We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint town with a beautiful natural harbour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poole Harbour

Poole Harbour
Book In Advance
More Info
US$12.70*
and up
Poole Harbour and Island Cruise from Poole
Ranked #3 of 59 things to do in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quaint town with a beautiful natural harbour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We took the train down to Poole in order to spend the day at Brownsea Island (see separate review) and found the town of Poole to be a quaint little gem. It was an easy and pretty walk from the station to the Quay through the old town. There is a big ASDA supermarket opposite the railway station which is ideal for picking up supplies for a picnic before heading to the Quay to catch the boat to Brownsea Island. I really enjoyed the laidback charm of the town. Some lovely old buildings and many pedestrianized bits made strolling around the town a pleasure before catching our boat. On our return from Brownsea Island we found a nice restaurant on the harbour for a fish and chip supper before catching the train home.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fiona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    803
    369
    73
    21
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Quaint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Love the fact it's so clean and you feel like your abroad , weather was great so watched the sun set, lovely place to sit and chill in the evening

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tracie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“If only I could afford a boat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Sunseekers boatyard made for jaw-dropping viewing. One day perhaps when we win the lottery. The boats offering tours to Brownsea Island or Swanage coastline lined the harbour area. There was plenty to choose from

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jackiehaggerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Love Poole harbour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Very nice relaxed place to sit back and have a beer and a nice meal . Plenty of bars and restaurants .
Also nice to take a boat trip around the harbour .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pick your Sunseeker.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We like Poole Quay but you need a fine day. Walk along the harbour and admire the luxury yachts, boat trips to Brownsea Island and beyond, fish+chips and ice creams. A typical English sea side port.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poole Harbour also viewed

 

Been to Poole Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing