We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, modern and clean b&b”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 49 Poole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Very comfortable, modern and clean b&b.
We stayed in january for one night, we were made very welcome by our hosts. Our room on the first floor was a good size, faultlessly clean and lovely breakfast.

Very nice to see a bath at this time of year, only shower gel and body lotion were provided, so bring your own, which isn't an issue for us. We were recommended a nice pub for dinner and awoke with a cooked breakfast of your choosing, with cereals, fruit, pastries and yogurt to help yourself to. Lots of parking too.

Faultless stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy_58london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and we were glad you enjoyed your stay, we would like to say that all our rooms are equipped with lush happy hippy shower gel/shampoo lush vanilla dee-lite body lotion the Purbeck soap company soaps and shower caps, if further supplies are required we can supply including toothpaste, toothbrushes shaving kits shoe shiners vanity kits etc. please don't be afraid to ask if you cannot see something you require we only want our guests to be completely happy. once again thanks for commenting and taking the time. hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed at the White House this weekend as we had to be down in Poole to do some work on a family home. They had a deal on, so the stay was very reasonable, breakfast was amazing and all in all a great stay. The room was lovely and spacious with a bath, and the living area was huge. The owners were lovely a friendly and made us feel really welcome - I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

thank you for your great review we are glad that we met your expectations and look forward to seeing you all sometime in the future ( hope you got that floor finished! )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Our one night stay on way to France - could not fault this lovely accommodation this was a last minute booking - the owners were more than helpful - even getting up early to cook breakfast which was excellent for our early morning ferry. The bedroom very spacious with coffee/tea facilities plus home make cake. Definitely can recommend and would stay again when next in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Glad you enjoyed your stay, we are always happy to provide brekfast for ferry travellers. Its bad enough for you having to get up at the crack of dawn without going hungry thanks for taking the time see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Wow. We had a brilliant stay here.
The hosts are lovely, we had a great chat in the short amount of time we spent there (unfortunately only 1 night). They have done a great job creating a really unique and impressive space. The room we had was massive, with a huge, modern bathroom as well. Very comfortable bed as well. We really liked how they had laid out the bedroom in a different way, was a great change to the "norm" of B&B'land.

The hostess had provided a voucher to a nearby restaurant which gave a free bottle of wine with 2 main meals (we were sold as soon as this was mentioned). We asked her how long it takes to walk and she very kindly offered to take us there in her car. Much appreciated.

The breakfast was delicious and served casually (nothing worse than a stressful breakfast) whenever you want it. The checkout time was also very relaxed.

All of this, combined with an affordable nightly rate, makes this gem a must if you're looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JodeCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Well what a great start to the new year, thanks for giving us such a lovely report it makes us look forward to the coming year knowing our guests like what we offer. once again thanks for taking the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Warm hospitality from the owners, good accommodation in modern rooms, huge bed, excellent shower, fresh milk for your tea and coffee in the room, plus home made coconut cupcakes, breakfast at 10 a.m. no problem (superb breakfast too), reasonable B&B rates, whats not to like. Good base for visiting a very nice area of Dorset. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank White-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

thanks for the second review and what a nice end to a very busy year we were pleased to see you again and hope it wont be the last time. as this might be my last review of the year can i just add that thanks to all the great guests we have had in 2013 it has been another very enjoyable year band b ing we look forward to welcoming old and new friends next year when we reopen at the end of january thank you and goodnight!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Great B & B would certainly recommend. Really big bedroom with huge bed and spotlessly clean, great nights sleep, tea and coffee in room with cake. Lovely breakfast with big choice and very friendly owners. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope that we get to see you again sometime in the future thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Hi, I really did enjoy my stay here and the hosts are a really lovely couple. Cats are super cute to. We had Blackbird room with was on floor one and it was really big and done to a really high standard. Massive bed. Massive bathroom and a really big bath. They are doing everything right at this place and i really do mean this when i stay you got to stay there for yourself. You wiil love it! Breakfast is so tasty which is cooked by the Lovely Carol. So tasty. Yummy Bacon and sassauge and the eggs so fress as they are from little ladys at Rhode Island. Thanks.

Room Tip: Blackbird room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essex44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

well thanks for your lovely comments we all thats both of us and the cats and our girls in the garden thank you and hope we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,201 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
2.4 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
5.4 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,774 reviews
2.9 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 31A Dorchester Road | Upton, Poole BH16 5NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Price Range: £73 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a clean modern bed and breakfast with underfloor heating, LCD televisions, i-pod docks, quality freshly cooked organic breakfasts at any time you like? Even charge your car for free. We don't do rules and regulations here at the White House; arrive when you like, leave when you like. Oh, and don't forget to enjoy the fresh homemade cakes when you get back from your day's activities! We try to make your stay cool - come and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The White House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Bed And Breakfast
The White House Hotel Poole
The White House Bed & Breakfast Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing