We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional standard”
Review of Danecourt Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poole
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Danecourt Lodge
Ranked #30 of 50 Poole B&B and Inns
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Exceptional standard”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Have just returned from a three night break at the Danecourt Lodge. This must surely be the best B & B in Poole. From the moment my husband and I arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome and were offered a cup of tea after our journey. We were then shown to a delightful room which overlooked the beautiful garden. The room was spotlessly clean with pretty bed linen of a very high standard. Large wardrobe space with lots of wooden coat hangers. Hair dryer and a kettle with tea, coffee, hot chocolate, cold bottled water and milk, together with biscuit bars which were replenished each day during our stay. There was also a television and radio in the room. Shampoo, conditioner and shower gel were provided in the en-suite.

Now on to breakfast - Wow!!! Each morning Pat, the lovely owner, provided individual bowls of fresh fruit (raspberries, blackcurrants, oranges, grapes, kiwi fruit, bananas, strawberries, pineapple) which were freshly prepared each morning. Yoghurt, numerous cereals, all followed by a full English breakfast if you so wished and toast and home made preserves. The bacon etc., was of a very good quality. Of course, coffee and tea and fresh orange juice were provided.

Guests could also use the lovely peaceful garden, as comfortable garden chairs were available.
The owners were also extremely knowledgeable and helpful with information and advice about local attractions, restaurants and places to visit. To summarise, it was a most enjoyable stay and could not be faulted in any way.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyHappyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
173
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I spent four very comfortable nights in this lovely Bed and Breakfast.
I was in the Yellow Room, which looked out over a very lovely, quiet garden. Everything is fresh and clean. The bed and bedding is of a very high standard and soooo comfy!

The breakfast is wonderful. Freshly cut fresh fruit every morning, followed by a continental breakfast, full English or salmon or scrambled eggs. Tea/coffee and toast. There are some hotels who could not present this standard of breakfast!

Pat is very friendly and helpful.

Tea and coffee is supplied in the bedroom .

Room Tip: The yellow room is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed at Danecourt Lodge over New Year and I have to say we were not disappointed. The owners Pat and Ron made us feel immediately at home with a warm and friendly welcome. Our room was bright, comfortable and spotlessly clean, with a large ensuite bathroom, with jacuzzi and separate shower. Everything we needed was supplied and more. There was a wide variety of choice at breakfast and after cereal we had a large and very tasty full english with toast and tea, which set us up for the day. We were visiting other friends and relatives in the area but had we needed information about Poole and places of interest to visit there was tourist information in abundance.
The house is located within walking distance of the town and the quay taking you through a very pretty park.
We had a lovely visit to Danecourt Lodge and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2012

This guest house was recommended by another guest house owner who was unable to accomodate us. We took this as high praise and were not disappointed.
We stayed at Danecourt Lodge for 3 nights and liked it so much that we stayed again with my parents the following week.
The rooms are of a good size for a B&B and we particularly liked the one that had both a shower and a jacuzzi bath. The rooms were spotless. The breakfasts were the best we have ever had at a B&B.
Pat is a great hostess and made us feel very welcome.

On an aside, when we did stay, Pat was clearly concerned about an earlier review (the one that talks about having to take shoes off, having to pay for bottled water and that the heating was turned off after 10 or 11pm etc) ... which shows how much she cares and how customer focussed she is. We have no complaints and to be honest would expect to pay more than 50p for a bottle of water, take our shoes off in someone elses house if they were muddy & we certainly do not keep our heating on after 10pm at night!

Everyone has different expectations but we for sure would rate this B&B as excellent and are sure that you will too if you stay.

Room Tip: Both rooms we stayed in were of a similar size and both quiet. One had a more compact shower room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosgrove_528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Not even the horrible West Country winter weather could dampen the warm and lovely welcome from Pat, the owner, on arrival at Danecourt Lodge in Poole. We stayed one night in a really comfy cosy room with everything we needed. Breakfast was great, casual and friendly but really good and a relaxing start to the day. Thank you and see you in the New Year!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My husband chose this place based on reviews and I have to say we were disappointed.

Positives first - quiet location and clean

The house itself is nothing special - we like to stay in places with "character." The bright blue carpet was off-putting.

We were also put off by having to remove our shoes, not being able to eat in the room, and the other rules listed in the book.

Breakfast was bland, I'm afraid, and much of it seemed store-bought (other than fruit from the fruit market).

The room was small and smelled of bleach - we prefer more "eco" places.

Toiletries are big bottles of Boots brand. Towels were small.

There was unlimited tea in the room but you have to pay for water bottles.

I get quite cold when I sleep... she said the heat goes off at 10 but she could leave it on... I thought she was going to but didn't, and I was freezing. The next night she gave us a bigger comforter, but turned the heat off at 11 (we didn't get back until after) so the room was cold, and even with blankets piled on I was cold. She asked some intrusive questions about what I wore to bed and if I'd ever gotten that checked out by a doctor. In the end she knocked £10 off because of the discomfort.

Maybe older people would like this better - we are a young couple and this felt rather stale to us.

Again, it's not bad per se, probably a lot of this is preference, but it's definitely not a place we'd stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hyphenista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

You will have to go a very long way to find a better B & B than this. You are greeted with a very warm welcome from Pat and the rooms are and absolute delight. Exceptionally clean, bright and comfortable. There is also a plentiful supply of tourist and local amenities information available, in fact everything that that you would need to make your stay as stress free as posible. An excellent breakfast menu, but even if what you fancy isn't on the menu, Pat will go out of her way to accommodate your needs.
Plenty of good local eateries, we went to a pub about a 10 minute walk away called 'The Cow'. Good food, reasonably priced.
All in All a very pleasing experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable. We were given a choice on arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimB4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
0.4 mi away
Viewpoint Guest House
0.5 mi away
South Rising Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Parkstone Guest House
#8 of 10 in Poole
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Shutters Guest House
0.3 mi away
The Ox
The Ox
#26 of 50 in Poole
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danecourt Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danecourt Lodge

Property: Danecourt Lodge
Address: 58 Danecourt Road, Poole BH14 0PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique blend of luxury with a modern contemporary design set in beautiful gardens with safe off-road parking. Perfectly situated for Poole Town, Quay, beaches and ferries. Spacious, immaculate rooms. Luxury en-suite facilities (1 with spa bath), Flatscreen TV, DVD, iPod dock, DAB radio, Free WiFi internet. Sorry, no children. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Danecourt Lodge Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing