We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking distance from the Terminal”
Review of St George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St George Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Walking distance from the Terminal”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This is an Ex Officers Mess with reasonable rooms.

It is quiet and clean.

The bar food is good and at a fair price. Scampi and chips with Good (not over cooked) fresh peas always a winner in my book.

Staff are friendly and nothing is to much trouble.

Down side is the place needs a make over rooms are old and bathrooms need a revamp.

Beds also need replacing but ok for a one night stop before flying away.

Internet is not included in the room rate a real negative for the hotel.

But of £9.99 you can get connected for 24 Hours

Overall good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawker-Eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    75
    67
    24
    15
See reviews for
40
74
24
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Stayed here on coach trip, very quiet , good food very friendly staff, new posh decor with thick carpets even !!! Just a little isolated no shops but if your flying in or out highly recommended better than a chain hotel with some nice little extras

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Stayed one night on way back from a hiking trip-Good reception lady at night-arrived quite late, after 9:30-room was quiet and decent, rather old style-big bath-no AC, but a fan was provided (this was a hot summer in the UK) and that helped. No airport noise.
Breakfast was odd-no one sugguesting where to sit or how the buffet operates. Someone should be around to pour your coffee and speak with you briefly. Pretty good selection if bland.
Parking was ample-just had to lug a small case upstairs to first floor. The big one was locked in the car-dropped car rental and walked to hanger-nice airport, nice people-hope to return-

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dewin142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Staff are very friendly and really helpful, people who have slated this hotel obviously have champagne tates but only want to spend lemonade money. Rooms were very comfortable, hotel was quiet and breakfast was however you wanted it. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandJenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

This a perfectly reasonable hotel for the price. We paid £55 for a double room and breakfast (which was good quality and plentiful).

The place is a little tired and the bedroom was a little small. It was well equipped however.

We had an evening meal in the bar - this was ok and pretty reasonably priced.

All in all we would go back - a pleasent experience at a decent price.

Helpful?
Thank am36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2007

We had to carry our cases up a flight of stairs to our room on the first floor. There is no lift and no Porter. We had dinner in the restaurant which was excellent and good value. The room was clean, bed was comfotable, the bathroom was very old and the plumbing very out dated, in fact it was so far back it was in Narnia. Next morning we ate a very tasty cooked breakfast. If you have an early flight this hotel is ok for a one night stop over. But not really worth the money. Pay about a fiver for a taxi ride to one of the other hotels not far from the Airport

  • Liked — Good breakfast
  • Disliked — No lift or porter
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TheSallyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2007

Arrived at 10pm to a good welcome. Was asked if i planned to eat as the kitchen was about to close. Nice touch. I opted to head to sleep though. I'd requested and was given a single room, which was a surprise as I'd not stayed in a singele bed for years. Room was ok - only half of the window had a blackout blind which was a problem with outside lighting and sunrise. Window looked onto carpark and had no net/privacy curtain to let me enjoy daylight without waving at passing motorists. Breakfast was big and hearty. GBP 50, so it was a good location and just about value for money

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — B;a
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank andrew.gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darlington hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darlington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#13 of 21 in Darlington
99 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
#4 of 21 in Darlington
365 reviews
5.5 mi away
Harrowgate Hill Lodge
Harrowgate Hill Lodge
#16 of 21 in Darlington
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
763 reviews
5.4 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
788 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St George Hotel

Property: St George Hotel
Address: Durham Tees Valley Airport, Darlington DL2 1RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George Hotel Darlington, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing