We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

The Guildhall Tavern
Ranked #3 of 369 Restaurants in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$39 - US$49
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We found this restaurant about 5 years ago while on holiday in Dorset and have returned most years since. We visited recently on 7th May and again on 10th May. On both occasions we had a fantastic meal, as always the service was warm and friendly. My wife and I had the twice baked soufflé which is the best I have ever tasted.My brother had the fruit de mer, and was given advice on what and how much of each fish to have which he found most helpful and was delighted with the resulting plateful. We booked to go for two meals as we knew would want to try more of the extensive menu and to make the most of our stay in Poole.
The only thing wrong with this fantastic restaurant is that it is too far away from our home, as we cant quite manage the 9 hour round trip from the Wirral in one day!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,127
    124
    36
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
solihull
Level 6 Contributor
856 reviews
528 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 460 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Good Atmosphere but Small Niggle”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We were visiting friends from Ringwood whilst we were staying in Poole and had reserved a table for Saturday 3rd May at The Guildhall tavern to which we arrived as requested at 5.45 (as I had asked for 6.00,but no problem)

The meals (tartlet, Moules a la Mariniere, Saint-Jacques Mornay, Monkfish Medaillons, Beef Bourguignon, Creme Brulee, Creme Caramel ) were as all reviewers seem to agree are excellent as is also the atmosphere in the restaurant and the attentive service.

The only small niggle that I have is that I noticed that the cutlery and plates were swept away the moment the ladies had put down the cutlery after the starters and main courses as if the staff were thinking of the next sitting,and I think £4.00 is overpriced for a double espresso (most restaurants charge approx £2.50-£3.00

No doubt if we are in the area again we will still visit The Guildhall tavern again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank busterSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great meal, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We returned to Guildhall Tavern having had a lovely meal here last year. We were not disappointed with a lovely choice of seafood and non-seafood specials and a la carte. Particularly the choice of locally sourced shell fish on offer is excellent. The restaurant has a great ambience, it is like stepping across the channel into France and we really enjoyed ourselves. The service was very good and the atmosphere lovely. We were recommended the house wine by friends which was very reasonable and without fault and could top it all off with a nice stroll along the quay in the evening.

We will be going back, maybe to one of the special "French evenings" which sound fun. Recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Learmonthwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My sons Birthday”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My son loves this restaurant he lives in Clifton Nr Bristol and when he can get down this way to visit us he always asks me to book at table. the food is very good and the staff are great nothing is to much they are very pleasant. Recommend a visit. Just about to book a table now funny enough

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 8carl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food and service”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

The service was very attentive; there was always someone there when needed, from ordering to topping up the water jug. However unlike other restaurants with this level of service the staff didn't appear to hover which led to a very comfortable and friendly atmosphere.

The food was plentiful and of a high standard as expected.

Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Guildhall Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Guildhall Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing