We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Excellent Customer Service and the Nightshift Manager was Exceptional .

Nothing was too much trouble making my choice of Hotel while working up in Darlington Very Easy . Keep up the Excellent Work - MJ

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mark j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay. I am delighted you received exceptional service from our Night Manager he can certainly go the extra mile. We will pass on your positive feedback he will be equally delighted. We hope to see you again should you visit Darlington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Recently while in Darlington visiting family & friends, my wife and I plus two good friends booked in for our second time in the restaurant, we all enjoyed our meals very much (A big thank you to the chef) and the service from all staff was extremely good.
When we next visit Darlington we will all book up for another great meal here. 10/10

Michael, Marlene, Denise & Kevin

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 834Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent meal with us again. I am delighted you had another most enjoyable meal with your friends and will of course pass on your comments to the Chef and the Restaurant staff. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Darlington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed for 1 night, arrived 13 June 2014.

Lovely, comfortable room, very quiet.

Great Central location.

Only thing that let it down was breakfast. The food was OK, but service left a bit to be desired. We helped ourselves to the cereal and continental breakfast and then after waiting about 15/20 mins after finishing that, we had to call the waiter over to order our cooked breakfast. Appears the staff were more interested in chatting than serving, maybe the chefs in the kitchen need to realise that their voices carry through to the dining area too.

Other than that though, cannot fault the hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for completing a review of your visit. I am sorry you experienced a delay with your order being taken at breakfast . We would normally take this after taking you to your table to allow you to eat your cereal or fruit prior to the cooked element being prepared freshly in the kitchen and served at your table. We will speak to those concerned. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here on an extremely good deal, £45.50 with breakfast for the two of us through Booking.com. On arriving at reception, no one around, through the door at the back of reception were two receptionists chatting. Waited a little while, no one came, so I knocked on the door. A receptionist called Vicki appeared, with not even a "sorry to keep you waiting or anything", I said "you should have a bell so you know someone is waiting," she just ignored that and did not even look me in the eye. Then she said "did we want breakfast charged to the room"? I said "what do you mean, it is included in the price". Luckily, I had printed the reservation off and showed her, which stated quite clearly that breakfast was included in the rate. She looked at the page for a while, then said it had been a mistake. At this point, my husband asked to speak to the manager, Duty Manager Sophie then came out and said they would honour the deal as it was not the first time this had happened, apparently Booking.com had notified them that it was room only, but we had the proof that breakfast was included! This needs to be sorted, as very bad customer service and Vicki really was not very pleasant. Unlike Natalie, one of the breakfast waiting staff, who was pleasant, chatty and who would be an asset on reception. Breakfast was first class. We were woken at 3.30am, with the setting up of the market right outside our window, you would think they would take a little more care to be quiet as there is a hotel with people trying to sleep right next door!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank purplelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for reviewing you recent stay with us .I am delighted you received such a warm welcome and service at breakfast it was good to hear. I am disappointed and apologise this was not the case on reception and will be discussing this with those responsible. We are experiencing this problem with Booking.com which they are aware of and I apologise on their behalf. I would be happy to organise any future bookings you may wish to book at the hotel for you. thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Had our Christmas party here and it was fantastic, not the usual cheesy let down that some venues have been. Food was first class and the entertainment was good. The rooms were very modern, clean and well equipped with TV and wifi. Great place to stay and reasonably priced if booked a few weeks in advance. Would stay again.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for revieiwing your party and overnight stay. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable experience and I hope you will consider us again for this years event.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Well priced for town centre location. Pleasant reception staff, stylish decor throughout and nice ambience in restaurant. Room small but nice decor and well fitted with big tv but no sky. Excellent breakfast. No aircon and noisy with window open. Hotel states limited parking but there's only about 12 spaces so you've virtually no chance of getting one. Open air parking at town hall 5 mins walk away and free 6pm until 8am.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Pidgeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for reviewing you recent stay. I am delighted you were impressed with our reception team and you enjoyed excellent breakfast. Although car parking is limited there are a number of options within a 5 minute walk , some free until 8am and St Cuthberts Way only £2.50 for 24 hours. I do hope to see you return to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I am Darlington born and bred but moved to the Suffolk many years ago.My husband I visit Darlington to catch up with family and friends 2 or 3 times a year.We thought we would book in for an evening meal at kings head with 2 of our good friends.When we arrived we were greeted with a friendly smile and shown to our table in the bar before having our meal.I always choose a steak, mine was a little on the dry side but it was no problem to immediately change it, the chef came out to apologise.the steak was delicious and we all thouroughly enjoyed our meal and desserts.There is one thing I would like to say, the service was excellent, I asked for the gentleman's name who served us, Jonathon Cairns, we are quick enough to complain about bad service but not as quick to compliment excellent service, well done, we have booked again for the last night of our holiday on Saturday and we will be back in December.Many thanks, Mr and Mrs Moyes, Lavenham, Suffolk.xx

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Marlfromdarl1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for completing a review of your dining experience. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable meal and the service extended was excellent. I will share your comments with the staff responsible. I am so pleased you will be visiting us so soon and hope your next meal is as enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darlington hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
3.7 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
802 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
#4 of 21 in Darlington
398 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel

Address: 9-12 Priestgate, Darlington DL1 1NW, England (Formerly King's Head Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Darlington
Price Range: £50 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located in the heart of the historic market town, with ideal access to the A1 train st. and airport. Originally built in the 1600s as a Coaching Inn, rebuilt in 1893, and after a 6 million pounds sterling complete refurbishment in 2012, the hotel proudly harmonises its original features with a contemporary designer led style that reflects the hotel's personality. Boasting 83 stylish bedrooms, superior conference and banqueting suites, along with elegantly fashionable rest and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Darlington
Head Hotel King
Hotel Kings Head
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing