We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good site, but beware of thieves!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poole
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beacon Hill Touring Park
Ranked #5 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Poole
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed in early May for 2 nights, the site was fairly empty and the ground was dry which immediately made it easy to select a pitch and park our camper. The site was kept clean but I fear there is a real lack of investment and 'hands on management'. On the 2nd night my bike was stolen along with another camper not in our party between the hours of 12 - 5am. Although the site was extremely helpful, this could have been prevented if tighter security measures had been in place. The gates are left open, little CCTV is operating lending itself to a potential crime field. So a word of warning fellow campers, don't just lock your daughters up, lock anything of sentimental or of monetary value!!! Shame, as never had to do this before but a lesson learned. This has left a sour taste in my mouth so highly unlikely to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dev0nmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewBeaconHill, Manager at Beacon Hill Touring Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Devon Maid

I have just been appointed the new GM and as such have recently learned of your unfortunate event. It is apparent to me that we need to tighten the security of the park.
I know that there isn't anything that we can do to alter what has happened to you but I thought that as you have taken the time to submit feedback to us it is the least I can do to extend the same courtesy.
The CCTV system is now fully operational
We have night security running into the night during high season and any abuse of the parks terms and conditions with regards to noise disturbance after 11pm will NOT be tolerated.
Also we have secure systems coming in to give us a quote for a new barrier control system at the entrance to the park so that only pre-booked guests can gain access to the park especially after hours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stayed here on the August bank holiday weekend which was very busy in the Poole area. I chose this site because it is a medium sized site with outdoor swimming pool, fishing lakes achildrens play area in the woods anad a junior play area. It also has a bar with entertainment and fre wifi.Easy access to Poole and beyond
So far so good.
However on arrival it was apparent that they were very overbooked for the Bank holiday. Lack of clear direction as to where to site your tent caravan or motorhome meant that non electric customers were papitching in electric sites. This meant that they had to use extension cabling to allow cutomers to hook up. Unfortunately this meant that caravans were pitched side by side in some places almost likea car park. So much for a peaceful weekend campping or even worse no fire breaks.Campers were lucky to be able to squeeze their cars in beside their tents.I was in a non electric pitch and had had the foresight to put up a windbreak so i wasnt sleeping ear to ear with my neighbours.

The swimming pool was cold and the concrete edging of it was crumbling in places and was quite scratchy to childrens and adults (if they were brave enough to get in the unheated waters) skin. The paving around the pool was dirty and in places uneven. White or light coloured towels were not in anyway clean if you had laid them on the slabs to sunbathe, you certainly wouldnt want to dry yourself off in them. I had to spot stain mine and wash twice to get the stains out when I got home.

The toilets and showers by reception were regularly cleaned, however some very il mannered guests regularly didnt quite manage to sit on the seat to pass a motion and toilet roll was regularly left on the floors. This was not the fault of the management as I observed their poor cleaner going from the ladies to the gents straight after the other, by the time the poor man got back to the other it was covered in shreds of toilet rol and worse. The other toilet and shower block up by the Bar was much cleaner. But you did not want to be the first person to use the reception ablutions in the morning as cleaning started at 9am..

On the plus side all the park staff were friendly and helpful. The Wifi by reception was free. The children loved the playpark on the hill and watching the dragonflies and fish leaping in the small fishing lakes. The little ones playpark was well maintained and nice equipment. The snack wagon by the Bar provided well priced and cooked takeways if you wanted to use it.THere is very easy acces to Poole and surrounding amenities and beaches, It is actualy a rather pretty site with little glens and wooded areas as wel as a huge playing fields pitch site.They are reasonably priced compared to other campsites in the area.

I would never use this park again on busy periods but I would off season or during quiter periods. I think it would be helpful if pitches were marked out and tbh those families with monster tents which take up so much space be charged accordingly so that they dont end up pushing other guests into smaller spaces. This I imagine is becoming a bigger problem for most sites. I would like to see security gates at the entrance and a late arrivals field by the entrance.. One family arrived at 2am in the morning behind us, and took about an hour to put up their tent chattering and laughing all way through. Different toilet roll dispensers maybe, the ones that are tall and you pull out the sheets rather than the big circular ones which some lazy guests or maybe children ended up shredding all over the floor and leaving. BIG signs up all over the site stating no noise after certain time. Please ensure you leavea 5 metre space between you and your neighbour. No bonfires on the ground and especially not under trees. Its a shame people have to be educated in this way but some people have no common sense or awareness of others unless reminded.

I did actually feel sorry for the management and staff on that weekend

Room Tip: The electric pitch s immediately in front of receptio have excellent wifi reception. The lil field...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank browneyes1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewBeaconHill, Manager at Beacon Hill Touring Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for you well appreciated feedback.
You have made a very fair an accurate review with some very constructive comments many of which have already been addressed.

I have recently been appointed the new GM and after examining all of the comments that people have been making and speaking to some of the staff that were employed at Beacon Hill from 2009-2013. It is clear to me that Pitch guides have not featured in the arrivals process which I found shocking and can only apologize for.
Due to the nature of the flexibility that we like to offer and the individual requirements of our different customers coupled with the huge variety in the type of ground and pitches that we have does cause headaches in our busiest weekend of the year.

How ever that said we can make huge improvements by riding our customers to their pitch and giving them clear instructions on what we want them to do. There is always going to be people that arrive outside of opening hours and people that choose not to listen to the instructions and do as they please. Re pitching is something that we all want to avoid but I think you are right this information needs to be in big clear writing stating that if you do not show consideration to others or the instructions given to you by your pitch guide you will be asked to move.
Maybe the fear of inconveniencing themselves would be enough to get them to think twice about inconveniencing others.

With regards to the toilet roll dispensers you are right and as they are due to be replaced we will be installing the Two Roll system.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We chose this site from a top 100 sites guide from 2011. What a mistake! We arrived to find the reception to be manned by kids. We were told we could pitch up where ever we wanted but decided it best to stay where we had booked. The pitches themselves were very difficult to work out as they are not clearly marked and on all types of ground.
The site was filthy. There were piles of rubbish left in the pitches, the toilets were disgusting the showers even worse; full of mud and with those buttons you have to keep your hand on in order to get a dribble of water out. I have attached a picture with this review of the mop supplied to clean them, which appeared to be shared between the ladies and gents (very awkward unless you have someone to go get it for you).The toilets were attended to once a day but not cleaned. 90% of the time there was no paper in the cubicles. There was a sign displayed stating that campers should stagger the use of the facilities to ensure hot water (which itself was a bit of a gamble) The type of people that go to this site says it all ! On the second night the whole camp site was kept awake by a very drunken and foul languaged argument that went on into the early hours. This is also the first site I have seen where there is no security or even a gate to ensure that it is only paying customers that are entering the site. The bar / clubhouse is extremely small and the live entertainment was so loud you could here it from the other end of the site.
All in all I would not recommend anyone visiting this place. Its a shame because it isn't in a bad location, about 15 minute drive to the beach, but so poorly maintained and badly managed that we saw some people turn straight around and leave before pitching up.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Pictures on the website give it a lovely countryside setting and parts of it are that way. However, the negatives far outweigh the positives.

Firstly the litter is a major problem. Before we could properly make our little spot our home away from home we had to pick all the litter up from the pitch and surroundings. No cleaner in site. We been to other sites which have been spotless so it can be done.
Secondly. With young children you like to have some quiet at night. So this is a holiday place and people will be playing music and chatting but there should be set times and noise limits for the night time. If there are hard and fast rules they weren't been enforced. You don't want teenagers running around swearing and playing music into the night, come to think of it you don't want It in the day either.
Thirdly. Facilities very outdated. Need some money spent on the place to bring it up to spec with the other places in the area.
Lastly. No real sign of security except few cameras about and no idea if they were actually plugged in. The manager for the site we saw most nights if not all nights in the onsite bar often drunk. Didn't give us a lot of hope if there was a emergency at night that he would be any good at dealing with it. Few time in morning when we looked for management could never find.

In conclusion we don't think be going back again. Far better places in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Camped here the last week of August - the site has potential to be fantastic if only there was a bit more care, maintenance and discrete but firm management by the site managers. The facilities were rather 'overworked' - one shower not working and very basic. Toilets could do with more frequent cleaning. Quite a bit of litter, one pile of dog mess near our tent took 2 days to be cleared. Shop very basic and seemed to have little in it but perhaps thats because its towards the end of the main camping season. Swimming pool cold but can live with that if the weather is good, though it did look like it could benefit from a deep clean and freshen up. We also had a few problems with young people running around late in the evening making a lot of noise - we had young children and were concerned about them waking. Also could smell dope being smoked - not great when you have young children. The site regulations said dogs should be on leads but this was not upheld and was I rather annoyed to see a dog wandering around the pool. Play area tired and starting to break.

With more active site management and some real investment could be a great site but at present wouldn't recommend it.

Suspiciously and I joke you not I did see an old UN truck leave on our last day - by then we had began to think that just possibly the UN had been sent to give aid to the campers!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetGirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

we read through most of these reviews before booking and were considering giving it a miss, it seems that most people either love it or hate it. WE LOVED IT! okay there was a bit of noise and a bit of mess but this is expected when the site was full to capacity (we stayed August bank holiday weekend). The toilets and showers were cleaned daily, litter pickers could be seen clearing rubbish around site and the young man in the reception couldn't have been more polite or helpful. The site itself was beautiful, loads of families with children who our little ones soon made friends with. They thoroughly enjoyed the playparks and the ice creams in the shop! if you're expecting a finely manicured campsite with strict rules and no soul then this isn't the place for you. If you're up for a proper camping holiday with plenty of fun, laughter and a site with character then this is the place for you. We had a fantastic time and will definitely be visiting next summer!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

We love this place it's proper camping with a small shop basic bar and games room the place is clean it does get busy so there are times when u might see a bit of rubbish but there's bind every where so just chuck it away!! We only live 10 mins away and have been here 4 times this year and will be back again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roof269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
5.9 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,794 reviews
6.0 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,227 reviews
5.7 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
3.4 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hill Touring Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hill Touring Park

Address: Blandford Road North, Poole BH16 6AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Poole
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP AND MANAGEMENT*** Beacon Hill Touring Park enjoys the beauty of 30 acres of partly wooded heathland, together with a wide selection of wildlife. We are a Conservation Award winning park in the stunning Dorset countryside, three miles west of Poole Town Centre, and just five miles from the best beaches Britain has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beacon Hill Touring Park Hotel Poole
Beacon Hill Touring Park Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing