We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abserloutly fantastic coustomers service and care”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Abserloutly fantastic coustomers service and care”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Fantastic place to stay for a valentines get away, or any other occasion for that matter. We were so impressed with the customer service and care. I would most certainly reccomend this to anyone. We will certainly be comig back to the hotel to stay or have a meal. Just fantastic Customer care.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mako0130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Mako0130

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback following your stay with us.
I am thrilled that you had such an amazing time and enjoyed such attentive customer care.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards

Lucy Readshaw, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    275
    117
    49
    29
See reviews for
151
315
32
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014

just arrived back from our weekend away and we loved it...the staff were really friendly, the food was excellent, and the room was better than expected...would definately stay again and would highly recommend it...thankyou so much

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markymoo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Markymoo F

Thank you so much for your lovely review and recommendation to stay here. I am delighted that you enjoyed all we had to offer including excellent food, friendly staff and a room that exceeded your expectations.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Lucy Readshaw, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel was clean. The room was ok. However, for the price paid and the expectations.. It was only average. The restaurant was not built for the amount of people staying - and we had to wait for a table to enjoy breakfast, which again was only average to say the least. Staff were lovely however and would probably stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LDandAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear LDandAS

Thank you for taking your feedback following your stay with us.
I am pleased that you found the staff to be lovely and that you would stay here again.
We feel we are very competitively priced, offering a beautiful 4 star hotel, use of health club facilities, a hearty breakfast and delivering excellent customer service, I am sorry if this was not your experience and that you felt we were average but I believe we are far from average, and our many 5 star reviews would support this view too.

Our restaurant offers adequate seating space, however time must be allowed to relay tables between guests and whilst this relaying takes place we do ask guests to take a seat in the bar area.

Thank you again for you review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.


Kind regards

Lucy Readshaw, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night with friends for a family event and we were treated very well. My room was very good value, stylish and comfortable with a large bathroom. The ability to control the temperature and open the window is a big plus. Staff could not have been more helpful, especially in accommodating the children's needs. We had a meal in the Library and although we were a big group, the food was lovely and served very efficiently. We enjoyed our stay and I would recommend this hotel for any family occasion.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Albertine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Albertine21

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us.
I am delighted that you had such a pleasurable visit and enjoyed your executive room, delicious food and attentive service from the team.
I look forward to sharing your feedback with the staff.

Thank you for your recommendation to stay here and for taking the time to share your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.


Kind regards

Lucy Readshaw, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The hotel was very nice although could do with a lick of paint in certain areas, the staff were very friendly but the food was terrible. The starter was lovely & we thought we were in for a real treat but when the main course of a roast chicken dinner was put down to me I could smell the fat on it. The fat had separated from the gravy & the chicken was dry as sticks. My husband had a chocolate tart for dessert, it was foul, it tasted very stale. We don't like to complain & thought never mind we will have a nice breakfast - how wrong we were! The cooked breakfast was completely tasteless. I don't know if we have just been unlucky as other reviews on here are saying the food is lovely but we wish we had of complained now.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Alison C

I would like to offer my sincere apologies that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations.

We pride ourselves on delivery excellent customer service, a relaxing atmosphere within our beautiful hotel and fantastic food at a competitive price.
I am pleased you found the staff to be 'very friendly' but I am sorry that your experience of our food was not to your satisfaction.

My team were not made aware of your dissatisfaction during either your evening meal or breakfast, which is disappointing as we would have been delighted to prepare alternative meals for you.
I take all feedback very seriously and as you are aware I followed up your comment card with a letter requesting further information regarding the food, so that I could discuss it in detail with my team.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and I do hope that you will return again.


Kind regards

Lucy Readshaw, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Well what can I say the staff r a credit to the hotel, everyone had a smile on their face all the time. Our room was really nice no59. The bar was lovely and relaxing and the food was amazing. Ill b back soon to enjoy it all again thank you xxx

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tahmara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear tahmara

Thank you so much for your lovely review following your stay in one of our junior suites. I am delighted that you enjoyed such friendly and efficient service from the team and that you found the food to be 'amazing'.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, it really is appreciated and I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Lucy Readshaw, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed here on the 11th Jan as a Bday gift from my family. My daughter spoke to the hotel 2 days before as she wanted to make my stay as nice as possible . We checked in around 5pm and the hotel has lovely intimate theme and went to my room were i had all my bday cards on the bed from family and also one from the hotel which I thought was a nice touch. Room was great very clean with a nice basket of fresh fruit. We had a meal booked at the restaurant for 8.30 and once in bar we asked if we could change this to an earlier time which was not a problem. We had our own private dining room were candles etc had been laid out for us. The food was amazing, service excellent it could not of been made nicer. In all i recommend this hotel to everyone, its clean and modern looking and they scrimp on nothing. The team of workers from the barperson to the waitress are friendly and extremely professional which I have to add for such a young set of staff they excel themselves!
If you are looking for some were to stay OR to go n for a nice meal Bannatyne should be your first choice! Role on my next Bday!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Kelly A

Thank you so much for your lovely review following your perfect birthday stay with us.
We are here to ensure that each guests feels special during their stay and we are always more than happy to help family members with arrangements leading up to the event.
I am thrilled that you experienced 'amazing' food and 'excellent' service throughout your stay.

Thank you again for your review and for your recommnedation to stay here and I hope that this visit becomes a birthday tradition.

Kind regards

Lucy Readshaw , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darlington
0.4 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
0.7 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
838 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
3.1 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,533 reviews
6.3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington

Property: The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
Address: Southend Avenue, Darlington DL3 7HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Darlington
#3 Luxury Hotel in Darlington
#3 Business Hotel in Darlington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a unique blend of luxury accommodation, great service and fine dining with Bannatyne Hotel Darlington. Perfect for business and leisure. Each of our well appointed rooms have FREE wireless internet access and Maxine's Bar & Restaurant makes the perfect venue for meeting friends for coffee, drinks and fine food. Also whether hosting a business meeting or an exhibition, or even getting married, Bannatyne Hotel Darlington is the ideal venue to make your event a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darlington Bannatyne Hotel
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing