We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Playground for big kids” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brownsea Island

Brownsea Island
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18.52*
and up
Return Jurassic Coast Cruise to Swanage from Poole
Ranked #1 of 59 things to do in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Former private island complete with castle built by Henry VIII is now a wildlife sanctuary containing one of the last red squirrel colonies in Britain.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Playground for big kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

A spontaneous trip to Poole and a quick hop over to this fantastic National Trust Park. An afternoon of sun, sea and squirrels. Cream tea and a couple of cheeky Geocaches. Perfect for kids big and small. We shall be back.

Helpful?
Thank Gezza67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,117
    330
    69
    16
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Red squirrels playing what more do you need”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

A fantastic family day that ticked one off my bucket list. 200 Wild red squirrels playing and bustling about in the trees . Scouting history information, woodland walks, no traffic, sunshine ,picnics helpful national trust staff. A little ferry ride to add icing on the cake. Will be going back soon.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful island abounds with nature.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Brownsea Island was brilliant even in the pouring rain! Admittedly we were well dressed in our all weather gear but we enjoyed our walk round the Nature Reserve - aimable staff who offered good advice on where to spot the water vole although he wasn't at home for our visit! The walk round the rest of the island was equally enjoyable - we easily spotted more than one red squirrel and even though they had had a lot of recent rain the paths were in good condition. With the poor weather and being early in the season we found ourselves with hardly anyone else along the trails. Even the cafe was not busy so we easily got served a late lunch. We are National Trust members so the only cost for us is the ferry over and a donation to the Nature Reserve. It is a whole days trip with much to delight young and old alike. It is a beautiful island and well staffed and managed by the National Trust. All the staff we encountered were helpful and friendly. Be warned if you go in high season there will be more people and the peacocks will harass you for your sandwiches!! Don't forget to research the times of the ferries before you plan your trip so you can get maximum time on the island!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank OnSafariAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Freedom”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We loved it and we saw 1 red squirrel!!!
Lovely ferry trip to get there and then you just loose yourself in the wilderness.
Just heaven
It was so peaceful and the scenery was just stunning
A great big bowl of fresh air

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Can only be accessed by ferry, but once there your time is your own. See the red squirrels, where the scouting movement was started and amble along for miles.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brownsea Island also viewed

 

Been to Brownsea Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing