We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable for a family event”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very comfortable for a family event”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night with friends for a family event and we were treated very well. My room was very good value, stylish and comfortable with a large bathroom. The ability to control the temperature and open the window is a big plus. Staff could not have been more helpful, especially in accommodating the children's needs. We had a meal in the Library and although we were a big group, the food was lovely and served very efficiently. We enjoyed our stay and I would recommend this hotel for any family occasion.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Albertine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Albertine21

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us.
I am delighted that you had such a pleasurable visit and enjoyed your executive room, delicious food and attentive service from the team.
I look forward to sharing your feedback with the staff.

Thank you for your recommendation to stay here and for taking the time to share your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.


Kind regards

Lucy Readshaw, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    272
    116
    46
    29
See reviews for
150
309
32
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The hotel was very nice although could do with a lick of paint in certain areas, the staff were very friendly but the food was terrible. The starter was lovely & we thought we were in for a real treat but when the main course of a roast chicken dinner was put down to me I could smell the fat on it. The fat had separated from the gravy & the chicken was dry as sticks. My husband had a chocolate tart for dessert, it was foul, it tasted very stale. We don't like to complain & thought never mind we will have a nice breakfast - how wrong we were! The cooked breakfast was completely tasteless. I don't know if we have just been unlucky as other reviews on here are saying the food is lovely but we wish we had of complained now.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Alison C

I would like to offer my sincere apologies that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations.

We pride ourselves on delivery excellent customer service, a relaxing atmosphere within our beautiful hotel and fantastic food at a competitive price.
I am pleased you found the staff to be 'very friendly' but I am sorry that your experience of our food was not to your satisfaction.

My team were not made aware of your dissatisfaction during either your evening meal or breakfast, which is disappointing as we would have been delighted to prepare alternative meals for you.
I take all feedback very seriously and as you are aware I followed up your comment card with a letter requesting further information regarding the food, so that I could discuss it in detail with my team.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and I do hope that you will return again.


Kind regards

Lucy Readshaw, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Well what can I say the staff r a credit to the hotel, everyone had a smile on their face all the time. Our room was really nice no59. The bar was lovely and relaxing and the food was amazing. Ill b back soon to enjoy it all again thank you xxx

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tahmara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear tahmara

Thank you so much for your lovely review following your stay in one of our junior suites. I am delighted that you enjoyed such friendly and efficient service from the team and that you found the food to be 'amazing'.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, it really is appreciated and I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Lucy Readshaw, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed here on the 11th Jan as a Bday gift from my family. My daughter spoke to the hotel 2 days before as she wanted to make my stay as nice as possible . We checked in around 5pm and the hotel has lovely intimate theme and went to my room were i had all my bday cards on the bed from family and also one from the hotel which I thought was a nice touch. Room was great very clean with a nice basket of fresh fruit. We had a meal booked at the restaurant for 8.30 and once in bar we asked if we could change this to an earlier time which was not a problem. We had our own private dining room were candles etc had been laid out for us. The food was amazing, service excellent it could not of been made nicer. In all i recommend this hotel to everyone, its clean and modern looking and they scrimp on nothing. The team of workers from the barperson to the waitress are friendly and extremely professional which I have to add for such a young set of staff they excel themselves!
If you are looking for some were to stay OR to go n for a nice meal Bannatyne should be your first choice! Role on my next Bday!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Kelly A

Thank you so much for your lovely review following your perfect birthday stay with us.
We are here to ensure that each guests feels special during their stay and we are always more than happy to help family members with arrangements leading up to the event.
I am thrilled that you experienced 'amazing' food and 'excellent' service throughout your stay.

Thank you again for your review and for your recommnedation to stay here and I hope that this visit becomes a birthday tradition.

Kind regards

Lucy Readshaw , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We have stopped in this hotel many times and do so about three or four times a year as we are originally from Darlington and we visit family there.
Also it is a shame I finally got round to writing a review but have done so based on our last visit in December 2013. We have always enjoyed our stays here and look for no where else in Darlington but we will do for our next visit. The staff have always and continue to be excellent.Well done!
Our disappointment is based on everything starting to look a little tired and worn including the rooms. I would expect we are not the only people saying this so I hope the hotel does spend the money required. Great location and free parking are also worth mentioning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulmarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear paulmarbella

Thank you for sharing your thoughts following you recent stay with us. I would like to offer my apologies that this stay did not meet your expectations.

As a valued, returning guest I am disappointed that you feel that the hotel is starting to look tired.
In 2013 we made a number of significant improvments including full refurbishment of our junior suites, new seating area in the bar and redecoration of communal areas.
I am delighted that you continue to enjoy excellent service from the team and as you say it is a shame that previous successful visits have not warranted a review but would like to offer my assurance that we are fully commitment to maintaining high standards in our beautiful hotel.

I do hope that you will reconsider your decision to stay elsewhere on your next visit and return to us here.

Kind regards

Lucy Readshaw , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We chose Bannatyne Hotel in Darlington for our wedding on 30th December 2013 because it offered everything we wanted for our special day - a beautiful hotel which is licenced for civil ceremonies. Right from the first enquiry, the staff were superb. They guided us through the planning stages, whilst ensuring that our wedding day was exactly what we wanted. My daughters and I stayed at the hotel the night before the wedding and our rooms were upgraded to the beautifully refurbished junior suites. The service was 2nd to none and our guests all commented that they had had a fabulous day and that the food was beautiful. Our wedding day was most enjoyable and stress-free and that was all down to the efficiency and professionalism of all the staff at Bannatynes Hotel in Darlington. They made sure that our wedding day was memorable for all the right reasons. I would have no hesitation in recommending Bannatynes in Darlington for a wedding.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Angie T

I was delighted to read your feedback regarding your wonderful wedding day with us.

To know the service from the team during the planning stages, to the night before and on your big day, was excellent is very rewarding for us and I look forward to sharing your comments with the team.

I am thrilled that all your guests enjoyed the 'beautiful' food and 'fabulous' day.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon, perhaps to celebrate you anniversary, if not before.

Kind regards

Lucy Readshaw , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I travel a fair bit for work so probably get a bit picky on hotels. This one was recommended by another colleague as being the best within the companies budget. The room was clean and tidy, although the spoons for tea and coffee looked like they had coffee on. Turned out to be tarnished rather than dirty though. The food was very good with my venison being beautifully cooked. The staff were very helpful and you got the feeling nothing would be too difficult. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Vwbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear VWbb

I am delighted that, as a seasoned business traveller, you have been so impressed with your stay at he hotel.

I am thrilled that you have enjoyed your room, the food, the service and your recommendation to stay here is appreciated.
I apologise that your teaspoon was tarnished, this has now been replaced.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Lucy Readshaw , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darlington
0.7 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
815 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
4.4 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
771 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,485 reviews
6.3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington

Property: The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
Address: Southend Avenue, Darlington DL3 7HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Darlington
#3 Business Hotel in Darlington
#3 Family Hotel in Darlington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a unique blend of luxury accommodation, great service and fine dining with Bannatyne Hotel Darlington. Perfect for business and leisure. Each of our well appointed rooms have FREE wireless internet access and Maxine's Bar & Restaurant makes the perfect venue for meeting friends for coffee, drinks and fine food. Also whether hosting a business meeting or an exhibition, or even getting married, Bannatyne Hotel Darlington is the ideal venue to make your event a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darlington Bannatyne Hotel
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing