We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
South Rising Guest House
Ranked #25 of 50 Poole B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a few days, it is situated on a busy main road close to the town centre and next to Poole park which is very nice. The room was clean and the guest house provided everything I needed and the towels were changed daily. Had we had a room at the back the stay would have been better.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowler196969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    11
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
5
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here overnight on a room-only basis before early morning ferry from Poole to Cherbourg... and at £50, I'm not sure it could have been any better.
Yes, it was only a small double, but we knew that when we booked, and the room really had everything you could want for a flying visit. In fact, it was better furnished and equipped than some larger and more expensive hotel rooms I've stayed in.
The ensuite shower and toilet although quite compact was again more than adequate.
The guest house is situated next to Poole's lovely Victorian park and a 20-minute walk through there gets you to the town centre pubs and restaurants. Then in the morning it's a very short drive to the ferry terminal. Very convenient - and just what you want after getting up at the crack of dawn.
If we ever travel by ferry from Poole again and need overnight accommodation, we'd have no hesitation in booking this room. However, I wouldn't particularly recommend for a much longer stay than that simply on account of its size.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barstander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Although the guest house is on a busy room I had been put in a room at the back of the house and it was nice & quiet. Room was small for a double but lovely, spotlessly clean & sweet smelling. Wifi connection was good too. Poole Park with is just a few minutes walk away is beautiful. Unfortunately couldn't get the shower to work in the morning, sent a friendly email telling owners this & got an email back stating that it does wrk but there is a pull switch above the toilet that has to be pulled first and there is a note explaining this in the en suite. Obviously I didn't notice this, would perhaps have been good if this was mentioned on check in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

A big group of us stayed here to enable us to celebrate a friends 60th locally, it was very well located for all the places we wanted to visit. We arranged to check in early as we were arriving on a flight from Geneva, and all worked well. Good breakfast and friendly people.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely quant place to stay whilst visiting the lovely seaside town of Poole. It is right next to Poole park which is a lovely Victorian park and is very central to Poole town centre and beaches. The owners are also extremely nice.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Millii S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a night prior to catching ferry to France. Ideal location. Car parking a bit tricky - our car a bit big but we fitted in. Room on first floor at back. Good nights sleep. Out too early for breakfast unfortunately. Recommendations from owners regarding eating places within walking distance for evening meal - helpful

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennyhafod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

What a charming little B&B.
Lets start by saying I haven't been in a b&b since I was little, and this was just so great! Pulled up and parking right out the front. Rang door bell and greeted by a lovely chap who invited us in, explained all about our stay and gave us recommendations for the locality.

We chucked our stuff in the room and headed out into Poole! After all isn't that B&Bs are for?

The room was so clean and at the back of the house. Nice little bathroom, with a shower that is hot and got lots of pressure.

Went to recommended pub in the evening, lovely pub, with pub grub.

Breakfast... right... well! I wasn't paying attention when asked if I wanted the full English and so said yes! I felt sooo guilty as it really was "FULL" English.... so ended up with a whole fried egg that must have gone in the bin .. So you will not go hungry.

All in all a lovely traditional B&B with delightful patrons who work their socks off it seems to deal with an ever increasing clientele that book via the internet with no prior knowledge of what they are getting... Please try looking things up before booking! You aren't booking into a 5* hotel with a reception and staff, just a family run business that charges a very reasonable rate in a highly sought after area!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.0 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Parkstone Guest House
#8 of 11 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Perry's Bed and Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Queen Mary Inn
Queen Mary Inn
#21 of 50 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Rising Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Rising Guest House

Property: South Rising Guest House
Address: 86 Parkstone Road, Poole BH15 2QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — South Rising Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run guest house on the edge of Poole Park, it is a 10 minute walk into the town with its shops and the lighthouse theatre, and 15 minute walk to Poole Quay with its bars, restaurants, museum and local attractions. We offer en-suite and shared facilities bedrooms, all rooms have tea/coffee etc, Television with DVD player and free wifi, all our prices include a full breakfast. We have 6 rooms and 6 parking spaces but it can be a squeeze and juggling can be required! Rooms start at £60 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your South Rising Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Rising Guest House Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing