We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsuitable for babies”
Review of Dolphin Centre

Dolphin Centre
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unsuitable for babies”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I had a nightmare and found there was no one willing to offer help. Limited baby changing and I wasn't offered help on where to leave the pushchair. The locker band system was a complete nightmare and couldn't get it to lock. Too much water on the floor it was a complete shambles.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CGARNER2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    35
    12
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Dolphin center, Nice seating area,Good food Friendly staff. Call in for coffee & cake or a good lunch.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank happydarlow13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wish I'd known about this little gem earlier”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

So clean and bright. I am ashamed to say I only popped in to use the toilet. Wish I'd gone earlier. It looked so cleam and fresh. I'll go another time and use the facilities. Be assured, this place is very very clean

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank blue01York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Solid post shopping fare”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Use the Dolphin regularly and have never been disappointed. Beef baguette, pint and Sky sports what is not to like.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Let down, but well worth a visit”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Dolphin Centre has most of what you'd expect, I've used it before the kids were born (the baby pool, the soft play); when they were little (the big pool, roller skating, birthday parties etc); and still play 5aside there twice a week - sometimes with my son when he's home from college. The cafe is not bad either.
The down side is that they cancel events with little or no notice, particularly in the main sports hall.
My missus used to run a yoga class there but gave up due to frequent cancellations, inappropriate location (in the same room as the musical aerobics).
They spent millions on a refurbishment, but didn't put air con in the changing rooms which remain hot, stuffy, and unpleasant.
The staff come in two distinct types, bright and helpful . . . and definitely not bright or helpful.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BriJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolphin Centre also viewed

 
Darlington, Durham
Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington
 

Been to Dolphin Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing