We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the Job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harrowgate Hill Lodge
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Just the Job”
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Stayed here for a night in December on a business trip. I had a very good sized room which was clean with a comfortable bed and a decent bathroom. The TV was good and the room had free wifi.

Breakfast was continental with just cereal, tea and toast.

There was plenty of car parking and next door was a chain pub that served bog standard but adequate food.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPCHickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    30
    34
    15
    31
See reviews for
26
39
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
317 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

If your lucking for luxury look elsewhere. The closest I got to describing it was a run down travel lodge. But for £40 a room what can you expect. It was clean and quiet. Staff seem friendly. Would I recommend - probably not, would I stay again if nothing else was available on a budget I would.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhooseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darlington hotels

stoke on trent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

The worst place we have ever stopped! paper thin walls,outdated decor,filthy bed and bathroom. do ya self a favour pitch a tent on the car park it would be more luxurious!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I'm an ad-hoc student in Darlington, and this was (by far) the cheapest hotel I found. For the price I paid I am pleased and I think some of the reviews on here are a bit harsh. I have a double room, which is big and has TV, dvd, kettle, 2 mirrors a bath and shower plus a separate armchair and work table. It is in a good location for Darlington & Middlesbrough. There is a pub/restaurant next door; there are supermarkets close by and a cinema and gym/pool in Darlington. The decor is by no means chic or contemporary but the bed is ok, the basics are there and the staff are friendly. The coffee and toast on a morning is appreciated. It is clean but dated. I've booked again for next time I'm here.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Not quite sure what everyone's problem is with this hotel if I'm honest... what do you expect for £40/night?
Check-in was painless, the room was dated but cosy, nice old wooden chest of drawers added character to the room. Bathroom was a strange brown colour (not dirty) but everything worked as it should, warm (hot!) water etc. bed and sheets were useable, enabling me to get a good night's sleep.
All in all, for 40 quid per night, it does exactly what it says on the tin.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevyD77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

first stayed here way back in 2005,when it was called the white horse hotel,the hotel was a little dated but had quite a cozy little charm to it.it was clean,quiet with a great little bar downstairs that served some of the best 'pub grub' ive eaten and some great local real ales, not to forget the staff who where genuinely friendly... Oct 2011- what on earth has happened? the bar is now a chain pub selling microwave meals and is totaly seperate from the 'hotel',The hotel hasnt changed at all decore wise(even though the staff where talking of a massive refurb on my last stay),on checking in- the guy on the desk looked like he hadnt slept or eaten for about a month.got asked for my credit card details (which i didnt had over) even though i was paying cash!? so got checked in room 306 top floor(great nice and quiet) only to be told ''sorry sir the lifts out of order'' no offer of help with my bags.The room- well seriously it hasnt changed since 2005 except it seems to have been neglected.Grubby unvacuumed carpet,exactly the same duvet cover, tiny portable tv that didnt have a remote or seem to work,no internet connection,dust in the draws,didnt dare to touch the tea making facilities.The bathroom- the suite is a tabacco stained whitish colour,with mould on the tiles and ceiling around the bath and dirty shower head.Next morning i was still in my room when housekeepeing arrived(was ready to check out but thought id hang back a few mins),the blonde women give the room a very quick once over with,(wait for it) a towel from the bathroom!! All in all ive stayed in better hostels while backpacking in the far east than this place.

Room Tip: avoid at all costs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aljazeera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

This is, without question, the most disgusting place we have ever stayed. Despite being a non-smoking room it stank of a mixture of cigarettes and port-a-loos and it was so dirty - as an example we found a daddy long legs squashed in the middle of the wall which housekeeping had obviously not felt the need to remove, there was cigarette ash on the windowsill and it didn't look like it had been decorated for about 20 years. It felt dirty and disgusting. The beds were uncomfortable and the smell of urine close to the floor (i.e. when lying in bed) was completely overpowering. We did complain to reception but were told they were full so could not offer us another room, and as it was the night before the Great North Run there were no other real options for us so we had to grin and bear it - but we would never ever return here - not if you paid us!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teamsmugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darlington hotels
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
#4 of 21 in Darlington
365 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#13 of 21 in Darlington
99 reviews
5.5 mi away
St George Hotel
St George Hotel
#12 of 21 in Darlington
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
789 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
763 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrowgate Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrowgate Hill Lodge

Property: Harrowgate Hill Lodge
Address: Harrowgate Hill, Darlington DL1 3AD, England (Formerly White Horse Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Harrowgate Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrowgate Hill Hotel Darlington
Harrowgate Hill Lodge Darlington, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing