We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Darlington
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel with very friendly staff especially in the bar. Booked us taxis and gave directions while making us feel at home. Staff were the main positive especially one lady in the bar/ reception with blonde hair

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit with us. I am delighted that you found our staff to be so friendly and they made you feel at home. It is very positive and we have many of them mentioned by departing guests. We hope to see you again should you visit the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We booked this hotel for an overnight stay in the middle of a very hectic weekend, all we wanted was a comfortable bed and can good night sleep, the bed was lovely and comfortable, the room was compact but clean and actually for one night it was fine, however it was very noisey , you could hear music from somewhere below our room, in fact you could hear every word being sung, and outside our room was some sort of air conditioning type unit and this was noisey throughout the night, it was a very warm night but we had to leave the windows closed as it was so noisey ! Probably wouldn't rush back, shame !!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am so sorry you were disturbed by noise from other guests and some plant. I only wish you had reported this to reception and we could have arranged an alternative room for you to add to the comfort of your stay. Please stay with us next time and we will allocate a quieter room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Very ordinary hotel, not representative of Mercure hotels elsewhere. Breakfast buffet was pitiful in the choice available and the service slow and chaotic with orders being mislaid.
Staff mentioned that they had hosted a wedding the night before. All well and good but no recompense to paying guests !
Until now Accor hotels would be my preference ( we choose to stay in the Novotel in Dubai twice a year because the service is excellent )

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am so sorry you were not happy with the breakfast service you experienced on this occasion and were subjected to a slower service than usual.

We have a wide range of products available which is displayed daily as standard so I would be interested to hear what was missing on this particular morning.
Thank you for sharing your concerns with me and I do hope you will return when next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Would like to say a big thank you to the staff at the mercure especially Jonathan and sarah for making our wedding perfect.also a big thank you to the chef food was amazing everyone said how they really enjoyed the food. Held our reception here on the 7th of june it was brilliant from start to finish was greeted by Jonathan holding a umbrella as it was raining went to the cocktail lounge for drinks with family very cosy room. Moved into the ballroom for our wedding breakfast and stayed there till the end nothing was too much trouble food was fantastic bar staff very friendly. Stayed for 2 nights in bridal suite room was very clean and tidy bed was very comfortable red led lights was a romantic touch matching dressing gowns and slippers couldn't fault any of it would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catherine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Many thanks for your detailed feedback. I am delighted things ran so smoothly and you enjoyed the whole experience. We have a very dedicated team who put so much effort into planning events in the build up and delivering great service on the day.
It was a pleasure to host your special day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Its one of these hotels that you actually can't find something wrong but not something exciting also. The rooms are not that big but they are clean and the bathroom is really modern. Breakfast is good and cooked for you at the time of the order and location of the hotel is really nice. Does have limited parking but if you need to leave the car there is a big parking lot a few blocks away where you can leave it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us and do hope you will stay again when visiting the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel is a bit jaded with unusual layout but in a good, convenient location.

Found the staff to be pleasant. Food including breakfast is quite decent. If you fancy eating around, there are lots of restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: In the evenings, hotel car park will get full very quickly. If planning to use this car park, try to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadsidetree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and you found our staff to be so friendly. I am glad to hear you had a pleasant breakfast also. Thank you for completing a review and hope to see you again when next visiting the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Jonathan, the Duty Manager, and Tom on Reception made us most welcome on our arrival , late on a Saturday night - but as there was a wedding going on in the ballroom the car park underneath the hotel was already full to the brim, and with guests' double parking. So we parked outside the front of the hotel. Yes, we were warned to move our car early next morning and so should have moved the car but having left the car in the very ample 'Disabled parking bay' overnight we forgot to move the vehicle early in the morning. The town was as quiet as a mouse and so were lulled into false security and returned to find a fine for £70 ( reduced to £35 if you pay within 14 days !).
Hotel rooms were perfectly adequate and the helpful Duty Manager made sure we had a room with a bath !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkSurridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am delighted you found Johnathon and Tom to be so helpful.
The parking regulations around the hotel are very strict. No parking at anytime in the disabled bays. The loading bays do operate 24 hours but wardens generally do not start until around 8am .They are most efficient and sometimes commence prior to this time. Parking is not allowed in the taxi bays at anytime. There is a car park on St Cuthberts Way that is open 24 hours and currently only charge £2.50 for 24 hours parking. I hope you will visit again soon an we can diret you to alternate parking should the limited spaces be full at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darlington
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
1 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 22 in Darlington
904 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
3.7 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#2 of 2 in Coatham Mundeville
834 reviews
6.2 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel

Address: 9-12 Priestgate, Darlington DL1 1NW, England (Formerly King's Head Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Darlington
Price Range: £49 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located in the heart of the historic market town, with ideal access to the A1 train st. and airport. Originally built in the 1600s as a Coaching Inn, rebuilt in 1893, and after a 6 million pounds sterling complete refurbishment in 2012, the hotel proudly harmonises its original features with a contemporary designer led style that reflects the hotel's personality. Boasting 83 stylish bedrooms, superior conference and banqueting suites, along with elegantly fashionable rest and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Darlington
Head Hotel King
Hotel Kings Head
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing