We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but very noisy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ox

The Ox
Ranked #56 of 361 Restaurants in Poole
Price range: US$13 - US$26
Cuisines: European, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Set in the heart of Parkstone, The Ox has a natural buzz - with a first class kitchen serving outstanding food, a great bar offering a selection of premium beers, fine kept ales, brilliant wines and a stunning boutique hotel with 14 en-suite double rooms.
Poole
Level Contributor
111 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good food but very noisy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We went with friends on a Saturday evening in January and had very good food and service. However, the noise from the bar was so over powering we couldn't enjoy a conversation across the table (we could just about communicate with our immediate neighbour)... we even resorted to shouting which was to no avail.

Having said that we will return as the food was very good but next time it will be during the week when hopefully the noise levels will not be too overpowering.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelcritic30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    98
    32
    21
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice evening out for dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Really lovely tasty well presented food, definitely worth a visit, friendly staff, although both times I've booked here I have been placed right near the very hot oven area. Really suggest they take this table out altogether as it ruins the whole visit because of the heat from the ovens. Would suggest that if booking here you ask not to be near the ovens/chefs area, as it makes it quite unbearable. Overall lovely place to eat.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauraloo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Whilst the environment, food and staff were all very good, the meal itself was cold. We felt that this was due to the meal being served on cold plates with eight diners having to wait for the bowl of vegetables, (and there was a good variety of vegetables), to be passed around the table.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MAWRA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent place to wine and dine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Buzzing and busy, lovely restaurant with excellent service and great food. there were 10 in our party and it was spot on - will definitely go back

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DorsetMarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

fantastic food which literally melts in the mouth. The decor here is good too and its a nice place to bring friends, family as well as for dates. Atmosphere was good and the staff service was good too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ox also viewed

 

Been to The Ox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing