We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location & tastefull decour”
Review of The Old Tailor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Tailor
Ranked #8 of 19 Darlington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Booked direct with the hotel for 2 nights bed & breakfast. Website showed local parking at £5 per day and a breakfast room available to relax in. On arrival parking is £10 per day, no breakfast & no partial refund to reflect this & no breakfast room available to make our own unless we paid and extra £20 per night for usage due to "Health & Safety"!! This was a shame a great central location & lovely rooms. Had to buy our own milk though as not re stocked on the 2nd night and we used our friends coffee as they were also booked in for 1 night. Would recommend for central location, clean rooms & friendly staff but £50 per night plus £10 per night parking with no breakfast is a downside. Sorry!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hogeybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed here on my own for a course I was attending . The B&B was closed on a Sunday night due to a family christening BUT the owners Mum arranged to meet me to let me stay that night. Very comfortable place I will definitely be back. Thank you so much it's great to be able to go somewhere in a different town were we feel safe. :)

Room Tip: I loved the room at the top of the stairs at the front of the property only because I'm nest. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jomark6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Went to visit friends in Darlington and wanted somewhere on a budget, so used LateRooms to find accommodation. Stayed at The Old Tailor, the room was at the top of a steep flight of stairs, and was very well presented with a good modern 'on suite bathroom'. The only problem was that it was very warm and muggy so we had to have the windows open. Being a Friday night and the middle of Darlington, we had a balcony for the whole nights performance of the local drunks, boy racers and assorted cat fights. So sleep was disturbed regularly in an otherwise comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve_M2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Very pleasantly surprised with the room it had all you needed for an overnight stay... Immaculately clean comfy bed... Bright white soft towels...mirror near socket with a chair to dry my hair (an oversight often found, even in some 5* hotels). Only criticism was they had omitted to replenish the loo roll!!

I would say well worth the money thank you xxx

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillkeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We recently stayed at this B&B to attend a wedding.The hotel is very central to the centre of Darlington . I found it difficult to locate the actual hotel as it consists of a plain white door with a small sign above it next to the sewing shop.We checked in via the sewing shop and were shown to our rooms.We were allocated a room at the front of the hotel . The rooms are light and bright with a TV and tea and coffee making facilities .Breakfast is Continental and was suprisingly good ,but if you want a cooked breakfast there are plenty of options close by.One of the restaurants opposite was offering a 12 item breakfast for £4.75!

There is parking available for one car which is chargeable at £7.00 per day , something the owners neglected to say when I booked the space,depending on the time of your arrival it is probably best to go into the car park around the corner as it is only £1.00 per day on a Sunday .
The hotel also doesn't accept credit or debit cards which meant we had go to the Cash Machine to pay for the hotel .

The room we stayed in was extremely noisy in the evening until about 2.00 in the morning so I would recommend requesting a room at the back.One other small niggle was that the pumps that operate the showers are all very noisy when operated .

For location and cleanliness if was good value particuarly as it was the weekend of the Great North Run.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashc4918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I stayed here a number of times with work and thoroughly recommend it.

The rooms were large, nicely decorated and clean. The bed was comfy and the shower is excellent! Service from the owners was also very good and the breakfast was tasty and simple.

The only negative is some noise outside as it is very central in Darlington - this is minimal however.

Also, note that when paying for the room it will show up as Singer Sewing shop rather than the old Tailor B&B - I had some explaining to do when I had to justify my work expenses!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great - however, try and get the rooms towards the back of B&B - less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Stopped there for a romantic weekend, great location as we travelled by train and with a taxi rank outside it meant getting back to the station with my wifes shopping wasn't a problem. Loads of choice locally for breakfast while out sightseeing (shopping). Already booked for a stay during the summer.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Custardboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darlington hotels
4.4 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
3.7 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#2 of 2 in Coatham Mundeville
834 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 22 in Darlington
904 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
0.1 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Tailor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Tailor

Address: 96A Bondgate | Above the Sewing Machine Shop, Darlington DL3 7JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Darlington
Price Range: £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Tailor 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Double rooms with en-suite; great location in town center. Building is a old converted tailor's shop that was commissioned to make uniforms in the beginning of the British passenger railways. Now converted oppressing luxury room only accommodation in the very centre of town, giving you the freedom to sample our many restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Old Tailor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Tailor Darlington, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing