We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVELY LOCATION” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandbanks Brasserie at The Sandbanks

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sandbanks Brasserie at The Sandbanks
Ranked #217 of 360 Restaurants in Poole
Price range: US$16 - US$49
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“LOVELY LOCATION”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

What a wonderful place to enjoy lunch on the terrace - what a shame the service and the food do not live up to the beautiful surroundings. Not good at all and this hotel does not deserve its star rating.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Olivia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    7
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Bromwich
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

relaxing seaview terrace restaurant with varied menu - not cheap but well worth the extra. The addition of the outside kitchen and servery make this a superb place to eat.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Throstles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely position for a restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Beautiful location, fantastic views and great food.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
565 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Lovely location, food disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Had lunch here on a lovely sunny day. Location is superb, food quality does not merit price. Crab sandwiches were padded out with prawns - fine if they were fresh and gadget but they were not. Service was charming and very good but food disappointing.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We had our wedding at The Sandbanks last year and could not fault it, it was the perfect location with great food and great service.

We given a voucher to use within a year for a complementary 3 course meal at the main restaurant, which we used a couple of weekends ago, what a disappointment.

The waiter staff could not have been any less helpful and appeared to all have just come out of school. No topping up of water glasses or asking how the meal was and it took an age to get anyones attention

I had a steak, medium to well done, which came out pretty much still beating and it was a generally poor all round.

People next to us were complaining about the length of time they had to wait to be served their food, I sent back my steak only for a new one to be given to me around 20 minutes later after my wife had eaten hers and no apologies etc.

It is a shame are last experience of The Sandbanks was like this after such a great wedding day, we were planning to come back with a large group shortly but this certainly won't be happening now, it will still be at Sandbanks but at another local restaurant there.

I'm certainly glad it was free as I'd never of paid!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Griff1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandbanks Brasserie at The Sandbanks also viewed

 

Been to Sandbanks Brasserie at The Sandbanks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing