We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food I've ever eaten”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darlington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Raby Hunt Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 19 Darlington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This was a wonderful experience from start to finish.
As a vegetarian, I didn't get a choice and was simply given the one veggie option for each course but the food was so outstanding that I was more than happy to have each course as it presented to me.
I would love to have the opportunity to return here, and have recommended it to many people.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank 846Lucy_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed for one night and ate the taster menu. Every course was outstanding, truly seasonal, seriously inventive and downright delicious. Friendly and skilled service, a good welcome and a nice room. Wine list is fairly priced and with some interesting choices, particularly for red, and all-in was pretty good value for this quality. A strong 1*, and we will be back as soon as we can next find a reason to be in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlanandRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Loved the champagne bar and the appetisers which were imaginative and delicious.
We chose the lunch menu and had a super meal with local produce, beautifully served and presented. A very knowledgeable restaurant manager who clearly had a passion for the food and accompanying drinks.
My companion was a Head Chef who has rather exacting standards but who was delighted with the quality, tastes and presentation.
A lovely atmosphere and surroundings complimented the wonderful food. Will definitely try the taster menu on the next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I've been wanting to try the Raby Hunt for a while but could never get booked when phoning up a few days in advance so we booked a while ago and boy was it worth it! Great welcome, good selection of unusual non alcoholic drinks & a good wine list. Food was FANTASTIC - well presented and really really tasty - lots of mmmms and ooohhhs. Front of house team were knowledgable & friendly. Good atmosphere as the place was packed (not suprisingly) - lights could be dimmed a little though? In summary great food and not too expensive - probably one of the best restaurants in the area - will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

We came here for lunch after reading about having a Michelin star. We were not disappointed.

Very high quality delicious tasting food.

We both had the tasting menu and tried a number of small, tasty dishes.

The price wasn't too bad either.

We'll defo be back. A very nice treat!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank moogle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

4 of us went for a significant birthday. We opted for the tasting menu, which was scrumptious,and met with a warm welcome and excellent advice regarding the wine cellar. The restaurant is relatively small and has a cosy' intimate feel.

Each course was accompanied by a short description and was beautifully presented. The food itself was delightful, the favourite amongst the group being the pressed belly of lamb. However each od the tasting courses was excellent and was either something new or had a twist to an established dish; Dover sole, Raby venison, scallops ...all delicious.

The Raby Hunt has a Michelin star but you could pay far more and get a lot worse. Highly recommended

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Simonrt37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Inn, choosing the tasting menu with matching wines and to ensure we had a relaxed evening, stayed the night too. It was just one of those evenings when everything went right - gorgeous food, friendly, knowledgeable staff and enough other diners to make it buzzy but not over-crowded. Our succession of small dishes were great: lamb, pigeon, venison (especially wonderful) plus scallop and sole - and two puds. It was well worth having the acompanying wines - introduced us to some new combinations. The upstairs accommodation is warm, comfortable and stylish - very good shower with bath too for those who prefer it. Its great to have this restaurant with rooms in our area and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MajaTyneside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darlington hotels
7.8 mi away
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
#5 of 22 in Darlington
421 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
7.5 mi away
Clow Beck House
Clow Beck House
#7 of 22 in Darlington
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
8.2 mi away
Premier Inn Darlington East (Morton Park) Hotel
5.6 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#2 of 2 in Coatham Mundeville
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raby Hunt Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raby Hunt Inn & Restaurant

Address: Summerhouse Nr. Darlington, Darlington DL2 3UD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Darlington
Price Range: £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raby Hunt Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Raby Hunt Inn & Restaurant Darlington, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing