We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and crowded” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandbanks Beach cafe

Sandbanks Beach cafe
Ranked #116 of 360 Restaurants in Poole
Price range: US$6 - US$14
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, View
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Expensive and crowded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We took a trip to the Sandbanks area on a wet May weekday to gawp at the mansions etc, three families with two children each, so a fair-sized group.

I knew we were in an affluent area but fish and chips at £12, get the second half-price was absurd! Price it right in the first place and it might have been more palatable.

My latte was distinctly average, everything was nothing great - it took ages to get a table. Cake left uncovered on tables for all and sundry to sneeze etc as they passed by wasn't great.

I'm sure it's OK for some people but for me, it was over-hyped and over-priced. Wouldn't rush back. Even the car park was expensive!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dave0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    87
    69
    44
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced and disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Have visited this café several times, usually to shelter from the cold wind! The location is great but there's little else to commend it. The food is overpriced. It appears to be under-staffed with long queues at busy times, poor choice of food. The cakes look nice but are left uncovered which is not good hygiene although to be fair the place looks clean. It has a monopoly here and would benefit from a bit of competition.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LordSnotty61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lunch time treat.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Away on holiday with our two children during half term. Looked appealing from the outside nice and busy. Food very over priced but tasted good. I can't eat wheat and asked if they do any wheat free meals ? The young man serving me said no and shrugged his shoulders. A lady from the kitchen must of heard me and said I could have a skinny burger (no bap) so I cautiously settled for that. Childrens meals overpriced and only offered cheese or tuna sandwiches. I must say though I felt very rushed and totally confused when ordering. The cakes looked lovely but not worth £3.95 !!!! A slice . Would I return .... No been there done that. Sorry.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank michelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Walked in, walked around, and walked out!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Funnily somebody below says there are less customers now! when we visited mid April it was heaving with people, mainly kids!! and we couldn't even get a table, hence the heading.
We've eaten here before and agree that its over priced for what you get, but there isn't much alternative if you're here anyway....
Agree it's a nice place to sit and watch from, (if you can get a table!) ;-)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stunning views stunning sandy beaches - lots of activities so peaceful food ok but not spectacular
we had a lot of fun watching the windsurfing and walking on the beaches. fun crossing on the ferry too

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deannajoy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandbanks Beach cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sandbanks Beach cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing