We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hugely hospitable!”
Review of The Old Tailor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Tailor
Ranked #8 of 19 Darlington B&B and Inns
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hugely hospitable!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Lovely modern decor with a cosy feel.The room which was spotless.Very convenient fwith a short walk to all the restaurants and other amenities in the old town. About 10 minute walk from the station right past a supermarket so you can stock up with any of those room essentials.
The host and hostess went that extra mile for us when they knew we were there prior to the Great North Run. They were on the doorstep first thing to take us to the station meaning what would have gone on a taxi fare went in the charity pot and we didn't need to worry about booking cabs early.
Great North Eastern hospitality and I would not hesitate in recommending it.

Room Tip: Maybe a room at the back might prevent any disturbance from the odd late night wanderer if you like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemma452013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    12
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
17
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner stopped here very last minute booking 45 minutes before we arrived. The room was fabulous, it was decorated lovely, very modern and very comfortable. WiFi was available which was great. Would definatley recommend to friends and family! Didn't have to pay for parking as we arrived at 7pm and I was up for work the next day at 7.30am.
Only thing to comment was that there was no hand wash to wash our hands after going to the loo, and only one set of towels.
Thank you for a very comfy room!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xsarahdarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Booked direct with the hotel for 2 nights bed & breakfast. Website showed local parking at £5 per day and a breakfast room available to relax in. On arrival parking is £10 per day, no breakfast & no partial refund to reflect this & no breakfast room available to make our own unless we paid and extra £20 per night for usage due to "Health & Safety"!! This was a shame a great central location & lovely rooms. Had to buy our own milk though as not re stocked on the 2nd night and we used our friends coffee as they were also booked in for 1 night. Would recommend for central location, clean rooms & friendly staff but £50 per night plus £10 per night parking with no breakfast is a downside. Sorry!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hogeybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlisle
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed here on my own for a course I was attending . The B&B was closed on a Sunday night due to a family christening BUT the owners Mum arranged to meet me to let me stay that night. Very comfortable place I will definitely be back. Thank you so much it's great to be able to go somewhere in a different town were we feel safe. :)

Room Tip: I loved the room at the top of the stairs at the front of the property only because I'm nest. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jomark6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Went to visit friends in Darlington and wanted somewhere on a budget, so used LateRooms to find accommodation. Stayed at The Old Tailor, the room was at the top of a steep flight of stairs, and was very well presented with a good modern 'on suite bathroom'. The only problem was that it was very warm and muggy so we had to have the windows open. Being a Friday night and the middle of Darlington, we had a balcony for the whole nights performance of the local drunks, boy racers and assorted cat fights. So sleep was disturbed regularly in an otherwise comfortable bed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_M2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Very pleasantly surprised with the room it had all you needed for an overnight stay... Immaculately clean comfy bed... Bright white soft towels...mirror near socket with a chair to dry my hair (an oversight often found, even in some 5* hotels). Only criticism was they had omitted to replenish the loo roll!!

I would say well worth the money thank you xxx

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillkeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We recently stayed at this B&B to attend a wedding.The hotel is very central to the centre of Darlington . I found it difficult to locate the actual hotel as it consists of a plain white door with a small sign above it next to the sewing shop.We checked in via the sewing shop and were shown to our rooms.We were allocated a room at the front of the hotel . The rooms are light and bright with a TV and tea and coffee making facilities .Breakfast is Continental and was suprisingly good ,but if you want a cooked breakfast there are plenty of options close by.One of the restaurants opposite was offering a 12 item breakfast for £4.75!

There is parking available for one car which is chargeable at £7.00 per day , something the owners neglected to say when I booked the space,depending on the time of your arrival it is probably best to go into the car park around the corner as it is only £1.00 per day on a Sunday .
The hotel also doesn't accept credit or debit cards which meant we had go to the Cash Machine to pay for the hotel .

The room we stayed in was extremely noisy in the evening until about 2.00 in the morning so I would recommend requesting a room at the back.One other small niggle was that the pumps that operate the showers are all very noisy when operated .

For location and cleanliness if was good value particuarly as it was the weekend of the Great North Run.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashc4918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darlington hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
1.0 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
813 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
#4 of 21 in Darlington
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
0.2 mi away
Houndgate Townhouse
Houndgate Townhouse
#10 of 21 in Darlington
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Tailor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Tailor

Property: The Old Tailor
Address: 96A Bondgate | Above the Sewing Machine Shop, Darlington DL3 7JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Tailor 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Double rooms with en-suite; great location in town center. Building is a old converted tailor's shop that was commissioned to make uniforms in the beginning of the British passenger railways. Now converted oppressing luxury room only accommodation in the very centre of town, giving you the freedom to sample our many restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Old Tailor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Tailor Darlington, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing