We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable weekend break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackwell Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable weekend break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Blackwell Grange for the weekend with her sister and husband.
The hotel is fantastically situated in its own grounds which we still have not fully explored and my wife and I have stayed here before.
The rooms and all the hotel were very clean and well decorated.
The quality of meals was excellent and the staff were really great.
The hotel is well situated for local attractions Darlington town centre is a very short bus ride away.
Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    253
    114
    72
    28
See reviews for
102
401
8
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I purchased a Groupon voucher, and managed to secure a booking with the Blackwell Grange Hotel without any problems. The booking team were very polite and helpful which is not always the case when you are using Groupon. We were told that there was a wedding function booked for that date and that the hotel would be busy, the hotel was busy when we arrived but there were no problems during our stay. The hotel has lots of character, the room we were given was delightful, beautifully decorated, full of charm and although it was just off the main staircase we were not bothered by any noise at all. The staff were all polite, friendly and helpful, the reception staff, the restaurant staff and bar staff couldn't do enough to make our stay here special. The voucher included a two course evening meal, and breakfast, the food was gorgeous and the restaurant had a lovely atmosphere. I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again and it was excellent value for money. I nearly forgot to mention the beautiful gardens, which were a delight to sit in on a lovely sunny Saturday afternoon for pre dinner drinks.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 243. It was gorgeous, corner room large, bright and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooky_678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

First of all I have to say that the hotel is set in very nice grounds in a good location and feels very tranquil when walking around. Like many other reviewers have noted I think this hotel would be much better with a little investment all round. The one thing that stood out for me was how bad the bed was, I have stayed in a lot of hotels and can honestly say this was the worst bed I have slept in - it was like sleeping on plywood. I thought I was maybe just unlucky but my friend who stayed in the room next door reported exactly the same thing in the morning. If the management could sort new beds and refresh the interior then I would definitely return again, but at the moment I would not return or recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mac10biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night, pleasant friendly staff, clean and quiet room with great surroundings. Will definitely stay here again and next time make use of the leisure facilities. The only criticism is the £10 each charge for breakfast buffet, at least serve tea coffee and toast to the table for this price.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mikeevanssg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Fantastic, the hotel is amazing, great service and cracking rooms. Local attractions close by and set in beautiful grounds. Well worth a visit. Would recommend to anyone looking for a quick weekend away.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackwell79, General Manager at Blackwell Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Eddy Thank you for taking the time to write your great review on your recent stay at Blackwell Grange Hotel. I am so pleased you found the Hotel amazing, great service and good rooms.I agree it is close to many local attractions and set in beautiful grounds. I do hope you visit us again in the near future for a nice relaxing weekend and i look forward to welcoming you back to Blackwell Grange Hotel. Kind Regards Dawn Raine General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We decided to get married at Blackwell Grange Hotel Darlington, and what a decision it was.
Couldn't have asked for a better place, the staff were lovely, the foods was amazing and the hotel rooms were spotless, all the staff are friendly and just made you feel at home. Couldn't have asked for a better place to get married.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackwell79, General Manager at Blackwell Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Glen & Marina Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent wedding celebrations held at Blackwell Grange Hotel. I am so pleased you choose us to host your wedding reception and that you found the staff lovely, food amazing, room spotless. I will pass on your feedback to the team about how friendly they were and made you feel so much at home. I am glad you could not have asked for a better place to hold you wedding reception. Kind Regards Dawn Raine General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOMERSET
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Excellent position at head of long tree lined drive. Just of A66 and less than a mile into Darlington.

Renovated public rooms are excellent. Restaurant light and airy. Very good breakfast and £15 for 2 course diner is also good value.

Bedrooms - I believe these vary according to position in the hotel and grading. I can only offer advice re North Wing. Even nos eg 310,312,314,316 etc overlook the rear of the hotel including the kitchen so there was considerable noise from the extractor fans and the rubbish bins. If you stay in the North Wing make sure you have the odd no rooms! Bedrooms were adequate and clean.

Leisure Facilities. Complimentary towels, shower gel, hairdryer etc. Pool rather small for size of hotel.

Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient.

This is essentially a good hotel offering value for money. My only advice would be to be look at the room you are offered and if it is not to your liking ask reception if anything better is available.

Room Tip: North Wing - odd number rooms will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SUE SOMERSET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darlington
0.6 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel and Spa - Darlington
1.0 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
6.7 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwell Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwell Grange Hotel

Property: Blackwell Grange Hotel
Address: Darlington, Darlington DL3 8QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackwell Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing Georgian Country Mansion, dating from 1700, with modern extension. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Blackwell Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackwell Grange Darlington
Hotel Blackwell Grange
Blackwell Grange Hotel Darlington, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing