We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ox

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ox
Ranked #24 of 50 Poole B&B and Inns
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lovely little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

ideal if seeing a gig at mr kyps which is at the end of the road, room was great comfy bed large bathroom, relaxed bar and restaurant area small car park so get there early to get yourself a spacealso book at for the restaurant which was our mistake doh!

Room Tip: book for the restaurant ideal for mr kyps
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squeak2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    26
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
6
38
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My Hubby and i stayed one night last weekend whilst visiting family, we were dining in poole so this was a great base. This Hotel is Lovely decor furnishing beautiful, our room was spotless bathroom modern, with all you could want for a comfortable stay. Breakfast was yummy. The Restaurant i would love to dine in, it was very busy when we got back from our night out. Staff very friendly will definatly return. Thankyou for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 344sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

No car park and limited on street parking. Scaffold greeted me outside the hotel but upon entry to the bar area it was a great setting. Shown to my room by a very helpful member of staff and found it to be spacious and modern with the bathroom having a large power shower which was good. The bar area is very good but the menu is quite limited. The food arrived in quite a small potion to what was expected but tasty enough. Wifi in the bar and room were free and good reception.
Didn't stay for breakfast as it didn't start till 7.30 although I was initially told it was 7am.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was a brief overnight stay. The room was fresh and clean, the bathroom lovely. The staff very polite and helpful, keen to ensure our stay was pleasant. The staff had good local knowledge and were well informed. The food was to a very good standard, with the roast dinner very tasty. The breakfast was full and hearty and freshly cooked to our order. Thank you.

Room Tip: Parking round the back not guaranteed but given time you will get a space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longhaulonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just returned from a week at The Ox and what a refreshing hotel experience. The staff were friendly and helpful, food was wonderful, restaurant so comfortable. The bar was popular and lively.The Hotel's interior design is so imaginative with the bedrooms a delight.Will we go again.....I think you know the answer!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keith g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

I stay in Poole on a regular basis but this time my usual hotel was fully booked. I chose the Ox Hotel because it's in walking distance of Parkstone station and it had competitively priced rooms - I wasn't disappointed.

The Ox is more than just a pub. It's a well-run and attractive hotel, restaurant and bar. I stayed on a Tuesday night, expecting it to be quiet. However the bar was busy with locals (always a good sign) and I was lucky to get a table in the restaurant. The food is excellent quality (I heard diners on a neighbouring table commenting on how good it was too) and reasonably price (£5-6 for starters and £14-16 for most mains when I stayed). Service was prompt and courteous.

The bedrooms are very smart, clean and have plenty of character. The bathroom, in dark slate and chrome, was especially smart. The hotel is on a busy road, so there was traffic noise but not enough to prevent a good night's sleep in the king size double and very comfortable bed.

Overall, a great hotel in a good location - well worth a least one night's stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank F1Vimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grovefield Manor
Grovefield Manor
#9 of 50 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.8 mi away
Loch Fyne Poole
Loch Fyne Poole
#29 of 50 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Viewpoint Guest House
0.2 mi away
Blue Shutters Guest House
2.0 mi away
The Plantation
The Plantation
#5 of 50 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ox

Property: The Ox
Address: 81 Commercial Road | Ashley Cross, Poole BH14 0JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ox 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Parkstone, The Ox has a natural buzz - with a first class kitchen serving outstanding food, a great bar offering a selection of premium beers, fine kept ales, brilliant wines and a stunning boutique hotel with 14 en-suite double rooms. This is the 'place to be' on the south coast of England... Our boutique hotel with 14 en-suite bedrooms are designed for comfort, the extra soft pillows allow you to melt away when it's time to rest. With a range of doubles, twins, superiors and a bridal suite - we can be sure to cater for your needs with prices starting at £65. We serve breakfast between 07:30 - 09:30 Monday to Friday, and 08:00 - 10:00 on weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your The Ox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ox Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing