We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vile place which we were told is maybe due for closure?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harrowgate Hill Lodge
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Worn out beds. Tatty rooms. Poorly maintained accommodation and the property as a whole. Disillusioned but on the whole, friendly, staff.
Good prices but then stale bread is cheap too.
This hotel needs major investment as so many other people have already said.
It is a giveaway that management never reply to all the poor reviews. They know they could not possibly support the state of this place.
We were woken 8-10 times and had a dreadful night. Before a big day out in Newcastle which was ruined as we were both shattered.
JUST FIND SOMEWHERE ELSE, a cheap motel would be better.
We didn't even stay long enough for breakfast and were gone by 5am.

Room Tip: Get a cheap motel or if you can afford it a nice hotel somewhere instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveller3333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here regularly on business over the last 6 years or so. The staff are very curtious and helpful
Reception decor is a bit tired but clean as are the rooms.
Some of the beds have seen better days and the bathrooms need modernising. Towels are always clean but can be thread bear at times.
There always seems to be single mothers with kids in the hotel.
The hotel has no eating facilities but there is a not to bad pub sizzler attached.
Overall. It serves a function but isn't what you would class as luxury my Amy means.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

To be positive, the rooms are quite spacious and the location is good. However those are the only good points. The hotel is in need of significant investment to freshen up the appearance and to replace aged & worn out furnishings.
There is no excuse for providing towels that are badly frayed and full of holes, nor for having ceiling panels missing in public areas.
The service at breakfast was appalling, no glasses available for orange juice, the cereal dispenser was left empty for several minutes with no attempt to replenish either been made until it was requested. even worse was the fact that the staff serving tea or coffee & toast to guests whilst serving some guests almost before they sat down, totally ignored others, for many minutes, until requested & then only grudgingly supplied a drink and toast.
This site has the potential to be a successful business, but under the current management, & with the current staff, the business is on a downwards spiral and fails to justify the price paid.
I wouldn't stay here again unless there was evidence of a significant refurbishment & improvement in service levels.

Room Tip: Unless there is evidence of significant improvement in service and refurbishment I'd choose anot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PDPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

stayed at harrogate lodge,rooms were a good size,clean & warm despite the snow /bad weather basic but done the job.stayed for three nights,apart from draws fallen to bits & carpet damaged ,needs attention breakfast ok.good food in pub nxt door .

Room Tip: ask for room, at car park side more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snoozymoozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Having stayed at the Harrowgate Hill Lodge a few times in the last 12 months it saddens me to read all the poor reviews.
Every stay we have had has been fantastic and we will continue to use the hotel every time we venture down to Darlington.
At £42.50 you cannot go wrong plus that comes with a complimentary continental breakfast served by a very pleasant lady.
The White Horse Pub is my fav type of food and we eat in there every time we stay.
Sorry to all the bad reviews but I WILL stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stripesWestLothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Having seen some of the reviews earlier I journeyed here with some trepidation and found it to be better than feared.It is located next door to the White Horse Pub but we did not find any issues with this. The location is certainly easy to find on one of the main access roads from the A1M. The road noise was not noticeable either and I am quite a light sleeper so would notice if it was the case. Good size car park with good access to the reception. The staff were friendly and helpful on one night we returned very late and the night receptionist was waiting with the door open for us as it was raining. The room was a little basic and the TV quite small but adequate. A large chest of drawers was certainly more than we needed for our things. my wife found the bed a little unforgiving but I did not have a problem with its firmness. Breakfast was basic tea or coffee, orange juice, corn flakes and toast but we were offered extra helpings of all if required. At this price I don't expect "The Ritz" and what I got was good value for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m50lws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stayed last Saturday evening. Room clean and tidy, well equipped with tea and coffee. also plenty of towels and shower gels.

Friendly staff and breakfast more than satisfactory within the description the hotel gives. There was no portion control on the fruit juice, cereals and toast on offer.

I have no hesitation in recommending based upon my experience and if in this area and looking for value for money accommodation I would not hesitate to stay again.

Based upon my experience I really wonder what some of the negative views posted on here are really about!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greygreen1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darlington hotels
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
#4 of 21 in Darlington
407 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#15 of 21 in Darlington
103 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
St George Hotel
St George Hotel
#12 of 21 in Darlington
277 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
3.9 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrowgate Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrowgate Hill Lodge

Address: Harrowgate Hill, Darlington DL1 3AD, England (Formerly White Horse Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Price Range: £28 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and LateRooms so you can book your Harrowgate Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrowgate Hill Hotel Darlington
Harrowgate Hill Lodge Darlington, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing