We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic site”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poole
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beacon Hill Touring Park
Ranked #5 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Poole
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We only stayed one night en route to France but we found Beacon Hill to be an excellent site with great facilities with a warm welcome thrown in. It has it's own fishing lake and bar. Showers and washing up areas were super clean. They had specific dog friendly areas. The dog walk up the hill through the pine forest was simply great. Thanks again

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank jerf1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

As we live locally this was ideal for his first camping experience.well what can i say brilliant only stayed two nights but had a great time clean natural looking park level pitches wild life swimming pool kiddie play area fishing lakes all the staff were pleasant and very helpful as this is a review I suppose I would have to find some fault this would be the shower block next to reception its just a bit dated the shower water was very very hot and the floor when wet is slippery my wife nearly fell over not something that you want when you have a 3 year old to look after, or for anyone in fact, just some safety flooring would be advisable before someone has a serious accident.

As far as security went, we saw them on both days and night, on our last night our son come to see his son (our grandson) and within a couple of minutes of our son arriving security come to us to see if all was o.k.very pleasant and polite.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank SUSAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We are a family of four, our children are 6 and 3years old. We love camping here for long weekends! We have a large tent and opt for the electric hook up, the pitches are grass and a really decent size. The woodland setting is lovely and our kids love playing in the trees and love the park. The lake was great for my hubby although he only caught one fish, but it kept him occupied for a day! The swimming pool was brilliant, my kids have gone in it every time, it has always been clean and well kept, not too warm but lovely on a hot day. The shower facilities are basic, but always hot water! The bar was open on the Saturday night for the football and had a great atmosphere and reasonably priced!
On busier weekends we witnessed litter picking twice a day and staff picked up any that missed the bin. The toilet cubicle was messy one night with toilet paper on the floor but was cleaned first thing the next morning. I regularly saw the staff mopping the floors.
If you want a fun and relaxed camping experience, but with good amenities and entertainment. this place is for you! Judge for yourself!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lawbedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My daughter and I went on our first proper camping trip -so so pleased I choose beacon hill . Great location , clean , friendly staff , nature walks for the kids with small copse of tress so they don't get lost , lake , my daughter made friends with other friendly campers a great trip what more can I ask for - will go again for sure !!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank glennk74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just spent weekend here, here are good points and bad point : Lovely relaxing setting, proper basic camping, lots of natural beauty around watching the squirrels and rabbits running around much to the amusement of my dogs.
Fishing lake, even though wasnt lucky enough to catch anything.
Outdoor pool, wasnt brave enough to have a dip but some kids in there looked like they were having fun.
Friendly staff in shop, check in and sticker checkers.
Toilets and shower blocks kept clean, it wasnt a busy weekend but still felt comfortable using them,also a washing up room which was very helpful.

Now for the bad point which stopped us having the planned relaxing weekend, Irresponsible Dog Owners who feel that the Dogs on Leads signs set up around the campsite do not apply to them, and its for everyone else to abide by. My 2 dogs who are scared of strange dogs that come up in their faces had to put up with Dog Owners who had not taught their dogs recall, so if on the occassion it was unavoidable the dog would have just listened to its owner and run back to them and no harm done. They wouldnt have just upset another dog that they have no knowledge about just because they cant be responsible dog owners and keep a lead on.
I did mention this to the nice couple in the reception so hopefully my next visit things would have improved.
Now for the bad point which stopped us having the planned relaxed weekend was

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have been visiting Beacon Hill for the last few years and love it. The campsite is REAL camping no perfect pitches, natural woodland setting and feels like home from home. Never been one to use the clubhouse but when we have its been a real relaxed friendly atmosphere which we have all enjoyed. Many times we have seen other groups of campers which have also returned for years and love the friendly atmosphere it provides. Please Please do not change our lovely campsite which we visit with a large group of our friends many times a year !!!! (but if you do change anything the heating on the pool could be increased).

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
9  Thank toposhtocamp52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed there for 7nights in June this year(2014) the setting of the site was second to none set in woodland with plenty of walks for our dog(would strongly recommend this site if you're a dog owner)the staff were very polite and helpful,the site would benefit by adding more hard standing pitches and clearer defined numbers for the pitches,Ross the site manager who took over the running of the site earlier this year was extremely helpful and attentive,also when we booked in March it was for two pitches(motorhomes)but unfortunately we had to cancel one of the pitches due to family illness,Ross refunded the deposit for the second pitch as it was cancelled three days later after booking(fellow campers take note as this is NOT the case of some sites,the one we booked into at Torquay did not refund the deposit and they had the same notification as Beacon Hill,hence to say we will not be using that touring park in Torquay again)we were touring for five weeks,staying at various sites,Beacon Hill in our opinion was one of the most idyllic settings we stayed at during our visit to the Devon/Dorset coastline and I feel sure that under the management of Ross the site will improve even more with a little TLC,before writing this review I read previous comments and yes there probably were some issues with the site but don't let that put you off as I feel sure that Ross will continue to make sure that any concerns raised in the past will be rectified,needless to say we will be staying there again next year for 2/3 weeks as the site is ideal for visiting Poole and the surrounding area,thank you Ross and staff for your hospitality during our stay in June and look forward to seeing you all next year....Regards Mel & Wendy

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lionheart52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poole
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
3.0 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
836 reviews
21.8 mi away
Higher Moor Farm
Higher Moor Farm
#1 of 24 in Weymouth
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Herston Caravan & Camp Site
8.9 mi away
Woodyhyde Campsite
Woodyhyde Campsite
#3 of 4 in Corfe Castle
182 reviews
0.7 mi away
The White House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hill Touring Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hill Touring Park

Address: Blandford Road North, Poole BH16 6AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Poole
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT ** Family run Beacon Hill Touring Park enjoys the beauty of 30 acres of partly wooded heathland, together with a wide selection of wildlife. We are a Conservation Award winning park in the stunning Dorset countryside, three miles west of Poole Town Centre, and just five miles from the best beaches Britain has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beacon Hill Touring Park Hotel Poole
Beacon Hill Touring Park Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing