We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless!”

The Guildhall Tavern
Ranked #3 of 363 Restaurants in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$39 - US$49
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Faultless!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

One of the best meals I've had in ages, fortunately I messed up my timings & we arrived half an hour early - we sat outside with a delicious glass of wine whilst we waited & it took us that half an hour to choose! The food was just superb & I still can't get over the size of the scallops! Service was also impeccable but really friendly too & the wine was also delicious I only wish we lived closer!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scoot61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,091
    123
    34
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
265 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Perfect again”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here on Friday 8th, second sitting. Local oysters whilst browsing menus, scallops/snails for starters then Dover sole/skate wing for mains. Lovely service and great food. The #1 rating continues to be valid... Thank you!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TonyH_Bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“As good as we expected”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Sometimes you think the reviews on TA exaggerate. Not in the case of The Guildhall Tavern. The food was absolutely wonderful. The Turbot off the specials board was terrific. My wife had the goats' cheese and the rack of lamb. Both really good choices. The house wine was more than drinkable and the service was faultless. And a great buzz about the place. Pity parking is not easy. When the bill came it was sub £80 so good value.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellersboth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“One of the best !!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

First class meal, first class service, very friendly owners and a great atmosphere in a bright, airy, full restaurant. Not cheap but you get what you pay for. Will definitely return if in Poole.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Once again were lucky enough to have lunch in this lovely restaurant. Food was delicious - as always - & service second to none. Severine & Frederick were welcoming - as ever - anyone would think we were regular weekly diners - I wish! Would recommend it unreservedly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Avis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Guildhall Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Guildhall Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing