We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rest after a hectic week at work with friends wedding on the friday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Another excellent visit to Blackwell Grange on the visit we stayed in a room at the back of the hotel, even though there was a wedding it was nice and relaxing with no noise.. This time we had a upgraded room situated in the cottages which where very spacious with there own sitting room kept spotless with good views. Checking in was very quick and smooth and the staff extremely helpful. We had a 2 course meal included in the price that gave is plenty to choose from, Service was excellent and food good.
Next morning plenty to choose from for breakfast with many tastes catered for with either hot or cold selection.
Would definately recommend this hotel for a restful visit or to be used as a base for the many sights in the local area.

Room Tip: The cottages are a must if you can book them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

778 - 784 of 864 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was a last minute booking due to a late extension of my business trip and my usual hotel in the area being full. The room I was allocated was dated, scruffy and overpriced. On the positive side the staff were friendly and the bar food was good. The WiFi coverage was also very good. I was later advised that the room I was booked into one of the rooms waiting refurbishment so I can't comment if other rooms may be better. However I will not be re-booking despite regular trips to the area.

Room Tip: Check when room was refurbished, ask for a recent one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brightside66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Do NOT book this hotel if you are wanting a spa type stay...the pool is TINY (more than 3 people and the pool would be full...not an exaggeration) the changing rooms are old and smell/feel mouldy. The man that works in the leisure centre was really nice and helpful and really worked hard to keep it as clean as he could but it needs gutting! The bedroom was musty smelling and old fashioned, there were disgusting stains on the lampshade, the bathroom was tired and needed redoing. The whole hotel desperately needs revamping. Definitely wouldn't stay here again. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: We were put in the cottages, away from the main hotel. It was quiet but we were on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Elsol86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We bought a groupon deal to stay at this hotel for our anniversary. For what we paid it was a decent stay, but I would not have wanted to pay full price.
We paid extra to upgrade our room and I'm glad we did. We were set in a courtyard across from the main hotel and it was lovely and peaceful. The room was nice and big with a seating area and tv. The bathroom was small but did what it needed to do. The rooms were nice and fairly clean (couple of rough hairs in bath).
One you start to look closer you can see it needs tlc, tie back hooks loose, holes that have been hastily filled in etc. Main gripe was bed was really hard!
Our deal had a 2 course evening meal included in it. There was a limited menu to choose from and you had to pay extra for side orders, inc veg to go with your meal! Saying that the food was lovely! The buffet breakfast included was also very good and had a great selection of hot and cold food.
We visited the leisure centre which had a small gym, sauna, small pool and hot tub. It was ok but in real need of modernisation, especially the changing rooms.
Overall we had a nice stay and would stay again, but only if we got a special deal again.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Kelly Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Our son and his partner had booked this hotel a couple of months ago and txt us that it was the sort of hotel we would like..... they weren't wrong.
On arrival you navigate a long drive up to the main ( impressive ) building and reception, surrounded by well manicured gardens . The main desk , bars and restaurant are situated in the old building which I assume was an old manor house, it also has a fantastic staircase on which many wedding photos would have been taken. We booked via superbreaks two night deal incl one night dinner and full English both mornings. The bedroom No 219 is in the new part of the buildings and was a very spacious room , well equipped ( bed a bit firm / bathroom functional ) flat screen tv / tea coffee etc etc. check in was painless and all the reception staff where very approachable and happy to give directions to destinations and help with any request. Booked a table for 7pm and was looked after by mark in the restaurant . He was very attentive and very polite asking if everything was ok with our food ..... the food is of very high standards and some of the best hotel food we have tasted with a good choice from a set menu. We had two courses and thoroughly enjoyed them,the second night we decided to stay in the hotel and eat again as the prices of the food and drink were very reasonable. Breakfast set us up for the day and again quality produce cooked well and plenty of it as it was a buffet . The hotel has a gym and small pool which I did visit .... free to any who are staying at the hotel. We visited Darlington/Durham and many other places in the surrounding area... this is a good base being close to the A1 and some great countryside. All the hotel staff we met where polite and talkative asking if we had enjoyed our days out etc and are a credit to the owners. I would recommend this hotel to all ages , close enough to town for those who are looking for a night out and in a quiet location for those who want a bit of peace.

Try it you wont be disappointed........

Room Tip: upgrade if you can... people told us the executive rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LEEANDJANDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I recently spent two nights that this Hotel with my Husband and found the staff to warm, friendly and helpful, The Hotel its self was clean and had a lived in feel that made you feel comfortable. The Pool was a little on the small side for the Number wanting to use it but it was welcome at the the end of a hot day for all that. The gem in this Hotel was the Restaurant , We opted to eat in both nights and the food was really very good. Over all I would say we had a very enjoyable stay at this Hotel, and would stay again. The staff made it for me.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank PollDoll65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here for one night and we arrived on one of the hottest days of the year. When we got to our room we were met with a distinctly mouldy smell and we were unable to open the window. We reported this to Reception who sent a handyman to fix the window but he was unable to do so. We were given a fan and we had to have this on all the time because it was so hot. We were not comfortable in this room because it had a damp atmosphere, probably due to the fact that the window couldn't be opened. There were also black hairs in the bath plughole. The base of the bed had no valance and therefore we could see the stains on the side of the base which made us wonder what the mattress was like! Overall, the staff were very courteous and the food was ok, but we wouldn't rush back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine_B_12186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darlington
4.6 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
809 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
2.6 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,608 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwell Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwell Grange Hotel

Address: Darlington, Darlington DL3 8QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Price Range: £51 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackwell Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing Georgian Country Mansion, dating from 1700, with modern extension. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blackwell Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackwell Grange Darlington
Hotel Blackwell Grange
Blackwell Grange Hotel Darlington, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing