We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 50 Poole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lewes
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We spent the weekend here when visiting local area (and married daughter). We got lost, but that was more down to the accuracy of google maps! I rang Carol and she gave very clear directions from where we were and we found it in no time after that. We were made to feel extremely welcome on arrival, and were treated to a tray of tea and coffee with homemade cake. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a lovely wet room ensuite (very useful as my husband is disabled). Another nice touch were the lovely toiletries for use in the shower. We had our own fridge with fresh water and milk for the in-room tea/coffee facilities and were told to get more from the kitchen if we needed. The breakfasts were superb with high quality foodstuffs on offer, plus eggs from Carol's chickens!
Carol and Rob were both very friendly and helpful. I would definitely go back and cannot recommend this B&B too highly.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front and there was a little traffic noise, but nothing too disturbing.
See more room tips
Green Features: There was a bag in our roon, and we were encouraged to put recyclables in this (such as papers, plastic botles etc.)
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leatham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi Lynn
thanks for the great review we always appreciate our guests taking the time to write them. we hope that next time you are visiting your daughter we get to see you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
293
34
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wisbech, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Spent couple of days at The White House whilst visiting monkey world . Made to feel comfortable and at ease from stepping out of car .Very well appointed.Carol and Robert wonderful hosts.Nothing too much trouble. Wouldnt hesitate to recommend to anyone. Superb.

Room Tip: all good. ground floor good for anyone with mobilty issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thanks for your review we do read and take on board all reviews glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future thanks for taking the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My hubbie and I have stayed in some great hotels in uk but decided this time to try an 'up-market' b & b. and boy were we pleased! Carol and rob at the White House were so welcoming and helpful - they were quite happy when we didn't turn up for breakfast til 11 am. Not many places would accommodate that, in our experience. And breakfast was excellent, locally sourced food, great selection and even home produced eggs. Highlight of my day was saying thank you to 'the girls' when we did finally get out!

Carol and Rob - you're the best, and we will definitely come and stay with you again,

Room Tip: We stayed in Woodpecker, which was lovely - great super king bed which was nice and firm. Apologies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H&V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely report we are happy when our guests are happy if 11am suits you it suits us. what's the point of a weekend away if you have to get up at the same time as when you are at work chill we say!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armacao de Pera, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The best B&B I have ever stayed in, absolutely lovely. I agree with every positive comment written here.
I didn't have breakfast so can't comment but I am certain it would be up to the extremely high standards of this business.
WIfi was very good and fast.
I did struggle to find the address but I'm a dunce at navigation and it was well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
thank you for taking the time to write a review we took on board comments about our signage and can I can confirm that the other half has put hammer to nail and put the new signs up so hopefully we are more visible now hope you got back home without incident thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treguier, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We liked the look of this B & B on the website, but it surpassed our expectations. No silly rules, timing very flexible, spotless accommodation and a great welcome from Carol and Bob. Nothing too much trouble. Good sized bedrooms, and a huge light and comfortable lounge. A beautiful garden and good parking too, This has to be a far better place to stay than any hotel where you could pay a lot more and get a lot less. Will definitely book again, and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have showers and doors to the garden. If you want a bath, stay on the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hortensia549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your more than positive report we enjoyed our chat with you both we hope to see you again thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Within a very short time we felt like family rather than guests. Lovely home made cakes in our room and again in the restful Garden with a great cup of tea.
Carol & Bob have overlooked nothing in their amazing b and b and the choice for breakfast well we did not know what to choose. So much well cooked and tasty to food to chose from.
Our room was very well appointed very comfortable and spotless. The cuddles with Tommy the cat made it feel like home from home. We will definatley be back.
Thank you so much Carol & Bob for making us so welcome.

Room Tip: King size was huge. Light and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabbyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
thank you for you more than positive review we are appreciative of all the nice comments our guests make thank you once again for taking the time it makes it all worthwhile to get a pat on the back. Thomas says hello and hopes you come back sometime in the future for more cuddles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We picked this B&B based on good web reviews and I'm so glad we did.
Everything was of a high standard, from the communication when booking , right up to the greeting and the welcome cuppa and beautiful slices of cake after a long car journey.
The room overlooked the garden and was absolutely spotless. There were ample tea and coffee supplies, hairdryer,etc - it really made me wish I was staying longer! We definitely regretted not staying another night. In the morning we both had a great breakfast and enjoyed the fresh eggs provided by the chickens in the garden. This is like staying at home but better. Thank you Carol and Rob.

Room Tip: Go for Sparrow room if you wish for a access to the garden from your room, the dog loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
when we get such nice reports it makes this job a joy we try our hardest to make sure that our guests have a great stay and always ensure they are treated as we would expect to be treated we always strive to improve and when we get good reports it makes it all worthwhile thank you for taking the time to write this review we do read and take on board all comments we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
5.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
2.9 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
2.4 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The White House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 31A Dorchester Road | Upton, Poole BH16 5NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a clean modern bed and breakfast with underfloor heating, LCD televisions, i-pod docks, quality freshly cooked organic breakfasts at any time you like? Even charge your car for free. We don't do rules and regulations here at the White House; arrive when you like, leave when you like. Oh, and don't forget to enjoy the fresh homemade cakes when you get back from your day's activities! We try to make your stay cool - come and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The White House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Poole
The White House Bed And Breakfast
The White House Bed & Breakfast Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing