We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would never visit again horrible rude staff and discusting room with horrible beds.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harrowgate Hill Lodge
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would never visit again horrible rude staff and discusting room with horrible beds.”
Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

The whole experience was a nightmare from the minute we walked in. Booked a double room for me and my girlfriend they had it down as a twin as there was an error on the website, the hotel receptionist was completely rude, uninterested and had no idea how to check the system. Further more despite the hotel having double rooms available she refused to change the booking to double or refund money, first she tried to charge us extra when it was the same cost on the site anyway for a twin or double, then said she never had the authority to change rooms despite being the only member of staff at the hotel at the time. We thought we would pull beds together the headboards we screwed into the wall so couldn't, ended up in separate beds. Shower and bath were covered in mold, materess's were the worst ever with rock hard springs digging into us. Walls paper thin you can hear other guests talking. Room phone was pointless as the wire had been cut off. The fire alarm went off waking us up because smoke alarm's are outside bathrooms so when another guest opened bathroom door steam set it off. To top it off the cleaner walked into the room at 9am whilst we were having an intimate moment.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beavis25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    30
    34
    15
    31
See reviews for
25
38
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Worth £20 per night, continental breakfast was cornflakes , toast , orange or apple juice!! Definitely not continental.......!
On arrival had to ask for towels.... And a loo roll..... The small kettle to make a brew .... I had to stand and hold it onto the connection for it to boil!
The pillows were like rolled up socks in a pillow case!
The bed side lamp was dented and wonky!
The fire alarm system went off every morning because of steam from the bathroom!! As the extractor fan was rubbish .....
We asked for a discount from the £42.95 for the rest of the week.... And got it reduced to £35! ! Still been robbed!

We are heading back to Darlington in November.... Cancelled that week and already booked the travel lodge! Opens 1st nov 2012

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparklingsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darlington hotels

driffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Warning, stay away from this hotel! Terrible place, just a few points, vomit from previous guest still dried on toilet, uncomfortable bed, a shower which was so weak it was pointless and 'continental breakfast' which is basically cornflakes and toast!! How they have the audacity to charge what they do is beyond me. You have been warned!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fau1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012 via mobile

OMG!!!! You really really need to avoid staying here. Dirty rooms, dirty beds, dirty bathroom and so outdated! There really isn't any good points in this review. Extremely over priced. The hotel in my opinion should be closed down. STAY AWAY .........

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tye80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

1st room I got the key for the beds were not even made up and had huge pile of dirty washing in one corner. Next room not too bad but my friends room smelt damp and stale with 2 beds with what can only be described as 80's non matching worn faded duvets teemed with the crazy curtain it was like student digs beds were so thin you could feel the springs. Towel in my room as stained so up it in the floor to be changed, got out of decrepit shower and reached for new towel to find they had just picked it off the floor and hung it back up, gross,Bedside light broken, toilet roll holder broken..Duvet was clean but had rust stains on so still felt dirty. No channel bbc1 or bbc2. Breakfast is,,, orange, apple juice, tea , coffee, toast, cornflakes, that's it. The whole décor of this place is vile with tea towels hung over the bannisters to dry! Needs to be raised to the ground and re built.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joyful02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradford
Level Contributor
251 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

After reading a lot of the reviews on here I didn't expect much. However, I rang up the day before we stopped requesting an early check-in due to being on motorcycles. Dave, on reception, said that would be no problem and when we arrived it wasn't. We checked straight into our rooms which were spotless and spacious with reasonably good and ample furniture.

Ok, the bathroom requires a new bath and some attention, but otherwise for the money it was all hunky dory.

I had a very good night's sleep in a very comfy bed and woke refreshed for breakfast. Cornflakes, fruit juice, toast, tea and coffee were all served by a very pleasant and efficient lady in a light and airy room.

We checked out very quickly with the assistance of another very friendly member of staff.

At £42.95 for the room it was very good value. Wouldn't hesitate to stop here again.

The lodge also has a very large car park and a "sissling" pub next door.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waj_the_badge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The best thing about this place was the friendly staff.Our room was dated but clean on first examination but on closer inspection i found the showerhead in the bathroom was covered in black mildew and obviously hadn't been cleaned for a while.This was rectified when mentioned to the really friendly chap on reception.Tea and coffee making items were fine but the mat under them should be thrown out!Breakfast is described as full continental but is actually just cornflakes(no other choice of cereal),toast fruit juice and tea/coffee.The breakfast room was bright and clean and the staff were lovely.The worst thing about our stay was the bed.The mattress was so thin that i could feel the boards underneath whenever i turned over so didn't get much sleep.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missdaisy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darlington hotels
5.4 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#13 of 21 in Darlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
2.9 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
St George Hotel
St George Hotel
#12 of 21 in Darlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Darlington East (Morton Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrowgate Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrowgate Hill Lodge

Property: Harrowgate Hill Lodge
Address: Harrowgate Hill, Darlington DL1 3AD, England (Formerly White Horse Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Harrowgate Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrowgate Hill Hotel Darlington
Harrowgate Hill Lodge Darlington, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing