We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I recently stayed in the Junior Suite for 2 weeks and found the whole experience superb.

The room was very comfortable with plenty of space and cleaned daily. The food in the restaurant was very good and the staff were wonderful, smart and always very helpful.

I would be more than happy to stay again, all in all it was a great stay.

Rob

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy R, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Rob E

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent 2 week stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the service from our team, great food and your Junior Suites. Our four Junior Suites were fully refurbished towards the end of last year and we have received fantastic feedback about them and I am thrilled your room offered a comfortable and spacious home from home.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 921 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

I attended a wedding at the hotel in March 2014. The event, the venue, food and the quality of staff were all first class. Throughout the day, Paula and the team responsible for managing the wedding couldn't have been more helpful or more professional and I've no hesitation in recommending the venue for similar occasions.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy R, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear John C

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after recently attending a wedding at the Hotel.

I am delighted that you had such a great time and that you found all aspects of the day to be to your satisfaction, including attentive staff and great quality food.

Thank you for your special mention of Paula and the team, I look forward to sharing this feedback with them.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Lucy Readshaw, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Staying in a Hotel owned by a celebrity is bound to raise questions of taste and personality however we found this to be truly delightful and the staff exemplary. Our one night stay in a town not known for its tourist delights did not disappoint. We ate in the Hotel Restaurant and found the offer to be good value plentiful and very tasty. The room 60 on the top floor was spacious clean and well appointed and very quiet as requested. The bed was unusually small 4.5 ft but comfortable.
Breakfast again great with local Kippers available. Well done, the staff clearly love their job.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cluckypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy R, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Cluckypete

I am thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay and that all elements of your visit met with the high standards you anticipated.
You are absolutely right that having a 'celebrity' chairman raises our profile and in turn raises the expectations of guests when they arrive, and my team and I are committed and focused to achieving these standards everyday and again you are right, we do love our jobs!.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding the exemplary staff, tasty food and well appointed rooms.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards

Lucy Readshaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Situated diagonally opposite the best shops and restaurants Darlington has to offer (Grange Road) and only five minutes walk from High Row, this hotel has the best location of those I have used in town. Hotel has a good standard of accommodation and the public areas have a nice atmosphere and very relaxing and comfortable seating areas. Stayed in Exec room, £25 supplement on standard room. very large and well equipped room with robes, fruit bowl. Friendly local staff made an effort to chat and engage. Breakfast excellent. Booked easily via hotel website. Only slight niggle was the inability to get though by telephone when calling to advise of a later check in on the day of arrival. Three phone calls each of between three and five minutes beforeI could get an answer. Cost double what I paid at Blackwell Grange Hotel earlier in the year, but the rooms, staff, food and hotel itself makes the experience is well worth paying the extra. Gym and Spa is a bonus but is a five minute drive or 15 minute walk across town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Autobiography88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy R, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Autobiography88

I am thrilled you have enjoyed such a pleasant stay in our hotel. Our location really is ideal for access to Darlington Town Centre and to the great local attractions.

I am pleased that your opted for an upgrade to an Executive Room and enjoyed all the additional treats that come with such a room.

I am sorry if you experienced a delay in getting through via the telephone, please do not hesitate to contact us by email at enquiries.darlingtonhotel@bannatyne.co.uk requesting a call and we will ring you back.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback and as you say "the rooms,staff, food and hotel itself make the experience"

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Lucy Readshaw, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We booked our wedding reception here after a long search for the ideal venue. The events manager and her team couldn't have been more accommodating of our various requests, going to great lengths to make sure every detail of our day was handled perfectly.
Even several months before the wedding, the service we received as faultless. On the day of the wedding itself, everything ran like clockwork. Everything was taken care of for us, leaving us to get on with enjoying the day. There was one moment when it could have gone slightly awry - the fire alarm went off during the best man's speech. But even this was handled with professionalism by the staff, who were able to keep us in the function room, rather than having to evacuate us all, which really would have been a pain.
Our room (the bridal suite) was fab, as you would expect, and we heard nothing but good things from our guests who also chose to stay here, particularly in the deluxe rooms which were very popular.
Food-wise, we also had no complaints. We were given the chance to sample our wedding menu months in advance, so we knew what to expect there and staff were happy to accommodate special requests from fussy eaters. Likewise, the breakfasts were very good.
In short, we would thoroughly recommend the place to engaged couples.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atw1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy R, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear ATW1205

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your perfect wedding day at the Hotel.

We are delighted to know that the dream day you had planned and imagined was delivered, to that high standard, by the team here.

Planning a wedding can be years in the making and we are here to support couples through every step of the process and help in anyway we can to ensure they have the perfect day and I am thrilled that this was your experience.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon to relive the memories of your beautiful day.

Kind regards

Lucy Readshaw, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Booked for Sunday Lunch and had the 3 course meal.

it was very nice and very good value for money.

the staff were very nice and friendly too.

We will definitely be arranging another visit.

we have also visited on an evening for a meal and also had a Christmas Party there and the food has been superb each time.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank DoMaKi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy R, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear DONNAKIRBY

Thank you so much for your kind review following your Sunday Lunch at the Hotel. It is reassuring to know that, as a returning diner, you consistently enjoy friendly service, great value for money and a lovely dinner.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Lucy Readshaw, General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I recently attended a suprise 50th at the Hotel for a family member, and couldnt praise the staff at the hotel more for their efforts.

From ensuring the room looks fantastic to helping keep the suprise right until the last minute, the staff on shift were helpful, friendly and attentive to all guests. The staff at the hotel also helped to find a suitable DJ for the night - which was fantastic, even providing the younger family members with balloon animals etc to keep them entertained!

Great night had by all and would recommend for futrure events!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy R, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Suzanne H

I am delighted that all all the stages of the surprise party were executed to such a high standard, from the planning to the music, to the service.

I am so pleased that you all had such a great night, including the children.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Lucy Readshaw, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darlington
0.7 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
877 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
812 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
3.1 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,633 reviews
6.3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington

Address: Southend Avenue, Darlington DL3 7HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Darlington
#3 Luxury Hotel in Darlington
#3 Family Hotel in Darlington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Darlington
Price Range: £67 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a unique blend of luxury accommodation, great service and fine dining with Bannatyne Hotel Darlington. Perfect for business and leisure. Each of our well appointed rooms have FREE wireless internet access and Maxine's Bar & Restaurant makes the perfect venue for meeting friends for coffee, drinks and fine food. Also whether hosting a business meeting or an exhibition, or even getting married, Bannatyne Hotel Darlington is the ideal venue to make your event a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darlington Bannatyne Hotel
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing