoyed talking to us.

Thank Sandybags_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RNLI_Tours, Sales and Events at RNLI College Discovery Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Dear Sandybags_13,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor following your visit to the RNLI Training College in Poole.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your tour of the College. Our tour guides are all RNLI volunteers, I will be sure to pass on your kind feedback.

We hope to welcome you back again to the College on your next visit to Poole and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for supporting the RNLI.

Many thanks,
Jo Pinkard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2017

Since my last visit and college tour the RNLI now offer a tour of their boat building facility so we booked both.

The College tour was one and a half hours and we spent a wonderful time in the simulator which was a lot of fun.

We enjoyed the videos about the sea survival training and the international development work.

Then we had a break for tea followed by a tour of the boat building facility which was even more interesting and we were allowed to take photos. The second tour lasted about an hour.

1  Thank AngieP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RNLI College Discovery Tour also viewed

 

Been to RNLI College Discovery Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing