We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfy and welcoming”
Review of The Old Townhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poole
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Townhouse
Ranked #19 of 48 Poole B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here (room 2) on a sunny weekend in March and it was lovely.

Marylyn (the owner) was very helpful from our initial email contact to the moment we left. We were allowed to check in early and even allowed to keep our room later, which meant we could enjoy a sunny Sunday afternoon in Poole.

The whole hotel was impeccably clean and you could tell that a lot of love has gone into it.

Breakfast was great (I had the full English and my wife had salmon and eggs) and the dining area was airy and bright.

Location is great for the quay (without being too loud), shopping and the railway station is only a short walk too.

Good value and a a great nights sleep. Thank you Marylyn for making our short stay a comfortable and pleasant one

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank StuBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

Superb, perfect in every way, what more can I say! 30 second walk from the quay/harbour area. We used this as our base while attending a wedding in the area. Marilyn was great absolutely nothing was to much trouble.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

What a find!I spent 2 days here with my daughter and it couldn't have been more perfect.Complete comfort,and brilliantly positioned for all local bars and restaurants,as well as the Quay and local shops.Marylyn is a brilliant host,and all comforts came as standard.We shall certainly return,and recommend 100 percent.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a lovely roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margueritelaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

What a great find in Poole, we had room 1 with the roof garden very clean and tidy and great decor , the breakfast was filling with a wide range to choose from and well cooked and presented. Marilyn was a great host giving us information where to eat for the evening. We had the use of the garage to store the car which was very nice of Marilyn to do. Situated by the Quayside for walks along the front. I would recommend this Great B&B to all, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brianj839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed here the night before catching a ferry to France. It's a lovely b&b. Marilyn was a very helpful host giving us information on places to eat and drink in the town centre.

The b&b is located at the quayside end of the road. We parked outside to unload but you can't park here and you'll need to find a designated parking place to leave your car - we used the Quayside multi story which was £1.60 for an overnight stay. It's a hundred yards walk but quite convenient.

Unfortuately an early ferry meant that we were unable to sample what looked like a wonderful breakfast menu. We weren't expecting it but Marilyn did reduce the price to reflect this.

The room, with ensuite facilities, was clean and the bed very comfortable and nicely decorated. The b&b is over a tea room which we araived too late to sample. However we were able to leave our bulky luggage in the tea room overnight to avoid the need to carry it upstairs.

We had an enjoyable evening on the quayside and watched a firework display - apparently a regular Thursday night event in the summer.

The room we had overlooked the street. It was very hot and we had to leave the window open. There was some noise from the people enjoying the good weather but not sufficient to stop us sleeping!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrianTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

What a lucky find in Poole. Our room was perfect with its own courtyard with seating and a lounger. The breakfast was filling and a good start to the day. We had use of the garage to store our bicycles over night. We wil definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Ask for the terrace room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trevor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

A small but absolutely perfect B&B. Lovely breakfast, Marilyn even specially bought Vegetarian sausages for my Wife. The B&B is located right in the center of Poole close to the Quay. There is a car park just 100 yards from the B&B. We just stayed one night, but we will be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.8 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,829 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
996 reviews
2.7 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
1,602 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Townhouse

Address: 7 High Street, Poole BH15 1AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Townhouse is a comfortable and beautifully refurbished Victorian guest house, situated just a few steps from Poole Quay with its many attractions. We have four bedrooms, double, twin or single, each with an en-suite shower room. Whatever the purpose of your stay, business or pleasure, a warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Townhouse Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing