We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wedding reception”
Review of St George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St George Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Attended my friends wedding at the hotel wasn't sure what to expect after reading the reviews, we arrived at the hotel late Thursday evening what a
Pleasant surprise the history is amazing. The wedding breakfast was fantastic food was great and the service from Kym (male) was top dollar also dj jo played great music Will be back when visiting family

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenmads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne H, Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thank you for your review we are so pleased you enjoyed the wedding reception
We hope to see you on your next visit to family

Kind regards

Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on my own, the rooms were Clean, friendly staff, good variety of food, after reading other reviews was slightly worried but for my £39 room only I was pleasantly surprised! Will defiantly be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachandambb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne H, Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thank you for your lovely review rachandamnb we hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed for one night with my partner, we was visiting Durham & surrounding area. Check in was very straightforward. Our room was very clean,so no issue there. The heated towel rail in the bathroom was very hot, there was no sign or no way of turning it down, this made the room very hot also-the bathroom was in need of a make over my only criticism of the place. To say it is next to an airport we had no issue with noise. Would say again for the price we paid it was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Me2uali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne H, General Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for your review Me2uali

We hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here a couple of nights mid way between Middlesbrough and Darlington. We wanted to be near both so location good. However, not much around the immediate area. Arrived about 3pm and when we went to the room it had not been cleaned from past clients. Yes, they were busy and it was a Bank Holiday weekend so staff shortage. We were offered a room to clean up and that was good. Car parking facilities good on site and we were adjacent to the Durham Tees air terminal. Interested to see the airport fully secured by the most expensive of fences with an access gate to the hotel wide open all the time we were there. Not good security for airport or hotel. Our room was large but at night the water in the pipes was constantly running. Mentioned to hotel and told it was always like it but they were looking at improvements. Not great sleep. Bathroom tiny and do not step back too far or you burn your self on very hot towel rail - on at all times. There is a tiny exhibit area to the Fighter and Bomber Squadrons but by the time we left the cap and gloves on the model had disappeared. Not likely to return but staff friendly

Room Tip: We had Room 17 in the Spitfire area - try another one - Room 2 is a twin on ground and looked nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne H, Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to place a review Alan, We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and inprove the quality of service we offer to guest.

All rooms are in progress of an upgrade to standard of room 2.

Kind regards

Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Just staying one night was enough, we had booked a double room but found it was two single beds pushed together so the headboard and lights were just out of line with the bed! The toiletries were those dreadful squeeze dispensers. The heat in the hotel bedrooms and public areas was stifling to say the least.Breakfast was ok but just not enough to go round and replenishment was virtually non existent.
Staff were pleasant but because there were so few of them the service at the bar and in the restaurant was very slow.
This used to be a good hotel but this time it seemed to be in it's death throws waiting for someone to finally declare it dead!!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruff100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne H, General Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you for your review ruff 100 I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you encountered during your stay here at The St George, Its our intention at all times to ensure our guest have an enjoyable stay, therefore I'm disappointed that you did not.
Has you have been to the hotel before and believe this be in deaths throw I'm disappointed that the work that has been completed refurbishment of restaurant, Lounge & bar area and on going work of bedrooms and corridors wasn’t noticed .

Once again thank you for your review and all comments have been taken on board

Kind regards

Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Friendly very helpful staff - can't fault them. Only fault I can find with hotel is absence of disabled accessible room (but they were up front about this when I booked).
Decoration seemed to be new (I could smell the paint).
Fantastic value for money.
Great breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne H, Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you for your feedback, Hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I thought I had stepped back in time when we arrived at this hotel as it reminded me of my days in the WRAF. It was warm and welcoming and the reception staff were friendly and helpful.
My one complaint was that the hot towel rail did not have a warning sign on it so I touched it and burned my hand. Also the shower gel/shampoo was fiddly to operate as you needed two hands. This did not detract from the comfort of our visit.
Our room was at the end of the corridor and was warm and comfortable, the bed was so comfy I was asleep in minutes.
This hotel has a historic feel about it - the statue and the flags and the war memorial in the garden tell you that this place has seen action.
Despite the airfield outside the window, we had a quiet night and were undisturbed by planes or people. We would highly recommend this hotel and will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaKilmarnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne H, General Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you for your lovely feedback Linda we are very proud of the hotel history.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Kind regards

Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darlington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#15 of 21 in Darlington
103 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
#4 of 21 in Darlington
406 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
5.3 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
864 reviews
5.3 mi away
Harrowgate Hill Lodge
Harrowgate Hill Lodge
#14 of 21 in Darlington
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St George Hotel

Address: Durham Tees Valley Airport, Darlington DL2 1RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Price Range: £36 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George Hotel Darlington, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing