We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
South Lytchett Manor Caravan and Camping Park
Nearby Hotels
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel(Poole)(Great Value!)
US$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$62
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (619)
Filter reviews
619 results
Traveller rating
480
93
31
4
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
480
93
31
4
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree bottle of winelocal pubwell stocked shopst peters fingerpiped musicgreat sitecraft centretoilet blocklovely campsitegames roommotor homesuperior pitchfully serviced pitchdog walkherb gardenbook swapsite shop
Filter
Updating list...
488 - 493 of 619 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We are just on our way home from our lovely 10 day stay at the park.
We last stayed here in 2008 and we noticed a big difference.
Firstly we only rang on the of chance about 5 wks before our stay to see if there was any availability, after a call back and some rearranging they got us a pitch "brilliant". Then when speaking to David on the phone realised my family new his from Tamworth.
We arrived at the site on our first day at 8am expecting to have to wait a few hours for our pitch but no we were able to get straight on "lovely" as we had been up from 3am. We had pitch 61 right opposite the facilities which was great.
We were soon set up
The staff were really helpful the site was immaculately clean.
Several times a day they were round emptying the bins
The showers, toilets and washing up areas were always immaculate.
Sometimes you had to wait a few minutes to get in the shower but it was not a problem
The nice thing was there was music playing in the toilet blocks which made a change.
The flower tubs around the park were lovely and colourful.
The shop was well stocked and they had a recycle reuse facility which we donated to which I thought was great.
A fantastic place and will definitely be back soon!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank lisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happycustomerjo, Manager at South Lytchett Manor Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Hi there,
Many thanks for your positive comments it is always good to hear when our customers have enjoyed their stay with us and our hard work seems to have paid off which is good news. How lucky that your pitch was free when you arrived early, at least you could get set up and chill out after your early start!! We look forward to seeing you again on the park in the future.
Take care
All at South Lytchett Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We had a 8 night stay here mid August 2014. We paid for a superior site with free wifi (very poor). Pitch very nice, under trees on the Minister field- a bit of a trek for water and showers. So long as you got to the showers by 7:30 am you didn't have to wait- after 8 and you had problems!! Too few showers/toilets and washing up points for such a large site. Also I was a little irked by the thousands of signs around the site reminding us to mop out the showers, clean out the sinks, use the toilet brushes on the toilets etc- quite frankly having paid £42 per night and having to wash my showers out gave me
flashbacks to my days with the girl guides!! Dreadful piped music in the shower blocks made the experience of showering etc something worth avoiding (Leo Sayer, Wings and the like)!! We did visit St Peter's Finger for our free bottle of wine- staffed by very friendly young, attractive people (which caused quite a stir amongst the teenage contingent of our party)- drinks were very expensive but the food was adequate. Poole was close by- ideally we should've stayed closer to Bournemouth where we spent the most of our stay. I wouldn't book again as there are plenty of much cheaper sites available locally-so long as you have decent showers and your pitch is well placed and sheltered I don't really think its worth paying what they charge at South Lychett do for that area.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank ewatt1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happycustomerjo, Owner at South Lytchett Manor Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your pitch.
In response to your comments regarding the poor wi-fi we were currently upgrading the connections during your stay. We do not make a charge for wi-fi on the park as we are in a rural situation and we do not benefit from hi speed broadband in the area, we are told we are next on the list to be connected.
I have checked our prices and we are competitively priced with other 5 star parks in the area for a super pitch with electric hook up and 3 adults.
With regards to the music we do have a wide and varied selection playing It was unfortunate the music was not to your taste, generally the music is well accepted together with our guests being encouraged to keep the facilities as they found them.
Thank you for taking time to make this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just finished a 4 day stay at the site, wow! This was our first time stay with a motorhome lent by our lovely friends Jo and Dave. The pitches and amenities were spotless. Great place for our 5 year daughter to make friends and roam about in safety. The staff were wonderful and helpful. Surroundings beautiful, great food at the local pub, try the award winning pie! Also as a bonus a craft centre a short walk away. Peaceful and calm - thank you for making our first outing a memorable one.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happycustomerjo, Manager at South Lytchett Manor Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We are all really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and ate at the local pub-their Steak and Ale pie is amazingly good, and I would highly recommend it to everyone. We hope this will be the first of many camping trips and we look forward to welcoming you back to our park very soon.
All at SLMCCP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from 5 nights at South Lytchett Manor Caravan Park & we thoroughly enjoyed it. Upon arrival we were greeted by the friendly staff & given directions to our pitch. We requested a hard standing pitch & were over the moon with the one we were given (101 The Randalls). It was in a quiet part of the park with plenty of room. The park is really well kept & it was lovely to see so many flowers around. The toilet facilities were kept really clean & the only negative part was that we often had to queue for the showers in the morning due to how busy the park was. Our son loved taking Ollie the owl out for the day & seeing his photograph on the Facebook page the next day :). All the staff we met were always friendly & helpful. . Particular praise to Jo who had a lovely chat with us just before we departed as we were feeding the chickens. We will definitely be returning to the park & in the meantime we will be recommending it to family & friends. Thank you xx

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Sheppardcaravan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happycustomerjo, Manager at South Lytchett Manor Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Hi there,
Thank you for your terrific review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay on our park.
The Randalls is a very popular area in the park small and quiet mostly as you say. We work hard to keep the park looking good and its nice that the flowers are noticed and enjoyed by many guests.
The facebook page has proved popular and its a great way to inform people about whats happening in and around the park Ollie loves to be on the page too!
We look forward to seeing you here again.
All at SLMCCP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We visited here with a group of friends (all families with young children) during the summer holidays.

Positives:
Site is beautifully maintained
Shower blocks are lovely. Clean, modern, warm, piped music
Serviced pitches are excellent - having water on each pitch when you're camping in a tent it really handy
Site is really well placed for visiting many areas in Dorset. Nowhere is too far
The site shop is reasonably priced, open long hours and well stocked - especially with the delicious croissants and freshly laid eggs!
The site is pretty, surrounded by lots of mature trees and fields with deer/cattle
The nearby pub (St Peter's Finger) is very walkable from the site, very warm and friendly (especially towards children) and serves DELICIOUS food. Seriously, some of the best pub food I've ever had! You also get a free bottle of wine with a voucher available from the campsite.

Negatives:
The site was very busy while we were there and there were queues for the showers every morning
We booked as a group. We were met with 'I hope you lot aren't going to give us lots of trouble' (not said in a jovial manner!)
The site has very strict rules and I felt as if we were being watched and checked up upon. There were televisions on in caravans making far more noise than we were. We just felt unwelcome from the outset and this did dampen our holiday spirits. If group bookings are frowned upon, I'd rather they refused our booking in the first place

I'd return here as a family on our own as its a well placed, pretty site with good facilities. We've been before as a family and were treated very well by all members of staff, it's just a shame this wasn't replicated on this occasion.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank SLW44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happycustomerjo, Owner at South Lytchett Manor Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Many thanks for taking time to review. It was nice to receive your positive comments.
Sorry you felt not as welcome as a group. We do have to emphasize our 10.30pm quiet time to large groups and I do apologize if this came across a bit harsh.
We do hope to see you again at South Lytchett Manor.
Kind regards
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews