We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for our Anniversary and had an excellent time. We had our evening meal there and my vegetarian choice was very tasty as was my partners prawn starter and the belly pork for main course. A good choice of food was available at breakfast and we took our coffee out into the gardens which was a very pleasant way to finish off our stay. We found all the staff we had dealings with to be helpful and eager to please. Our bedroom was clean and comfortable though maybe in need of a little updating and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JacquiDurham_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

800 - 806 of 879 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

My partner and i got married at Blackwell Grange hotel on 26th July 2014. When we arranged the wedding the coordinators were always at hand to help and nothing was to much for them. They were very friendly, polite, profressional and helpful. I changed my table plan and names on cards 3 times in the week leading up to the wedding and the coordinator was not bothered and did this with no hesitation or fuss. Because the weather was glorious we got married outside, the view was beautiful, it was like out of a fairytail. It looked stunning. This was also a last minute decision and staff were happy to go along with our choice.
The grounds are lovely to have photos and also inside with the big stair cases and balcony. I can honestly say we picked the right hotel to get married in. When we wnet in to have our wedding breakfat the room was amazing and the food went with that. Guests especially loved the seabass and pork. The room was then set up for the night reception and again it was stunning. It was so perfect i want to go back in time and relive my wedding and not change a thing! The bridal suite is lovely and my partner especially loved the jacuzzi bath (he made a right mess of the floor water was everywhere!) I would reccomend this hotel to have any wedding in as the staff were brilliant! I want to say a special and big thank you to our wedding coordinators Lyndsay and Debbie you were both fantastic!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Blood on bedding which was days old fungi growing in toilet, stains in bath making it unusable, inedible food either undercooked or floating in grease, meal left untouched no response to 2 complaints.

Room Tip: Buy a tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Visited Blackwell Grange, upgraded to an executive room, only £20.00, beautiful view over the grounds. Staff were very pleasant and helpful although maybe 1 or 2 could have had a little more training. Had a meal in the restaurant, which was first class. A hidden gem which I would go back too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jomo50blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very pleasant stay staff very helpful food very nice breakfast excellent the hotel feels cosy retains a lot of tradition character. Enjoyed our stay and will return recommend to everyone nothing flash just very clean friendly and good food.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peterkYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Booked a one night stay,for my girlfriend and I .staff were excellent,very friendly and helpful.food in the restaurant was first class too.
Well within walking distance into Darlington .
Hotel has a lot of charm.had a lovely stay , and look forward to a return visit hopefully soon.
Would recommend .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Me and my partener stayed here overnight there was a lovly welcoming atmosphere. The room was clean and the food was out of this world also the serving staff were first class will definatly be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darlington hotels
4.6 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
814 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
2.6 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,636 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
#4 of 21 in Darlington
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwell Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwell Grange Hotel

Address: Darlington, Darlington DL3 8QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Price Range: £50 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackwell Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing Georgian Country Mansion, dating from 1700, with modern extension. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blackwell Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackwell Grange Darlington
Hotel Blackwell Grange
Blackwell Grange Hotel Darlington, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing