We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very helpful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St George Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very helpful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Booked online on the day of our stay. When we got there theroom we booked wasnot available, however the guy on reception was fantastic, he explained the issue and resolved the problem.
When we got to the room there was only one doible bed for me and a male friend!!!
Within 2 minutes he had resolved that with a separation of the bed and extra bedding.
Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff, down to earth and helpful to the hilt.
Good value food, cheap beer and reasonably good rooms for the money.
Not sure how close any facilities or local amenities were as we got there late and left early.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank twadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne H, Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for your feed back Twadder,We hope to see you soon

Kind regards

Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    69
    67
    23
    14
See reviews for
40
69
24
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed at the St George Hotel on business as myself and a team of crew where working at the airport and we couldn't have been put up in a better hotel for what we needed.
The staff were incredibly helpful - nothing was too much bother. We had a very early start one morning so the Chef came in half an hour earlier so that we could have breakfast before leaving the hotel. I needed some documents printing they did this willingly and even offered to take it up and deliver the documents to all the crews rooms, I also had last minute bookings and room requirements and again this was handled swiftly and with a smile.
All the staff are friendly and bubbly and very approachable so all the crew felt very welcome during their stay.
The food was lovely - we ate breakfast , lunch and dinner here and no-one could fault the food or the speed or quality of service. Two of us (including myself) had food intolerances and the chef was more than accommodating ensuring they had gluten free bread in for the mornings breakfast and they put on a gluten and dairy free soup for lunch too and this was in addition to the other options the menu already provided.
If you need to be near the airport... well you can't get any closer if you tried!
We have been back since our first visit and the standard was just as high! Joanne - the manager of the hotel was a life saver on more than one occasion helping me with a variety of errands whilst the team were working on location.
I can't thank them enough or rave about them enough- the staff really make this hotel as well as it's location!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne H, General Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for your review Nicola it was a pleasure to meet you all and look forward to welcoming you all back soon so can have a chin wag you know how much I love to talk.

Kind regards

Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

An interesting hotel which did the job for our one night stay.
Not a bad price but that didn't include breakfast and after eating there in the evening, we decided not to have the breakfast. My burger and chips were very mediocre.
It was lovely to have a bath and shower and the room was warm and comfortable. The furniture needs some tlc and the thing we found most annoying was that there was only ONE double socket in the whole of the room, once the TV and kettle were plugged in that was it! Nowhere to plug in our phone chargers/laptop etc.
Staff on check out were brisk and didn't ask how we enjoyed our stay either, just asked if we were checking out, when we replied we were, she check we didn't owe anything and just said 'thank you'. Sounds nit picking I know, but the staff at the Holiday Inn Express the night before were much friendlier.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne H, Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the hotel. It is always great to receive feedback to ensure we are meeting our guests needs i would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you encountered during your stay here at The St George, Its our intention at all times to ensure our guest have an enjoyable stay.

Kind regards

JO.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

This is the first time I have been to this hotel, but it won't be the last. Although I was in room 13, it was a nice large room with a big marble bathroom and the first thing I saw from my window was the Maple Leaf Flag flying in the breeze. The hotel was the sergeants mess during the war for the Canadian Air force and has many photos and momentos of its past including a bronze statue of an airman at the front of the hotel - very impressive!
We had the ballroom for our event - a large well lit room with space for tables for the carvery. We had a large piece of roast beef and also a roast gammon with amazing crackling - many went back for seconds. The staff were really helpful and they had laid on a handpull for the occasion.
Plenty of free parking and easy access for equipment
It is next to Tees Valley airport, but I had a good nights sleep - maybe the planes don't fly at night.
The hotel was full, but facilities are spacious and there was no waiting at breakfast.
Definitely a little gem nand well worth a visit.

Room Tip: I had room 13, which is unusual, but it faced the front, with a good view of the flags and statue
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williamawilkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne H, General Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Many Thanks for your review of your stay with us William wilkie. Glad you enjoyed your stay and your event went well.

We are all very proud of the history here at the St George. Hope to have you return to stay with us in the near future.

Kind regards

Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed for three nights. Great place for the price. Not often you get the chance to stay in officers quarters! Great heritage and history too with some lovely stories of past occupants and their return every year. Don't be put off with it being next to an airport. It's not Gatwick! And you might get a surprise of some of the aircraft taking off from there!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigelwallace-iles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne H, Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for you review NIgel im glad you enjoyed the heritage of the hotel, All the staff are so proud of our history.

We are lloking forward to our next reunion in 2014.

We hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

JO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I really struggled to get a room at a week's notice at Traveldodge-type rates; but the St George Hotel proved to be more than satisfactory at £39 room only.

I was sadly a bit too excited to have a bedroom right in front of the main entrance to an airport, but, this being Teeside, I think I saw two microlights take off in the time I was there (okay, they were BAe 146-sized Whisper Jets, but no 757s!)

Room was comfortable. Bath (which I always prefer to a shower) and a good sized TV; however, it was placed so far from the bed that the volume had to be up high to hear it - I hope that didn't upset any neighbouring guests - but as the hotel seemed pretty quiet I doubt it.

Generally, condition was clean and tidy and there's a decent wall-mounted iron and board - handy if you've got an interview the next day.

I don't think I'll be up in the Teeside area again but it was a reasonable place to stay.

Receptionist's welcome was adequate, if not overly bothered to see me.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevorcost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne H, General Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your review Trevorcos, We hope to see you again if you visit Teesside


Kind regards

Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Left london in the afternoon to drive to Edinburgh and were looking for a cheap and cheerful hotel enroute for a night halt. This was 2 interconnected rooms for £45 for the three of us ! Lovely old fashioned rooms. More than adequate for a night halt. The hotel was a bit difficult to find though as our GPS just wouldn't pick up the right turns ! Can be cumbersome to get by public transport, but perfect if u are looking for a base in that area for a longer driving break to explore the Yorkshire moors n dales ! Lovely clean rooms, hot shower and a bit of character.......unlike the chain hotels. Very popular with coach groups ! We had dinner by the time we drove in, which was just as well as restaurant was packed and no eating options near by, so it could be a problem if u are very hungry or have small children. Heart, hot b/fast served in the morning ! Great value for money !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shikhaDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne H, General Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Many thanks for your kind review Shikhadelhi, We hope to welcome you back soon


Kind regards

Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darlington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#13 of 21 in Darlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
5.4 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel and Spa - Darlington
9.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St George Hotel

Property: St George Hotel
Address: Durham Tees Valley Airport, Darlington DL2 1RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George Hotel Darlington, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing