We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little restaurant, great food”
Review of Cafe 85 - CLOSED

Cafe 85
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: New-ish resturant, on site of Mint restuarnt that closed.
Newton Aycliffe
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant, great food”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Went to Cafe 85 on Friday evening on the early bird offer with my husband and children. Friendly welcome and great booth seat with plenty of space. Well looked after and the food was served quickly. All of the food was of a great standard, Nachos big enough to share between 4, kids salmon and prawn pasta was tasty and fresh. Desserts...lovely. Will definately go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeborahWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    34
    14
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent 1st visit!”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

My fiancee and I were lucky enough to win a £40 meal thanks to the cafe FB site...Booked table for 2 for 6pm on a Saturday....Warm greeting when we arrived....Seated in a booth near the kitchen...Choose 2 burgers, and 2 desserts. Food was with us within 30 mins and it was gorgeous! Desserts were amazing too! Came out full and satisfied! Would definitely go back! Many thanks to all staff!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean_Ball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great family lunch”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Decided to go with our baby and toddler for a family lunch to make the most of a day off work. Had the 2 sandwiches for £10. We chose the Cajun chicken wrap and club sandwich, both came with tortilla chips and salad and beautifully presented on a wooden board. Both tasted excellent! Ordered chicken nuggets for our 3 year old and we had a taste too. They were so fresh and proper breast meat, not like some of the soggy, salty offerings we have had in other places. Child's ice cream came with fruit and biscuits and it was nice to see some effort going into a child's desert. We will definitely be going back soon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jpal1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good price great service.”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

You're sure of a warm welcome any night of the week. The food is of good quality, nothing amazing but good value for money and very reasonably priced.

A good selection of dishes to suit anyone.
Definately reccomended for anyone looking for good food in a relaxed setting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissRHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So relaxed, will definitely go back”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We went for a family night out and the staff were very friendly. The food was beautiful and large portions. Half of our family don't drink alcohol and they were more than willing to create non-alcoholic cocktails for us that weren't on the menu. We were not pressured to order more or vacate the table. We felt so comfortable and relaxed and not rushed in the slightest. We have been back a few times since and never been disappointed. No request is too much!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank customerservice72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe 85 also viewed

Ingleton, Darlington
Bishopton, Darlington
 
Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington
Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing