We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Stayed here for a weekend break. Asked to be moved from our room because of the severity of the draught coming through the windows, and the fact that the tiny wall heater was inadequate in raising the room temp. The badly fitting windows also made traffic noise loud from a nearby road junction. We stayed on a cold, very windy weekend. The staff were very obliging and moved us to another room with the minimum of fuss. That room was much better.

We ate in the restaurant every morning and night - the food was ok. Service was good.

The hotel was very busy. The staff were pleasant and helpful - particularly the Duty Manager called Kieron who was faultless in his courtesy and care towards his guests.

I'm going back again this month, as nothing put me off staying here again - if something isn't quite to your liking, just say and they'll sort it straight away.

Room Tip: Check windows for draught and ask them to explain the heating control - as you could find yourself w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VRH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    466
    178
    64
    26
See reviews for
517
485
54
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

This was a very comfortable budget hotel which scores better than many of the competitors in the same category. I stayed here alone as a place to stay before the morning ferry to Jersey the following day.

The staff were friendly and kind and I felt quite safe as a solo woman guest. My room was very comfortable and I especially liked having a choice of soft or firm pillows. The bathroom was well equipped although lacking in toiletries. The food was better than average for this type of hotel .

When I arrived I was asked to book and prepay for my room, then breakfast, which I accepted and then dinner which I declined as I had not decided to eat in the hotel at that stage. I felt some mild pressure to book the evening meal which was clearly company policy. When I did decide to go down to eat I was shown a very confusing range of 'meal deals' which I avoided and was pleased I had done when I heard a man on the next table to mine have to talk to 3 separate members of staff to get the correct bill. This needs sorting out.

My other group policy quibble is with the 'free wi-fi' - in fact it is only free for half an hour and then there is a charge. I decided to pay for access for the whole of my visit but could not enable it on either my iPhone or computer. Worse, when I left both devices would not respond to other wi-fi until I had completely rebooted them. I admit I did not ask for any help and it may be the problem would have been resolved if I had done so.

One last minor gripe - My Garmin Satnav tried to take me to a building on the nearby industrial estate on the opposite side of a large crossroads from the hotel. I informed the desk clerk who cheerfully told me I wasn't the first person to remark on this. Maybe the management would like to contact the SatNav companies to ensure their customers can find the place!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Pros: Close to ferry terminal (10 minutes) Decent size room and bathroom with good power shower. Very comfortable bed. Good value. Friendly and helpful reception staff. Large carpark but not as easy to locate as the other Premier Inn which conversely is more expensive.

Cons: On an industrial estate with noisy roads nearby. They warn you about this but it was still noisy even on a Sunday night. Basic dining facilities. Only 2 sachets of coffee/tea in rooms.Breakfast at £8.25 not good value.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are bound to be noisy but if booked in advance very good value esp: if travelling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indigo242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Rooms as you'd expect but the "restaurant and bar" functional and a scrap for seats. 2 hour wait for food i you wanted it on Monday. if in Poole, use the other Premier Inn - much better located and good size food and bar. asked staff which way to head for Wareham - reception tea didn't know, basic knowledge

Room Tip: Try elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 684JohnW684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012 via mobile

every single aspect of this hotel was superb from chexk in to check out food was excellent the staff couldnt do enough is was clean comfortable and warm parking was not a problem with more than enough for the amount of guests absolutely 1st class

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol2765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Reception very helpful on booking in. Rooms good, comfortable and clean However Room 123 basin/wc built in work surface needs replacing.
Restaurant on site met our expectations in every way. Staff in restaurant were all very pleasant and helpful, particularly the young man serving us for evening dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wellou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I stayed at this hotel for just one night, the staff on reception were very helpful, I had booked a disabled room, as my mother is in her late 80's and has difficulty in walking, unfortunately the room we were shown to was a disabled room, but the bed was very low, so they changed our room very quickly and we were very happy with the alternative. We only had breakfast at the hotel so I can't comment on the evening meals, but the breakfast was fine for this style of hotel. Will be staying again the next time I have to visit Poole.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Happytraveller999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.3 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,145 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Poole North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Poole North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Address: Cabot Lane, Poole BH17 7BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Poole
#3 Family Hotel in Poole
#3 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Poole North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the outskirts of Poole, a short drive from Monkey World Ape Rescue Centre and The Tank Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Poole North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel Poole
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing