We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best yet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 50 Poole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best yet”
Reviewed 19 March 2010

This is by far the best B and B we have stayed in. The room was excellent with a huge comfy bed, and really big en suite and everything you could ask for. The house itself is modern with a very warm and welcoming atmosphere created by Carol and Bob who are great hosts. Their friendly, chatty approach and general knowledge about the area made our stay very enjoyable and if we are ever in the area we won't hesitate to book again. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
296
34
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

After searching for a B&B in the area we came across The White House with a very informative website. Phoned up to check availability and spoke to Carol who also confirmed small children were more than welcome.
So all booked for 2 nights, arrived late Saturday evening to a very warm welcome and a very clean well presented, warm house. Superb modern decor, unlike any other B&B I've ever stayed in. For us it felt like staying with friends rather than in a place we've never been. The room was spotless, with a great wet room and a very comfy bed & proper down duvet.
Both mornings breakfast was great, a full english with all the ingredients from local farm shops. Nothing was too much trouble for Carol, a top hostess.
We would totally recommend The White House and will definatley be returning without a doubt!
Steve, Nat & Freddie

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 105ESteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

The white house is a nice B&B, with welcoming hosts. The rooms are nice with comfortable beds and bathroom facilities. Carol made us feel very welcome, as did her cats :).

I would recommend this B&B to anyone, it also has good off road parking - a must for me.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harley71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2010

Excellent B&B with very friendly owners and a beautiful room, modern, very clean and relaxing after a long day. Very comfortable bed, freeview LCD, internet access, ipod facility and super breakfast. A lovely garden & loads of parking.
A great find, I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yeovil
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2010

lovely place, lovely people will definately be staying again if carol will have us lol such a lovely atmosphere it was like coming home carol was so welcoming .

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missyrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouthshire
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2010

This was my second time staying at the White House and have been very happy on both occasions. The rooms are comfortable, well equipped with freeview tv and free wifi and the under floor heating is lovely to get out of bed to. Carol and Robert are very friendly and helpful. I can't comment on the location for tourists as I stay on business but for me it is ideal.

Food is excellent. There is always a piece of homemade cake waiting in your room when you arrive and plenty of choice at breakfast.

I will certainly be trying to stay here again next time I visit the area.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Techyspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Their website is true to form.Nothing was too much trouble and whilst only meeting up at breakfast Carol became a friend by the end of my stay.I personally couldn't praise this Bed & Breakfast establishment enough.
I hope to stay in 2010 at some stage during the year.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie1Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,147 reviews
2.4 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
777 reviews
5.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,664 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
2.9 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The White House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 31A Dorchester Road | Upton, Poole BH16 5NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a clean modern bed and breakfast with underfloor heating, LCD televisions, i-pod docks, quality freshly cooked organic breakfasts at any time you like? Even charge your car for free. We don't do rules and regulations here at the White House; arrive when you like, leave when you like. Oh, and don't forget to enjoy the fresh homemade cakes when you get back from your day's activities! We try to make your stay cool - come and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The White House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Poole
The White House Bed And Breakfast
The White House Bed & Breakfast Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing