We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sinking Feeling”
Review of The Cruel Sea Bar

The Cruel Sea Bar
Ranked #22 of 362 Restaurants in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Cruel Sea is an atmospheric Bistro bar. Our bare brick walls, wooden furniture, low lighting and artwork by the famous Frank Bolan (featured in the Tate Modern) create a wonderfully unique ambience. Serving fresh, locally sourced fish, shellfish, meat and game alongside a contemporary fine wine list ~ We offer a full A la Carte menu as well as smaller tapas style dishes, meaning we are able to create perfectly tailored dining experience. Owned by Local Fisherman and Oyster producer Pete Miles, we believe in using only the freshest of produce, and keeping it as local as possible. Pete's oysters are some of the finest in the country, and are supplied to restaurants such as River cottage and HIX.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sinking Feeling”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

The waitress was confused, I was confused, the idea is confused. If you are after some cracking Oysters and a pint in a nice bar room with some loud mates then you're in for a treat. If you want a romantic meal then best avoid, it's fish tapas but little else to join up together for a full menu meal. The squid I had was over cooked and over priced a the very small portion at £8:50. Monkfish was nice but difficult to over cook that , unlike the clams I also had which were badly over cooked.



Helpful?
7 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esperance1127, Owner at The Cruel Sea Bar, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Don't worry I'm confused too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    53
    27
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best new spot in town”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Having dined at Storm for a number of years, the opening of The Cruel Sea came to the delight of many people around Poole and Bournemouth, including myself and my partner. Upon arrival to the restaurant, we were greeted by the barman who directed us to the waitresses who sat us down. We then ordered from the blackboards on the wall, which was a surprise, as we expected something similar to Storm. The waitress, who was very helpful and cheerful, recommended a range of dishes, which were all fresh in.

The atmosphere was relaxed and casual although the food was of an excellent standard. We ordered a variety of dishes - and would definitely recommend the chilli squid and the lamb koftas, two of our favourites. The wine list also offers a great range of bottles, both by the glass or bottle, which like the food give you the opportunity to have a taste of different products.

The Cruel Sea lived up to its expectations before we started eating, and we will certainly be dining here again. For those that seek a three course menu on paper, this place is not necessarily for you, but by ordering a range of small 'tapas' dishes, the dining experience is much more enjoyable. (Especially if your in a couple - like ourselves).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esperance1127, Owner at The Cruel Sea Bar, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Hi Mike D
Glad you enjoyed the experience . It seems we ticked all the boxes for you and look forward to looking after you again. Make yourself known the next time you are in. Regards Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Too pricey to mention”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Food was great but boy do they like to charge for it. Not much of an atmosphere very loud with drinkers at bar. couldn't have a quiet conversation had to talk loudly to make ourselves heard to person sat next to us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pappa1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esperance1127, Owner at The Cruel Sea Bar, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for your review. All I can say is The Cruel Sea is a bar with a kitchen and so the ambience it creates is all that goes on in one open plan room , so at times it might get noisy .When it comes to our pricing we only use the best quality produce and this is prepared on the premises daily. Our food and beer prices our clearly shown on blackboards that are visible from the outside. I hope we have catered for all pockets with our extensive wine list and tap water is available on request. Pete Miles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cruel Sea Bar also viewed

 
Poole, Dorset
 

Been to The Cruel Sea Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing