We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for a night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Berkshire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Ok for a night”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed here this week for 1 night on business. First the pros;
Room was clean
Location is right in the middle of town.
Breakfast was varied, with good service (staff were happy to make my porridge with soya milk).
Room service was good, arrived quickly, well presented and hot.
Check in and out were both quick and friendly.

Now the not so pros;
The double bed was actually 2 singles pushed together...not very comfy.
Only half the bathroom had been upgraded - there was a beautiful, large walk in shower with new tiling etc, but the sink was yellow with age, cracked and stained.
The taps were either very hot or very cold - there was no mixer (not pleasant for washing your face).
The layout of the hotel is confusing. I know they don't try to hide this but it is odd none the less. Being honest, I did question if I would be able to easily find an exit in case of a fire if I was half asleep.
I was travelling as a woman on my own. At check in, I was in front of a queue of men. The receptionist first announced to all within listening distance that I was travelling alone, and then gave out my room number...along with directions and the comment that it was a "quiet room, at the back". I'm not the sort who easily feels unsafe, and this didn't bother me too much but I was a little annoyed. I think the check in staff should be trained to act with a little discretion in this area.

Overall, I would stay here again if I was in town for business. However I haven't tried anywhere else in the town centre, so I would be pushed to recommend it over somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireMash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for you reviewing your recent stay with us. I'm so pleased you enjoyed such good service at reception and at breakfast. I am concerned your room number was disclosed which should never be the case and have discussed this with the staff responsible. Rest assured there is a fire escape at the each end of the bedroom corridors so you wouldn't miss one. I would be happy to allocate you an alternate room on a future visit if you contact me prior to your visit. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    221
    117
    44
    17
See reviews for
95
183
36
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Cumbria
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as a stop over to our final destination. Reception staff were brilliant. Room was spotless, large, and beautifully decorated and modern. The only problem is if you have a window open at night, which we needed to as the room was far too warm to sleep, then the church bells may keep you awake. They chime every 15 minutes, and kept waking me up when I was dozing off. I wanted to leave the hotel, find the bells, and put a very large sock over it! I know it's not the hotels fault, but I thought it was worth mentioning it to help others.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathandpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel . I am delighted that you found our reception staff so helpful and the hotel to be so clean. I am so sorry you were disturbed by the church bells overnight.
We can certainly allocate a room on the other side of the hotel for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

No fault of the hotel but needs a mention..the church or town hall bell chimes every 15 minutes all day and night. We did not sleep at all. It's like a 15 minute alarm clock. Left feeling like we had worked a night shift. Would highly recommend a room far away as possible from lift too as we were also disturbed by v v noisy creaky lift close to our room. (330) - we reported the lift on checking out.
Hotel beautifully refurbished but oh those bells. Aaaaaargh! !!!
Shame they're not turned off 11 til 7.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Maufant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for completing a review of your recent stay. I am so sorry the bells disturbed your sleep. We have held discussions with Darlington Council but due to cost they are unable to change the ringing pattern. We can allocate rooms on the other side of the hotel if you advise us when you make a future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Great hotel with nice and friendly staff
Good happy hour 4pm - 6pm - drinks 2 for 1
Good cocktails and the bar staff were good fun
Great breakfast - make sure you order the breakfast when you book your room - this will save you a little money
Nice and clean hotel with a good bar but the bar was closed later on.
Room was very good
Overall an excellent vale for money place to stay right on the town centre

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gchc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am delighted you had a most enjoyable stay. Its sounds like you had a great time in the bar. I am so pleased you found everything such value for money to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Had a great night, the room was very classy and the bar staff and waiters very attentive,food in restaurant was lovely and we enjoyed a fantastic breakfast, will definitely be back! Mike the doorman was very helpful and everything was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and we look forward to you returning soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Having stayed in this hotel for weeks now on business I feel that some aspects are good others not so. The breakfast is bountiful and offers a varied selection and is great tasting, however when the hotel is busy you can be stood waiting for a table or directed to sit at a half reset one, perhaps another staff member needed.
The rooms are very spacious and modern with a great sized TV, nice coffee facilities and a good bathroom. Staying at the front of the hotel overlooking the square is not for lighter sleepers- Monday morning is market day so will we very noisy.
The niggles I have with this hotel are things that can easily be sorted: some rooms the wifi is utterly useless and the housekeeping is horrific (no dusting, marked sheets that hadn't been changed for a few days as the same marks where there and a scruffily made bed (why leave the throw pillows on the floor housekeeping?)) something that I would expect to be of a high standard if nothing else.
The redeeming feature is that the staff are very friendly - especially the reception team. I personally would just not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at he back of the hotel for Undisturbed sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stays with us. I am sorry you have decided not to stay with us again and would welcome the opportunity to make those improvements in order to encourage your return. It would be useful to obtain the room number of rooms where you did not receive the full wifi signal. I apologise that we did not service your room to the highest standard and I am very surprised as housekeeping normally deliver a very high standard of cleanliness. Whilst bed linen is not changed daily we should certainly be offering greater attention to detail for which I regret. Please contact me directly to investigate these points further and I do hope you will allow us to shine on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed Saturday night in early April, much more than adequate. beds comfortable, good shower; all spotlessly clean; everything seemed professionally run. We didn't eat so can't comment on the food.....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quiller1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for completing a review of your visit. I am delighted you had a pleasant stay and found the hotel most comfortable and clean.We hope to welcome your return very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darlington hotels
1.0 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#9 of 21 in Darlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
3.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Houndgate Townhouse
Houndgate Townhouse
#8 of 21 in Darlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel

Property: Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Address: 9-12 Priestgate, Darlington DL1 1NW, England (Formerly King's Head Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located in the heart of the historic market town, with ideal access to the A1 train st. and airport. Originally built in the 1600s as a Coaching Inn, rebuilt in 1893, and after a 6 million pounds sterling complete refurbishment in 2012, the hotel proudly harmonises its original features with a contemporary designer led style that reflects the hotel's personality. Boasting 83 stylish bedrooms, superior conference and banqueting suites, along with elegantly fashionable rest and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Darlington
Head Hotel King
Hotel Kings Head
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing