We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Reviewed 3 May 2012

The location of the Bannatyne is hard to beat. It is centrally situated just a few hundred yards from the town centre, about half a mile from the train station. The premises are very old, being the original Immaculate Conception School until the 1960's when it became the Grange hotel. The hotel has been extended in recent years and the modernisation blends well with the original features. There are signs of wear especially in the entrance hall and reception areas but the dining room and bedrooms were well decorated etc.

There is a lovely garden to the rear of the hotel and having stayed at this hotel several times in recent years I requested a garden view as these rooms tend to be the quietest. The standard rooms are as advertised and my only criticism is that the pillows were very thin and ladies require to take a shower cap as one is not provided and the shower is fixed.

Breakfast was excellent with a selection of cereals, yogurt, fruit compote, cooked english, toast and marmalade, croissants etc. As there is an excellent selection of restaurants in Coniscliffe Road area we did not eat in the restaurant in the evening.

The jewel in the Bannatyne's crown is the superb health suite and gym which is located about a mile away on Haugton Road ( free parking). Guests at the Bannatyne are given free passes (on request) and bath towels. I understand the facility shares accommmodation with Duncan Bannatyne's head office and he is a regular face at the facility. There is a 20 metre swimming pool, large jacuzzi (with television screen), huge steam room and very large sauna. The changing rooms were immaculate with over 12 hairdryers (with nozzles), 8 showers and a costume drying machine. I did not use the gym but I was told that all the machines provided were state of the ark. There was also a really good lounge area.

The staff at both the hotel and the Health Suite were very friendly, helpful and professional.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone with business in the Durham, Teesside, North Yorkshire area, particularly due to its proximity to the main line train station and road network.
I would also recommend it to anyone visiting Durham, Teesside or the North Yorkshire Dales (Richmond, Leyburn, Reeth etc). It would also be an excellent recommendation to parents of graduating students at Durham University due to the train and road links.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the garden are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUE SOMERSET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Dear Sue
Thank you for choosing to stay at Bannatyne Hotel, Darlington and for taking the time to write such a positive review. On behalf of the Hotel and Health Club management and staff it was a pleasure to provide the high level of service and customer care and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. May I also thank you for your kind recommendations to other travellers and we hope to see you back at the hotel very soon.
Kind regards
Scott Davidson - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

722 - 728 of 918 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

I arrived in a very wet Darlington after a long train journey and took the short ride to the Bannatyne Hotel. It was therefore refreshing to be greeted by two very cheerful and helpful receptionists for whom nothing was too much trouble. I was offered help with my overnight bag and to be shown to my room.
I was in the older part of the Georgian hotel but the room was spacious, clean and the bed really conforatable. Tea, coffee and all the normal room supplies were there. I booked a table and had dinner in Martine's, the hotel restaurant.
The set meal had a fairly wide choice of dishes and was very reasonably priced. The food came quickly and every item was hot. (Not something you often experience in hotel restaurants!) There was a good selection of competitively priced wines and the waitress/waiter service was great. Attentive without being intrusive.
Breakfast was equally as good and again every item, including the coffee, was HOT. I must say I found the Bannatyne Hotel a delightful place to saty. Every member of staff was amazing and the level of service far better than I have experienced in some of the top London hotels.
Many thanks to the whole team, I can definately recommend it and will stay again.

Room Tip: I had a garden facing room that I suspect was quieter than anything on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Dear Graham
Thank you for choosing Bannatyne Hotel, Darlington and for posting such a positive review. I am delighted to hear that every aspect of your stay was so enjoyable and I will certainly congratulate the team on producing such high levels of customer care. For such a seasoned traveller to post that the service was better than some top London hotels is praise indeed and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
KInd regards
Scott Davidson - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I booked this hotel for a meeting with 20 delegates today and was very impressed.

I use all types of venues for meetings and was taken back by how friendly, polite and professional the staff and the facilities were.

The room was immaculately laid out, the food at lunch and coffee provided was great and everyone had an enjoyable day. I will certainly be back and would highly recommend it. The only downside was that a couple delegates turned up a couple minutes late as it is set off the main road and can be slightly tricky to find on your first visit (although it is sign posted).

I can also recommend the restaurant which I have been with my wife on a number of occasions and they have a cracking deal during the week.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darlodivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear darlodivas
Thank you for choosing Bannatyne Hotel, Darlington as your preferred choice for your recent Conference and for taking the time to write such a positive review. I am delighted to read that your event was a hugh success and that the service and standards were of the highest level. I can assure you I will pass your comments on to the team. I was also pleased to read that you have enjoyed our Restaurant and as a regular visitor to the Hotel, may I thank you for your continued custom. I do hope we can welcome your delegates back for your next planned Conference or indeed look forward to offering our highest standards next time your family dine in our Restaurant.
Kind regards
Scott Davidson - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Stayed for business and the hotel was a great find. Good service and a nice style throughout. Great value

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear TBM79
Thank you for choosing to stay at Bannatyne Hotel on your recent business trip to Darlington and for taking the time to post a review. May I thank you for your kind words and positive feedback on the service you received and the high level of standards you experienced and I do hope we could welcome you back on your next business, or leisure visit to Darlington.
Kind regards
Scott Davidson - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Good location, friendly welcome. My second visit - all as good as the first time. Room nicely decorated and bathroom clean and modern. No complaints

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aviview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Dear aviview
Thank you for your recent visit to Bannatyne Hotel, Darlington and for posting a review on our services. As a hotel we pride ourselves on offering the highest levels customer care to make our guests want to return time and time again, and I am delighted we excelled on both occassions to make us your preferred choice of hotel.......that in itself is the best praise indeed! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards
Scott Davidson - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We booked the Wilbur Suite for a function and it went very smoothly indeed. The staff were helpful and seemed to anticipate our questions before we even asked. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The event was a success and I attribute this to the help and suggestions from Jade and her colleagues. I cannot comment on the hotel itself as we did not stay, but the function room, food and all the staff were first rate.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AudreyL73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Dear AudreyL73
Thank you for choosing Bannatyne Hotel, Darlington for your recent function and for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased to read that the event was a success and that our standards of customer care and service were enjoyed by all, both prior to the event in planning from Jade our Events Manager to the day itself when you said the team on the day excelled. I do hope you will return soon for another family celebration and maybe next time treat yourself to an overnight stay and enjoy the hotel facilities in full!
Kind regards
Scott Davidson - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed here for a weekend for our friends' wedding which was in a nearby village. The service was always friendly and professional. There is parking and it takes five minutes to walk into town.
We had dinner there one evening- the standard of food and service was high, and the three-course menu was good value at about £17. Wine was expensive at £22 a bottle.
One word of warning- the hotel list swimming pool, sauna, steam room and gym as facilities. These facilities are lovely but be aware that they are a 5 minute drive or 20 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zoe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Dear Zoe23
Thank you for choosing Bannatyne Hotel, Darlington for your visit to the region for your friend's wedding and for taking the time to write a review. I am plesed you found all staff 'friendly and professional' and that you felt our service overall was 'excellent' I will pass your knid words onto all members of the team. I appreciate your comment about the Health Club being a short distance away from the hotel, however the facilities are second to none and well worth making the short journey. I am pleased you enjoyed your meal and found our standards very high, maybe next time just go for our 'house wine' which is excellent quality but only £16.75 a bottle so great value for money! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards
Scott Davidson - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darlington
0.7 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
875 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
812 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
3.1 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,632 reviews
6.3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington

Address: Southend Avenue, Darlington DL3 7HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Darlington
#3 Luxury Hotel in Darlington
#3 Business Hotel in Darlington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Darlington
Price Range: £67 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a unique blend of luxury accommodation, great service and fine dining with Bannatyne Hotel Darlington. Perfect for business and leisure. Each of our well appointed rooms have FREE wireless internet access and Maxine's Bar & Restaurant makes the perfect venue for meeting friends for coffee, drinks and fine food. Also whether hosting a business meeting or an exhibition, or even getting married, Bannatyne Hotel Darlington is the ideal venue to make your event a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darlington Bannatyne Hotel
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing