We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely traditional hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“lovely traditional hotel”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very pleasant stay staff very helpful food very nice breakfast excellent the hotel feels cosy retains a lot of tradition character. Enjoyed our stay and will return recommend to everyone nothing flash just very clean friendly and good food.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterkYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    265
    121
    74
    31
See reviews for
105
424
9
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Booked a one night stay,for my girlfriend and I .staff were excellent,very friendly and helpful.food in the restaurant was first class too.
Well within walking distance into Darlington .
Hotel has a lot of charm.had a lovely stay , and look forward to a return visit hopefully soon.
Would recommend .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Me and my partener stayed here overnight there was a lovly welcoming atmosphere. The room was clean and the food was out of this world also the serving staff were first class will definatly be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Lovely country house hotel in parkland, very close to Darlington. Feels wonderfully secluded, elegant and traditional. Is beginning a much needed program of redecoration which will make it a great place for a romantic break or special occasion. But until this is finished it feels a little run down and shabby in some areas. Tip - Ask for 1st floor cottages which are bright and spacious with their own courtyard and access

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkerp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackwell79, General Manager at Blackwell Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Mr Walker Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay at Blackwell Grange Hotel. Blackwell Grange Hotel is a country house hotel in lovely secluded grounds and is an elegant traditional Hotel with many original features. We have recently started some refurbishment works that includes redecoration of all bedrooms and much needed corridor carpets. Further major refurbishment works will take place next year. I am glad you liked our Cottage rooms which offer their own courtyard access, private parking, they offer great privacy with all the benefits of the Hotel and found your stay to offer great value. I do hope you return in the near future. Kind Regards Dawn Raine General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business, was put into the run down cottages, no hot water for shower, no atmosphere in main building and totally isolated, service across the board was very poor and slow. Very disappointing.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tina_Vannet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackwell79, General Manager at Blackwell Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Tina Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am disappointed with your comments about the run down cottages. We have recently started some redecoration and 10 of the 11 rooms in the Cottage have been repainted. We are also looking at replacing carpets in the Cottage rooms over the next 6 months. Usually feedback is very good about these rooms, guests like the privacy of the cottage complex but also having the benefit of all Hotel facilities. I am sorry that during your stay you have found the service very poor and slow and were disappointed overall with your stay. I am not aware of any water pressure issues in the cottage and haven't had any reported. If you have a spare 5 minutes would you give me a call to discuss your feedback further so i can fully investigate as it is only through guest feedback that we can continually monitor, maintain and improve standards of guest care. Kind Regards Dawn Raine General Manager 01325 509903
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed here after with a deal, the room was clean and spacious the bed was a little lumpy but still slept ok the hotel is in the process of being updated while we was there new carpets were being laid, so maybe the beds will be replaced. We ate in the hotel first night and whilst not much choice it was nicely cooked and presented well, staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good with choice of continental or cooked , we used the swimming pool and although small it was clean and tidy. For money paid it was a very good value for money couple of days.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christineLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackwell79, General Manager at Blackwell Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Christine Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay at Blackwell Grange Hotel. I am glad you found your room spacious, and clean and I am sorry that you found the bed a little lumpy. We have had a couple of comments about the odd bed being lumpy so I am arranging for a bed survey to see if any need replacing. We are currently reviewing our menus so will look at offering more choice. I am pleased you found the food nicely cooked and presented and the staff very friendly and helpful I will pass your feedback onto the team who will be delighted. Breakfast does offer a good choice with continental or full English available. The leisure facilities are only small but include all facilities including a hairdresser and beauty room. I am glad for the money you paid you found your stay very good value for money. We do strive to offer very good value for money with friendly and helpful staff. I do hope you visit us again for another stay and I look forward to welcoming you for a return visit. Kind Regards Dawn Raine General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was our second visit to England this year and we were more than happy with the service and quality we received. The hotel itself is situated in lovely grounds - the decor is somewhat dated, but our room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our meal in the restaurant and have to commend the pleasant staff - everyone was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the original building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darlington
0.7 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
1.0 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
4.6 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,415 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
6.7 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwell Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwell Grange Hotel

Property: Blackwell Grange Hotel
Address: Darlington, Darlington DL3 8QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackwell Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing Georgian Country Mansion, dating from 1700, with modern extension. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blackwell Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackwell Grange Darlington
Hotel Blackwell Grange
Blackwell Grange Hotel Darlington, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing