We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Tearooms !”

Paddock Farm Nursery & Water Gardens
Ranked #7 of 27 things to do in Darlington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Located on West Lane (near Croft Race Circuit), Paddock Farm Nursery & Water Gardens is a wonderful day out for all the family. We have nine unique Water Gardens for you to browse around at your leisure, a delicious Tea Room serving home made treats from sandwiches to full dinners and our amazing Koi & Pond are considered to be one of the best in the country! The Tropical Fish centre recently claimed customer recognition as the biggest and best supplier in the region! Open 7 days a week, you are always welcome to visit us. Our Water Gardens are completely free and we have something for all members of your family. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Tearooms !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Not as many plants/shrubs in the nursery as there once was, but what is there is good quality.

Visited the cafe for a cup of tea, but stayed for soup & scampi.
Great food & service 'with a smile'.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Derek O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    31
    14
    8
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I visited for the first time in December for their annual Christmas Festival. The staff were beyond friendly and welcoming. They ensured everyone was warm and dressed up in festive outfits to make the day extra Christmassy! We used the cafe facilities and the food was gorgeous and a great price. Highly recommended!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adele1985639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great cafe and garden centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We visited the café at this garden centre this afternoon, we received lovely service and the food was delicious; we will definitely return.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place, helpful staff, good tearoom”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Helpful and friendly staff, good range of tropical fish, also have garden centre and pond supplies. Tearooms are great, no fuss/no frills decoration-wise but home cooked food, they do amazing chips!! Great for lunch or a small bite to eat

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank tanya2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham
Level Contributor
133 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not the same”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Have always loved this place but the past two visits have been a bit of a let down. They always had some really nice plants n stuff but its no different to the other places now. It has a cafe but it really smells like a greasy spoon it's awful. The cheese scones were terrible tasteless and bone dry as if they had been there several days. On the plus side you do get a large cuppa!
I don't think I will go out of my way to visit again anytime soon and won't be recommending either.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsjCountyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paddock Farm Nursery & Water Gardens also viewed

 
Darlington, Durham
Darlington, Durham
 

Been to Paddock Farm Nursery & Water Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing