We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Helpful + friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Had booked an upgraded room but it didnt have a walk-in shower, reception were happy to offer me a refurbished room with one and as it was a standard room, reduced the rate by more than the extra I had paid.
Nice hotel, good location, easy parking, but a bit of a rabbit-warren of corridors! Good meal in the restaurant, friendly and helpful restaurant staff. Good nights sleep, although the antics of a rugby team staying meant we were woken up a few times in the night! Reception staff were apologetic and friendly.Overall a decent stay for the price, would recommend + stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent visit. I am delighted we were able to accommodate your request for a specific room and the staff particularly in the restaurant and at reception were so helpful and friendly. I'm so pleased this is your second visit and you will be staying with us when you next visit the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

556 - 562 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

First impressions of this hotel were dire. I arrived after a long drive which followed an even longer working day. Having found the hotel I went in to find out what the parking arrangements were leaving colleagues in their cars. For a large'ish hotel the reception desk wasn't apparent and un-manned at 7.30. I leaned over the desk to check if this was in fact reception - which prompted a lady to emerge from behind a door and ask me not to lean over the desk as there might be confidential information. No welcome or hello, and the chastisement continued for some minutes. Absolutely the last thing I needed after a long journey. You'd never have thought I was the customer. This was a complete contrast to my previous nights stay in a Premier Inn where check in was simple and I felt like a valued customer.
The experience improved after that but check in took longer than seemed necessary.
My room was ok but the bathroom was very badly designed and the shower tray failed to drain and flooded the bathroom. I had to use most of my towels to mop up the resulting water on the floor. There was mould surrounding the windows too.
We ate dinner in the hotel but again service wasn't great and food poor.
At breakfast there wasn't enough space for everyone and some had to wait in the cocktail bar for a table. Typical Mercure breakfast and service. Town centre location convenient if you've got business in the centre.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intrepidtravellers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit. Please accept my apologies for the welcome you received upon check in . I am sorry you did not enjoy your meal I would be interested to hear further about your experience if you would like to email me .I am sorry you did not enjoy some aspects of this visit and do hope you will give us the opportunity improve for a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Both my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our Valentine's Dinner in the Carriages Restaurant at the King's Hotel. We both chose steak as our main course and it was cooked to perfectly to our liking. The hand cut chips were lovely and chunky. The dessert was a shared platter of different chocolates. The staff were very friendly, in particular 'Charles' was a perfect host. We have celebrated Valentine's Day, 2 year's running here, it is a lovely restaurant, with exceptional staff and food. Very reasonably priced. Well worth a visit. Fred & Donna

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your Valentine's experience . I am delighted you had a most enjoyable second visit with us. The menu was very well received and the staff delivered great service again.
I do hope you will dine with us again soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed last weekend for two nights.Check in was quick and easy ,my room was on third floor at back of hotel. Bed was comfy and room clean, what more do you want .All staff i met were friendly , Good choice at breakfast and hot food cooked to order. Paid £44 per night with breakfast at £10 per night. Would stay again when next in town next .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I am delighted you had a most enjoyable experience and found our staff to be so friendly. we look forward to you returning soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed in this hotel the first Saturday in February. Paid £40 for the room.

Hotel was very central and about tens mins walk from the train station.

Hotel was beautifully decorated and staff friendly. We were allowed to check in when we arrived at 11.15 - great!

First room the window was wonky and there was a gale whistling through the room, but reception moved us quickly and with no fuss.

Second room was lovely - tastefully decorated and had a good sized tv, tea and coffee facilities, ironing board & iron and a safe.

Rooms were not very soundproof was the only thing - heard a lot of noise from inside the hotel and out. Free wifi was patchy in room and you could only get it at certain places then it kept cutting out.

Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for completing a review of your stay. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay after moving rooms. I am sorry the internet service on this occasion was intermittent and you were disturbed by some external noise from street level. There are rooms available on the other side of the hotel though it is nice at the front overlooking the streetscene.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed after a night out in town parking is hit and miss get there early if you want a space, got to the room very smart a bit small ,good size bathroom but bath seemed a bit small when standing in it . Was a bit of a carry on to get to room you have to take lift to 2nd floor then along corridor and take another lift to 4th . The room was v warm even if the windows were drafty . Usual refinements tea coffee a nice tv ironing board . One thing be aware of I think the breakfast is over priced prebook ten pound or thirteen on the day , but is in a great location and as long as you get it for a good price it's ideal.

Room Tip: Get there early for a car park space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hyperkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed a good stay overall. I am sorry that you found our breakfast to be overpriced. In comparison to other brands I feel it is still value for money for a wide choice of hot items freshly prepared in the kitchen and the unlimited selection available from continental buffet. I do hope you will consider visiting us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

2ND Time visiting this hotel, modern decor friendly staff has everything you need. Handy of your going out in town shopping/drinking id defenetly stay again :)

Only reason why I didnt rate it excellent, ia its a bit of a waff on getting to the 3rd floor. You have to get a lift to the 2nd and walk to another lift to get up to wear my room was both occasions ive stayed.

Also the 1st time I stayed my room looked on to the high street of darlington and this occasion it looked onto the roof, next time ill defently request a look on to the high street, it became a bit dull looking out onto the roof after 2 nights apart from a few little things that can be sorted with a more organised booking made by myself the hotel is perfect 9/10!!





Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank KatieNixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and in particular found the staff to be so friendly. The layout is quite quirky but certainly adds character to the Victorian section of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darlington hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
0.4 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
1 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
830 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
0.2 mi away
Houndgate Townhouse
Houndgate Townhouse
#10 of 21 in Darlington
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel

Address: 9-12 Priestgate, Darlington DL1 1NW, England (Formerly King's Head Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Darlington
Price Range: £48 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located in the heart of the historic market town, with ideal access to the A1 train st. and airport. Originally built in the 1600s as a Coaching Inn, rebuilt in 1893, and after a 6 million pounds sterling complete refurbishment in 2012, the hotel proudly harmonises its original features with a contemporary designer led style that reflects the hotel's personality. Boasting 83 stylish bedrooms, superior conference and banqueting suites, along with elegantly fashionable rest and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Darlington
Head Hotel King
Hotel Kings Head
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing